We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Svendsgaard's Lodge - Americas Best Value Inn
Ranked #3 of 8 Solvang B&B and Inns
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
169 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Pillows”
Reviewed November 26, 2013

Great location, bring your own pillows. Breakfast was average, but needs something better than danish pastries, waffles would be a good addition to the cereals offered. Overall our sleep experience was above average.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Goosefarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Svendsgaard, Guest Relations Manager at Svendsgaard's Lodge - Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Thank you for your recent stay and review. Our Continental Breakfast is something in the morning to get your day started and the Danish Pastry is baked fresh each morning here locally in Solvang by one of our Danish Baker's. The smell of Danish baking in the ovens in the air in town early in the morning is a wonderful thing!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

418 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    200
    83
    18
    21
See reviews for
105
181
21
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 3, 2013

We stumbled across Solvang one evening as we were getting desperate for a place to stop for the night. It was getting late and my 4 year old still had no dinner. THought we would have to continue to Santa Barbara. A hotel in a nearby town was less than helpful re where we might find a place to stay for the night. Then 10 minutes down the road we find this wonderful town of Solvang. One of the highlights of our California Trip!

The Lady working in Reception at Svendsgaard's Lodge was friendly and ever so helpful. And we could not BELIEVE how awesome the family suite was. It is not brand new and 5 star but it was so charming we wished we could have stayed for a few nights (sadly we were enroute to LA for plane home to Australia)

THe suite was spacious and clean with two bedrooms, lounge, bathroom, kitchenette and other huge storage spaces. VERY good value for money. Would easily and comfortably fit a larger family. The kitchen area is dated and the cupboards were strangely locked (we did get key upon request from memory) but it was clean and did the job. In fact i thought it added to the charm of the hotel :) Beds were comfortable and despite being a light sleeper I did not hear a sound all night :) A blissful night of sleep.

THere is a pool (we did not have time to enjoy) and a breakfast room with what we discovered on our trip to be typical American breakfast fare. Fresh pastries, cereal etc. The dining area was clean and pleasant.

The town of Solvang is an absolute delight. We managed a quick look around late that night as Svendsgaard's Lodge is so close to everything. We then decided to spend the next day exploring the town - a wonderful and unique experience of Denmark in America!

I would one day love to return to Solvang (actually it would be a great town to live in!) and i would certainly select Svengaard's Lodge for my accomodation. THank you for being such a beautiful haven. I am so glad we stumbled across Solvang and Svengaard's Lodge.

Room Tip: The Family Suite is up a few flights of stairs but well worth the short climb
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissMac09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Svendsgaard, Guest Relations Manager at Svendsgaard's Lodge - Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Wow - what a review for Solvang! Thank you and we wish you could have stayed longer. Maybe on a future visit you will plan to stay and explore the area and use us as your home base. Thank you for taking the time to comment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Hollywood California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

I read the majority of the reviews on this place. They seem to be spot on. We stayed in room #58 it was a suite. This room looked like it was fixed up a bit. There was one strange issue with the front door. The door war warped and has gap at the very top of it. You could see through the opening into the room. It was just the top portion but still found this strange. Also the fireplace did not work, the power went out and the TV did not work. As far as the cleanliness, it was very clean! The front desk gave us a discount at checkout for the other issues so it was worth it. I would stay here again. The price is right and it's right in town.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
Thank amcmusic20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Svendsgaard, General Manager at Svendsgaard's Lodge - Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Thank you for your recent stay in room #58. Yes, it is a large suite that has a king and a separate room with a twin bed. We are sorry to hear the gas log fireplace was not working properly, often a previous guest will blow the pilot light out and it is an easy quick fix if we are aware. If something isn't right we are more than happy to make it right! The power outage of course is beyond our control. Hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

This is a good little place to stay with a young family, as it is very close to all the interesting streets to wander around in Solvang. The rooms well sized, a little dated, but clean and in good condition. The price reflects this so ultimately this hotel met our expectations well.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Ben G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Svendsgaard, Guest Relations Manager at Svendsgaard's Lodge - Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Hello,

Thank you for staying with us on your visit to the U.S. and California. We appreciate your review and pride ourselves in being an affordable choice for families with children. We have many rooms with two queen size beds that are a little larger than most and they are perfect for a family.
Conveniently located for walking the town really makes our location great for those with families too. Hope you are having a great 2014!

Holly, Guest Relations Mgr.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Covina, California
Level Contributor
58 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2013

We stayed her 1 night during labor day weekend and the location was ideal. The rooms are old but very clean and we had a really good night's sleep there too. The continental breakfast was good too,although I would like to serve myself instead of someone serving me but it was still good. The front desk was very helpful and accommodating.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Agape1124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Svendsgaard, Guest Relations Manager at Svendsgaard's Lodge - Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thank you for your review and your recent stay with us at Svendsgaard's Danish Lodge. We appreciate your comments. It is such a valuable tool for us to learn where we can and need to improve. We pride ourselves in our Scandinavian Hospitality and hope this explains the personal touch in serving our complimentary breakfast. We have been many a "young persons" first job dating back to 1969 when the Svendsgaard's first opened their doors to welcome those traveling to Solvang.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
93 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Beatiful city, danmark colonization, foods and breads delicius. Hotel very confortable with big room, pool and breakfast. I recommend. This is a small town but with excellent restaurants and near Santa Barbara city.

Room Tip: All rooms are good because all with with a view of pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Car455
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Svendsgaard, Guest Relations Manager at Svendsgaard's Lodge - Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thank you for your recent visit to Solvang and for choosing to stay with us at the Svendsgaard's.
We are happy to hear you enjoyed your visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Left Coast CA
Level Contributor
54 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Hotel was clean, staff friendly, location perfect for walking Solvang, short drive to more wine tasting experiences than one could do in my 3 short days in area. Only suggestion is to make breakfast self-serve. I had to wait in a line behind a bus load of senior travelers while a sweet young woman served each....one by one.

Room Tip: Rooms on the back & upstairs very quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank V K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Svendsgaard, Guest Relations Manager at Svendsgaard's Lodge - Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
We are so happy you enjoyed your recent stay with us. We also would like to apologize for your wait at service for breakfast. Having a coffee girl to serve our guests is something we have always done to give that personal touch.We understand the inconvenience when a large group is staying and thank you for your tip.We will look for ways to improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Solvang hotels
0.3 mi away
Wine Valley Inn & Cottages
0.2 mi away
King Frederik Inn
King Frederik Inn
#6 of 10 in Solvang
243 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hadsten House
Hadsten House
#3 of 10 in Solvang
888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Corque
Hotel Corque
#1 of 10 in Solvang
774 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Solvang
0.3 mi away
The Landsby
The Landsby
#2 of 10 in Solvang
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Svendsgaard's Lodge - Americas Best Value Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Svendsgaard's Lodge - Americas Best Value Inn

Property: Svendsgaard's Lodge - Americas Best Value Inn
Address: 1711 Mission Dr, Solvang, CA 93463-2624
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Solvang
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Solvang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Svendsgaard's Lodge - Americas Best Value Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelsforEveryone, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Svendsgaard's Lodge - Americas Best Value Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Svendsgaard`s Lodge - Americas Best Value Hotel Solvang
Holiday Inn Solvang
Solvang Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing