We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bargain hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Svendsgaard's Lodge - Americas Best Value Inn
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Solvang
Reviewed March 17, 2013

For under $100 a night, this is a great hotel. The rooms are clean and comfortable and they even serve a complimentary breakfast with danishes, cereal and coffee, which is hard to beat. The hotel is also in an excellent location, right in the center of town, and there's plenty of parking. The only downside is that I took a lukewarm shower on our last morning.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Sarah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (441)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

204 - 210 of 441 reviews

Reviewed February 14, 2013

went to solving for a day trip. needed a place to spend night. was referred by locals to check this place out. found a gem. clean. large room. this was like stepping into a travel lodge from when I was a kid. will be going back. book with confidence.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jazzdavey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Svendsgaard, General Manager at Svendsgaard's Lodge - Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2013

Thank you for your recent stay at Svendsgaard's Danish Lodge. We pride ourselves in Scandinavian Hospitality and have tried to maintain some of the "old world charm". We look forward to your future visits.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

Just don't expect too much other than a reasonable price and a location very convenient to everything in the small town of Solvang. Cleanliness was good, even though the fixtures and furniture are a bit old and in some cases run - down.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 8,005,551,212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Svendsgaard, Manager at Svendsgaard's Lodge - Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2013

Thank you for your recent stay with us at Svendsgaard's. We appreciate all comments our guests take the time to forward to us. We do hope you give Svendsgaard's another try in your future as we have scheduled renovations happening in 2013!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

We went with another couple and stayed here because most of the other hotels were sold out. We received our keys and when we opened the door we realized it was someone else's room! Doesn't make you feel good about security. The room was large and spacious. The thermostat dial for the room is worn out and we "guesses" where we were setting it. Woke up in the middle of the night sweating. The next morning, I peeked in the shower and noticed there was something that attached to the wall that held body wash. However, when I got into the shower, it was empty. The water in the shower never got above lukewarm! The breakfast....you couldn't help yourself to the rolls, guess they were afraid you'd take more than one. All in all, I felt if management spent a little on maintenance...replace worn out thermostat dials, take off boxes that held body wash if you're not going to use them, turn up the hot water...have a system to assure keys are given to the correct people...add room safes, then this hotel would shine. The bones are good, just needs some TLC.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
Thank Greekartist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

Hotel is conveniently located to downtown Solvang. Rooms are large and well appointed. Had coffee pot, iron, ironing board, microwave, refrigerator, extra sink, 2 comfy chairs and table. Rooms and property are a little dated, but for the price, who cares,

Nice hotel, nice town. We would stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JibaroTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Svendsgaard, General Manager at Svendsgaard's Lodge - Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2012

We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us at Svendsgaard's. Please look forward to guest room updating that we will be completing during 2013! Thank you for your positive evaluation and comments. We look forward to seeing you in the New Year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

I like where this is located, just on the edge of town. Easy to walk everywhere without having to drive through tourist traffic in town. Convenient parking. Each room is different, and a little funky, but I enjoy the character. Have stayed here several times. Rooms are clean and comfortable, but dated. Has a nice feel for families. Good value.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stclarapet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

We stayed here for three nights 11th - 14th September. We loved the Inn. It's so comfortable, easy going and relaxed here I wanted to move in. The room has a fireplace which I couldn't find out how to work. We never needed it because it was so hot. We had a room on the ground floor which overlooked the pool. It has sliding doors and railings around the pool. We could access the pool as we had a gate just outside our room. There were also Adirondack style twin chairs with cushions which we used and we had our wine beside the pool every day. Breakfast was adequate too.

Room Tip: We had a room on the ground floor overlooking the pool. Fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Loulou777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Solvang hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Corque
Hotel Corque
#1 of 11 in Solvang
839 reviews
0.2 mi away
King Frederik Inn
King Frederik Inn
#6 of 11 in Solvang
275 reviews
0.3 mi away
Wine Valley Inn & Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hadsten House
Hadsten House
#3 of 11 in Solvang
930 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Solvang
0.3 mi away
The Landsby
The Landsby
#2 of 11 in Solvang
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Svendsgaard's Lodge - Americas Best Value Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Svendsgaard's Lodge - Americas Best Value Inn

Address: 1711 Mission Dr, Solvang, CA 93463-2624
Location: United States > California > Solvang
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Solvang
Price Range: $97 - $186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Svendsgaard's Lodge - Americas Best Value Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Svendsgaard's Lodge - Americas Best Value Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Svendsgaard`s Lodge - Americas Best Value Hotel Solvang
Holiday Inn Solvang
Solvang Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing