We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Inexpensive And Clean” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Svendsgaard's Lodge - Americas Best Value Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Svendsgaard's Lodge - Americas Best Value Inn
Ranked #3 of 8 Solvang B&B and Inns
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Inexpensive And Clean”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

We have been staying in Solvang for many years. In the beginning it was a sleepy little Danish town whose sidewalks were rolled up by 6pm. Most of the hotels were the same; pleasant, Danish decorated, and competed on the basis of price. There were a couple of newer, nicer hotels in town but the price was close to double what the others charged.

Fast forward to 2013. The California Central Coast is now a tourist destination for both bicyclers and wine enthusiasts. Former hotels that were considered nice and moderately priced (under $125,00) now command nearly $300 per night on weekends and up to $150 or so on weekdays since their major upgrades.

This does not include Svendsgaard's Lodge. It has remained virtually unchanged and is one of the larger properties in town. While still clean and pleasant, it has not seen many renovations of any kind over the years, still featuring the same pink tile and wash basins that have been there for many years. Cracks in the tile abound and showers are now square, pre-fabs you see at Home Depot. Artwork on the wall is from decades past but the beds are just as comfy as the ones in the more expensive, remodeled hotels. You could swear you were still in the 60s or 70s when inside these rooms, and that is not particularly bad. The walls are a bit thin, though, and the noise level was elevated which was as much due to the noisy neighbors as the walls. When people drop their shoes or slam their doors in disrespect, it is sometimes noticeable in the best of places.

My wife and I picked Svendsgaard's Lodge for two reasons; first, we weren't willing to pay (with taxes, etc) $300 + for an overnight in quaint Solvang since we had another ultimate destination, and secondly we always recalled our stays there when our girls were young as being very clean and pleasant. Our charge on Priceline was $129.00 plus tax (about $143.00 total I think). on a Friday night in May 2013. Oddly enough there was no availability according to the hotel's own website. There is a continental breakfast available with no charge which includes Danish pastries and bagels. A better choice is to try Paula's Pancakes which is just a few blocks away and which I will review later. I have been eating there since the 1970s.

A clean, decent place to stay. If you are looking for a more "classic" getaway experience in a California Wine Country or as a Lover's Weekend, you may want to try one of the more upscale hotels at about double the price.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DobbinsFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Svendsgaard, Guest Relations Manager at Svendsgaard's Lodge - Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Thank you for your recent stay this past May. The staff at Svendsgaard's hopes you are having a pleasant summer and will return to visit us again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    190
    77
    16
    20
See reviews for
99
173
20
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
SJ CA
Level Contributor
52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

We stayed at the Inn for one night on our way back home from a convention. The Inn is within walking distance to all the shops and restaurants in Solvang. The room was clean and comfortable, and the staff was very nice. The Inn has a pool, and a nice Continental breakfast with the usual coffee and juice, cereals and pastries. The room rate was low enough so we didn't mind adding to breakfast at the Solvang Restaurant for some fantastic aebleskivers, which are Danish "pancakes" but round. I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again on a longer visit to Solvang

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tad_64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

I love this place! It's got great character and kind, helpful staff.
The rooms we booked were described as 'superior' or something similar and were upstairs on the second floor overlooking the pool.
We paid $82 per night and were flabbergasted to walk in and find our room had a sofa, a king sized bed, two reclining arm chairs and plenty of space. We had a little room off the bedroom that had a table & chairs, sink, microwave & fridge and then there was even a dressing area with a sink, mirror and stool as well as a full bathroom. I think it was about 900 square feet in all!
Everything was clean, despite not being new. We were extremely comfortable for our four night stay. The pool and jacuzzi were nice and breakfast was fine. If you can cope with a bagel and coffee or a Danish then you'll appreciate that's its complimentary.
We'll stay here again!

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank ScotsCouple024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
68 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

We stayed here three nights for a wedding and everyone was paying a lot more for their accommodations than we did. We chose this place from the TripAdvisor reviews and most are "spot on". Rooms are big, with a decent mattress and furniture. The pool and spa are very clean and nice temperature. Breakfast is adequate and the staff are most accommodating. The owners have had this place since the "70s and it is obviously well managed. The a/c units are a little tricky to operate but once you set the temp it works great. This location is across from the Santa Ynez mission and is worth the walk across the street to see the old mission.

Room Tip: Second floor rooms are quieter and poolside is nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ajphoenix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Compton
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

This hotel was a basic hotel/motel. It was clean the people were nice, the room was spacious and enjoyable. The location is great and the pool was heated. I will definitely stay their again. The staff gave good advice on places to eat. I was celebrating my 10yr wedding anniversary and we wanted something with an authentic atmosphere. My room even had a little decrative fire place(didn't work) that added a little romantic touch.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dgf40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tulsa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

This was our second time to stay overnight here. We like the location - easy walking to shopping and restaurants. The staff is friendly and competent and the room clean.
Breakfast was nothing to brag about... just ok.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WestTulsatraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuart, Florida
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013

Just returned from my 6th stay in Svendsgaard's Lodge in Solvang and am pleased to say it has not changed a bit. We discovered this property during our first central coast wine trip and it has served as our home base each time we go back. The staff is friendly, the location cannot be beat, and it is always a great value. Much better to spend your hard earned money supporting the local wineries than in a fancy hotel room! Rooms continue to be spotless with a comfy bed and a nice clean hot tub to enjoy after a long day of tasting. Nice to wake up and have a good first cup of coffee and a delicious Danish served right in the lobby. No diet watching here!

Solvang remains a nice place to visit with some old favorite restaurants gone, but several new exciting ones opening up. The area seems to be thriving and was busy even during the week. For first timers I would suggest a trip up Foxen Canyon Road and then over to Santa Rosa Road for great winery choices. Most are open every day for tasting. Be sure to be prudent when driving or better yet have a designated driver. Several bad accidents recently occurred and enforcement was quite visible. Will be back for sure!

Room Tip: I like to be overlooking the pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jkadventures11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Solvang hotels
0.3 mi away
Wine Valley Inn & Cottages
0.2 mi away
Hotel Corque
Hotel Corque
#1 of 10 in Solvang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 692 reviews
0.2 mi away
King Frederik Inn
King Frederik Inn
#6 of 10 in Solvang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hadsten House
Hadsten House
#3 of 10 in Solvang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 847 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Landsby
The Landsby
#2 of 10 in Solvang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Solvang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Svendsgaard's Lodge - Americas Best Value Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Svendsgaard's Lodge - Americas Best Value Inn

Property: Svendsgaard's Lodge - Americas Best Value Inn
Address: 1711 Mission Dr, Solvang, CA 93463
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Solvang
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Solvang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Svendsgaard's Lodge - Americas Best Value Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Svendsgaard's Lodge - Americas Best Value Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Svendsgaard`s Lodge - Americas Best Value Hotel Solvang
Holiday Inn Solvang
Solvang Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing