We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“clean, kitchy, and at the edge of Solvang”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Svendsgaard's Lodge - Americas Best Value Inn
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Solvang
Reviewed January 19, 2014

I stayed here for 7 nights for a business trip. It was a large room, large bathroom, and really comfortable beds and pillows. The decorations were kitchy and cute. The hotel is located at the edge of solvang, but it's still easy to walk to everything. The heater made a drip sound, so it was hard to sleep at night.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cathy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Svendsgaard, Guest Relations Manager at Svendsgaard's Lodge - Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post a review and for staying with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (437)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

164 - 170 of 437 reviews

Reviewed January 17, 2014

Best part of this hotel is the location, centrally located, not a bad choice if you are staying for just one or two nights. Don't expect much during your stay, everything is pretty basic. The property is a little bit old - squeaky floors, not very sound proof at all. I would definitely recommend earplugs for light sleepers.

Room Tip: Queen size rooms facing the parking lot are quieter. King size rooms facing the pool = loud loud lou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sadakodo11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Svendsgaard, Guest Relations Manager at Svendsgaard's Lodge - Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2014

We thank you for choosing to stay with us at Svendsgaard's. We are an older property in Solvang with the Danish Architecture and motif. Solvang is known as the "Danish Capital of America" with wonderful pastries and windmills throughout the town.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2014 via mobile

This was a nice cosy inn with great service! The quaint design appealed to both my friend and I. It was within waking distance to anything. Having said so, if there could be a porter or an eatery within the hotel, it would be a good bonus. Cheaper to book via the Internet, so we are glad.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank Lareinang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Svendsgaard, Guest Relations Manager at Svendsgaard's Lodge - Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2014

Thank you for staying with us at Svendsgaard's. Many of our local restaurants will deliver food to your room and we have one restaurant directly across the street open for lunch and dinner. We serve our breakfast each morning in the lobby or you are welcome to take back to your room. Hope on your next visit these handy hints will help and you can always ask our front desk for additional suggestions.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

The hotel is very simple, but quite comfortable. It is very close to the city center, which is very convenient - one can walk to all wine bars and tasting rooms without worrying about driving afterwards. Breakfast is ok, but they have very limited choice (basically danish pastries and bagels) and after a few days (we stayed for 4 nights) we got a bit tired of it.
Also, we went to the front desk twice to ask for information and the staff was not very attentive; we didn't feel very 'welcome' at their place. It was not a bad experience but I'll probably stay elsewhere on my next trip to Solvang.

Room Tip: Although some reviews here mention the noise, we stayed in the back of the hotel (room 9) and it was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Danilo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Svendsgaard, Guest Relations Manager at Svendsgaard's Lodge - Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2014

Hi Danilo,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us your four days in Solvang. I am so sorry our front desk staff was not as friendly as one would hope. A kind reminder from our General Manager will be given to the staff and thank you for your honesty. We hope your vacation continued to be joyous for you and your family.

Holly, Guest Relations Mgr.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Friendly staff, basic hotel. Clean, showing some age. Our stay was quiet, but the potential to be noisy was there - not entirely soundproof. Breakfast choices were bagel or danish pastry and juice/coffee. If you want a basic hotel that provides good value, Svendgaard’s will be fine.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lmhickey100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Svendsgaard, Guest Relations Manager at Svendsgaard's Lodge - Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2014

Hello,

You were along way from home in Halifax when you visited in Solvang! Thank you for taking the time and giving us a review. We hope you enjoyed your visit with us and the surrounding area.

Holly, Guest Relations Mgr.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

I treated my mom to a 3 day weekend in Solvang for her 70th birthday. We visited during the Wine Walk & Julefest. We were very happy with our stay at Svendsgaard's. The staff was very attentive & friendly. The room was a little outdated, yet clean and the beds were very comfy. I would suggest wearing earplugs if you are a light sleeper as this hotel is situated on a busy street. We were satisfied with the continental breakfast, it was fresh & convenient complete with Danish from the local Olsen's Bakery. The price was amazing compared to other hotels in the area. Best of all was the location, we didn't have to drive anywhere, we were within walking distance of everything in Solvang. I will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: I would suggest requesting a room away from the busy Mission Dr.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank candlecraver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Svendsgaard, Guest Relations Manager at Svendsgaard's Lodge - Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2014

Hello,

Solvang is a wonderful place to celebrate a birthday! We are so glad you and your mom were here with us to enjoy the town, Wine Walk and Julefest. And, yes it is nice to be able to park your car for a few days and just walk to everything. Thank you for your review and we hope to see you again soon.

Holly, Guest Relations Mgr.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

It was my second, my husband's first visit to Solvang - and after a short late-afternoon stroll through Solvang, we suddenly stood opposite the Svendsgaard's Lodge. As we didn't want to leave the town yet, we asked for a hotel room. And were surprised when the lady told us the price. We couldn't help but take the room, which was absolutely gorgeous! The whole hotel is very charming, takes you back in time.
Moreover, Svendsgaard's Lodge is right at the center and in walking distance to all the sights in this beautiful little town.
If you're looking for a nice, cozy place to spend your holidays in Solvang: This is the place!

Room Tip: If you don't have issues going up stairs: There is that cute little room (queen) on the second/t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kelly P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Svendsgaard, Guest Relations Manager at Svendsgaard's Lodge - Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2014

Hi Kelly,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at the Svendsgaard's. It sounds like you and your husband had a great time in Solvang and the convenience of walking to dine and shop.
We hope you will make the Svendsgaard's "your home away from home" on your next visit.

Holly, Guest Relations Mgr.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Solvang hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Corque
Hotel Corque
#1 of 11 in Solvang
827 reviews
0.2 mi away
King Frederik Inn
King Frederik Inn
#6 of 11 in Solvang
267 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hadsten House
Hadsten House
#3 of 11 in Solvang
927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Wine Valley Inn & Cottages
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Solvang
0.3 mi away
The Landsby
The Landsby
#2 of 11 in Solvang
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Svendsgaard's Lodge - Americas Best Value Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Svendsgaard's Lodge - Americas Best Value Inn

Address: 1711 Mission Dr, Solvang, CA 93463-2624
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Solvang
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Solvang
Price Range: $100 - $189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Svendsgaard's Lodge - Americas Best Value Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Svendsgaard's Lodge - Americas Best Value Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Svendsgaard`s Lodge - Americas Best Value Hotel Solvang
Holiday Inn Solvang
Solvang Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing