We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Svendsgaard's Lodge - Americas Best Value Inn
Nearby Hotels
$134
$126
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kronborg Inn(Solvang)(Great Value!)
$187
$128
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wine Valley Inn & Cottages(Solvang)(Great Value!)
$164
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
King Frederik Inn(Solvang)(Great Value!)
$119
$109
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Solvang Gardens Lodge(Solvang)(Great Value!)
$169
$103
AscendHotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hamlet Inn(Solvang)(Great Value!)
$203
$139
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Meadowlark Inn(Solvang)(Great Value!)
$135
$120
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of $136/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hadsten House(Solvang)(Great Value!)
$119
$115
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mirabelle Inn(Solvang)(Great Value!)
$195
$184
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of $216/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Corque(Solvang)(Great Value!)
$157
$142
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (454)
Filter reviews
454 results
Traveler rating
106
218
88
20
22
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
106
218
88
20
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbagelscontinental breakfastorange juicein townan older hotelbit datedcorner roompastrylarge roomwithin walking distancewould stay here againcoffee potpool and hot tubplenty of parkinglocation is greatvisit solvangnothing fancy
Filter
Updating list...
215 - 220 of 454 reviews
Reviewed February 14, 2013

went to solving for a day trip. needed a place to spend night. was referred by locals to check this place out. found a gem. clean. large room. this was like stepping into a travel lodge from when I was a kid. will be going back. book with confidence.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jazzdavey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Svendsgaard, General Manager at Svendsgaard's Lodge - Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2013

Thank you for your recent stay at Svendsgaard's Danish Lodge. We pride ourselves in Scandinavian Hospitality and have tried to maintain some of the "old world charm". We look forward to your future visits.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

Just don't expect too much other than a reasonable price and a location very convenient to everything in the small town of Solvang. Cleanliness was good, even though the fixtures and furniture are a bit old and in some cases run - down.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 8,005,551,212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Svendsgaard, Manager at Svendsgaard's Lodge - Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2013

Thank you for your recent stay with us at Svendsgaard's. We appreciate all comments our guests take the time to forward to us. We do hope you give Svendsgaard's another try in your future as we have scheduled renovations happening in 2013!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

We went with another couple and stayed here because most of the other hotels were sold out. We received our keys and when we opened the door we realized it was someone else's room! Doesn't make you feel good about security. The room was large and spacious. The thermostat dial for the room is worn out and we "guesses" where we were setting it. Woke up in the middle of the night sweating. The next morning, I peeked in the shower and noticed there was something that attached to the wall that held body wash. However, when I got into the shower, it was empty. The water in the shower never got above lukewarm! The breakfast....you couldn't help yourself to the rolls, guess they were afraid you'd take more than one. All in all, I felt if management spent a little on maintenance...replace worn out thermostat dials, take off boxes that held body wash if you're not going to use them, turn up the hot water...have a system to assure keys are given to the correct people...add room safes, then this hotel would shine. The bones are good, just needs some TLC.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
Thank Greekartist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

Hotel is conveniently located to downtown Solvang. Rooms are large and well appointed. Had coffee pot, iron, ironing board, microwave, refrigerator, extra sink, 2 comfy chairs and table. Rooms and property are a little dated, but for the price, who cares,

Nice hotel, nice town. We would stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JibaroTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Svendsgaard, General Manager at Svendsgaard's Lodge - Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2012

We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us at Svendsgaard's. Please look forward to guest room updating that we will be completing during 2013! Thank you for your positive evaluation and comments. We look forward to seeing you in the New Year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

I like where this is located, just on the edge of town. Easy to walk everywhere without having to drive through tourist traffic in town. Convenient parking. Each room is different, and a little funky, but I enjoy the character. Have stayed here several times. Rooms are clean and comfortable, but dated. Has a nice feel for families. Good value.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stclarapet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews