We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“There's a reason it's always busy”

Paula's Pancake House
Ranked #3 of 69 Restaurants in Solvang
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American, Scandinavian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating
Description: Serving classic American breakfast and lunch in addition to our worldly famous Danish pancakes.
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
216 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“There's a reason it's always busy”
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Food and service; good - fast. The wait might be long - we didn't have to wait long for some reason - party of 7 on a busy Saturday morning. Eggs benedict were great; german pancakes delicious. We were in Solvang for two days and I don't recall NOT seeing a crowd out front.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank aspen5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

952 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    509
    314
    103
    20
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
133 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Not a bad choice...Usually”
Reviewed March 27, 2013

We've had breakfast at Paula's half a dozen times or so. What's interesting about them is when they are busy, they're on their game. When they aren't busy things fall apart.

Their Danish pancakes are excellent and about twice the size of a dinner plate. You can get them with or without fruit. The Danish sausages are very good, as is the bacon. The orange juice is fresh.

When they are busy, everything runs like clockwork. You may have to wait 15 minutes or so before being seated, but the food comes out fast and hot. When they are slow (before 8am) the service is spotty and the food may come out cold. Fortunately they are always friendly and will fix problems, but the customer shouldn't have to point them out.

If you are in Solvang, give them at least one try. You'll probably have a good experience.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank XlntAdventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simi Valley, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Quick Seating, Service & Great Food & Staff”
Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

1st time to eat here. At least 30 people line ahead of our name on list & we were seated withing 30 minutes. They quickly clean/set tables to each everyone seated right away. We ordered our food & it was in front of us within 8 minutes while we drank our beverages. Food plentiful & tasted authentic Danish pancakes ---yummy! The gentleman host knew each of our names while we got there & said our names when we left. Friendly staff who welcome you in like you belong here. Will come back here again!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wm S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Clemente, California
Level Contributor
51 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“A must stop for breakfast!”
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Go for the Danish pancakes, good service and reasonable prices, kid friendly. It can be crowded on W/E's so try to go a bit early or late.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank travelalotml
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Danish pancakes!”
Reviewed March 20, 2013 via mobile

I had to try this place with all it's rave reviews! Yup~ delicious indeed! Nice people. I especially enjoyed the breakfast sausage.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pultega4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Paula's Pancake House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing