We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Svendsgaard's Lodge - Americas Best Value Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Svendsgaard's Lodge - Americas Best Value Inn to your Saves list
Svendsgaard's Lodge - Americas Best Value Inn
2.0 of 5 Inn   |   1711 Mission Dr, Solvang, CA 93463   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
New Vantage Hotels App
Ranked #3 of 8 Solvang B&B and Inns
Saratoga, Ca
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Quaint Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

I like where this is located, just on the edge of town. Easy to walk everywhere without having to drive through tourist traffic in town. Convenient parking. Each room is different, and a little funky, but I enjoy the character. Have stayed here several times. Rooms are clean and comfortable, but dated. Has a nice feel for families. Good value.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stclarapet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    173
    74
    16
    20
See reviews for
92
155
20
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

We stayed here for three nights 11th - 14th September. We loved the Inn. It's so comfortable, easy going and relaxed here I wanted to move in. The room has a fireplace which I couldn't find out how to work. We never needed it because it was so hot. We had a room on the ground floor which overlooked the pool. It has sliding doors and railings around the pool. We could access the pool as we had a gate just outside our room. There were also Adirondack style twin chairs with cushions which we used and we had our wine beside the pool every day. Breakfast was adequate too.

Room Tip: We had a room on the ground floor overlooking the pool. Fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Loulou777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
66 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

We had a corner suite room #58 on the third floor and in the corner. The price was right. we paid avg of $110/night on wkend. Room is dated but cute and clean. Nice bed, comfy and the recliners were great! This room is huge and we enjoyed having the extra room. The breakfast is limited but good and the danishes are from a local bakery. The pool is nice and clean, we enjoyed it after a hot day of exploring the lovely town of Solvang.

There were other choices but they were more expensive and we actually looked at one and felt like it wasn't worth the extra money.
The staff is very friendly. The town is lovely and if you get a chance and are looking for a great steak dinner go to The Hitching Post!

Room Tip: choose one away from hiway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rose F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

This is my third ABVI that I've stayed and it is definitely the best one, so far. It is also known as Svendsgaard Lodge. For an ABVI I was surprised to find it sold out on Friday and Saturday night...now I know why. It is a good economical place to stay when visiting Solvang (which is a quaint little Dutch town). We stayed in room 15 which was on the first floor in the back of the inn with no view and faced the parking stalls outside.The room was clean, there was a fireplace, and two sinks (one in the bathroom and one outside). Having two sinks was very convenient since we brought our toddlers. The room was small but adequate for our needs. The staff was friendly and helpful during our stay. The property is walking distance to shops and restaurants in Solvang and has a pool (which we used) and a hot tub. Both were clean. There are no fitness centers or room service (that I saw) but this site has a rating selection for them. The main office is where you have breakfast. It has a great lodge feel and long wooden tables where you can eat. I was really looking forward to breakfast but a little disappointed with the danish pasteries. You can also get bagels, orange juice, coffee, hot chocolate, or tea. Overall it was ok. I would say the ABVI in Boulder has a better continental breakfast selection. On a side note, don't expect to taste great local wines in this area. I tried three different wineries and I was only able to find one Pinot Noir (777) that was worth drinking however a bit over priced ($43). Keep going until you hit Paseo Robles. If you do spend a night and want a very good meal, make sure you check out Ballard Inn for dinner ($$$). It is a little out of the way but definitely a great restaurant. We also ate at the Succulent Cafe for lunch.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nightmarcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth UK
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Stayed here for one night, the motel is clean. The rooms where a good size, bed was comfy, ac unit was a bit noisy. Value for money = very good.
A breakfast was offered but we chose to eat out (Paula's Pancake House - well worth a visit)
There was a pool, which people were using, but we didn't have time.
Solvang is a pretty, quirky little Danish town, which was quaint & lovely to look around.

Room Tip: We had a room on first floor at the back over looking the car pak, it was quiet & away from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank loveholibobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
149 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

We again rocked up with no booking and got a room for $90.
The room was massive with a huge bed, A/C, two kitsch reclining chairs, a dining area and a balcony looking over Solvang and the pool.
The owners and staff are just lovely.
Solvang........wowzers what a spin out. We couldnt believe how cute the place is.
A tip....the whole place closes at about 7 so if you want a nice dinner head out about 5.30 ish, we went the Red Viking at 7.15 and were made to eat our dinner in 15 mins but thats another story.
Its right in the centre and the antique shops are winery shops are worth a look.
The pool is lovely to flop into after a hot drive.
In 3 weeks of driving through California this was one of those lovely surprises.
We'd love to go back..and will

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank moleandbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

The Svendsgaard Lodge is located right on the edge of the centre of Solvang so everything is within a couple of minutes walk. Although by the main through road it is a quiet and relaxing place to stay. We stayed for 3 nights as part of our honeymoon and used it as a base to explore Solvang and the Santa Ynez area.

The staff were very friendly and even provided us with a bottle of chilled champagne for our honeymoon. Breakfast was served in the lounge/reception area each morning and it was a real friendly communal affair! We enjoyed a fresh pastry each morning along with teas, coffee and juice. There was also the choice to have a bagel and oatmeal too. It was the perfect start to the day!

The hotel is in keeping with the Danish and kitsch feel of Solvang and is probably the cheapest hotel in town to stay at. With a pool area that was always quiet – and sometimes it was even just me using it, there was nothing about the hotel to fault. There was even a large selection of magazines in reception for guests to read in room or around the pool, and reception provided pool towels too.

The room was big and clean however the decor is a little dated. The whole of Solvang has a ‘stopped in time’ image to it though so the dated decor only adds to the experience. We really enjoyed our stay and the only thing in the room I can fault is the noise of the air con. It is very noisy to have on at night however we found opening the window was enough to keep us cool. If you are looking for a comfortable place to stay that is excellent value for money then the Svendsgaard Lodge is perfect!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank McNoodle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Solvang hotels
0.2 mi away
King Frederik Inn
King Frederik Inn
#6 of 10 in Solvang
4.0 of 5 stars 206 reviews
0.3 mi away
Wine Valley Inn & Cottages
0.2 mi away
Hotel Corque
Hotel Corque
#1 of 10 in Solvang
4.5 of 5 stars 635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hadsten House
Hadsten House
#3 of 10 in Solvang
4.5 of 5 stars 820 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Solvang
0.3 mi away
The Landsby
The Landsby
#2 of 10 in Solvang
4.5 of 5 stars 153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Svendsgaard's Lodge - Americas Best Value Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Svendsgaard's Lodge - Americas Best Value Inn

Property: Svendsgaard's Lodge - Americas Best Value Inn
Address: 1711 Mission Dr, Solvang, CA 93463
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Solvang
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Solvang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Svendsgaard's Lodge - Americas Best Value Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Orbitz, Odigeo, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Svendsgaard's Lodge - Americas Best Value Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Svendsgaard`s Lodge - Americas Best Value Hotel Solvang
Holiday Inn Solvang
Solvang Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing