We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice and cozy...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Svendsgaard's Lodge - Americas Best Value Inn
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Solvang
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We had a corner suite room #58 on the third floor and in the corner. The price was right. we paid avg of $110/night on wkend. Room is dated but cute and clean. Nice bed, comfy and the recliners were great! This room is huge and we enjoyed having the extra room. The breakfast is limited but good and the danishes are from a local bakery. The pool is nice and clean, we enjoyed it after a hot day of exploring the lovely town of Solvang.

There were other choices but they were more expensive and we actually looked at one and felt like it wasn't worth the extra money.
The staff is very friendly. The town is lovely and if you get a chance and are looking for a great steak dinner go to The Hitching Post!

Room Tip: choose one away from hiway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rose F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (437)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

208 - 214 of 437 reviews

Reviewed September 25, 2012

This is my third ABVI that I've stayed and it is definitely the best one, so far. It is also known as Svendsgaard Lodge. For an ABVI I was surprised to find it sold out on Friday and Saturday night...now I know why. It is a good economical place to stay when visiting Solvang (which is a quaint little Dutch town). We stayed in room 15 which was on the first floor in the back of the inn with no view and faced the parking stalls outside.The room was clean, there was a fireplace, and two sinks (one in the bathroom and one outside). Having two sinks was very convenient since we brought our toddlers. The room was small but adequate for our needs. The staff was friendly and helpful during our stay. The property is walking distance to shops and restaurants in Solvang and has a pool (which we used) and a hot tub. Both were clean. There are no fitness centers or room service (that I saw) but this site has a rating selection for them. The main office is where you have breakfast. It has a great lodge feel and long wooden tables where you can eat. I was really looking forward to breakfast but a little disappointed with the danish pasteries. You can also get bagels, orange juice, coffee, hot chocolate, or tea. Overall it was ok. I would say the ABVI in Boulder has a better continental breakfast selection. On a side note, don't expect to taste great local wines in this area. I tried three different wineries and I was only able to find one Pinot Noir (777) that was worth drinking however a bit over priced ($43). Keep going until you hit Paseo Robles. If you do spend a night and want a very good meal, make sure you check out Ballard Inn for dinner ($$$). It is a little out of the way but definitely a great restaurant. We also ate at the Succulent Cafe for lunch.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nightmarcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Stayed here for one night, the motel is clean. The rooms where a good size, bed was comfy, ac unit was a bit noisy. Value for money = very good.
A breakfast was offered but we chose to eat out (Paula's Pancake House - well worth a visit)
There was a pool, which people were using, but we didn't have time.
Solvang is a pretty, quirky little Danish town, which was quaint & lovely to look around.

Room Tip: We had a room on first floor at the back over looking the car pak, it was quiet & away from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank loveholibobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

We again rocked up with no booking and got a room for $90.
The room was massive with a huge bed, A/C, two kitsch reclining chairs, a dining area and a balcony looking over Solvang and the pool.
The owners and staff are just lovely.
Solvang........wowzers what a spin out. We couldnt believe how cute the place is.
A tip....the whole place closes at about 7 so if you want a nice dinner head out about 5.30 ish, we went the Red Viking at 7.15 and were made to eat our dinner in 15 mins but thats another story.
Its right in the centre and the antique shops are winery shops are worth a look.
The pool is lovely to flop into after a hot drive.
In 3 weeks of driving through California this was one of those lovely surprises.
We'd love to go back..and will

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank moleandbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

The Svendsgaard Lodge is located right on the edge of the centre of Solvang so everything is within a couple of minutes walk. Although by the main through road it is a quiet and relaxing place to stay. We stayed for 3 nights as part of our honeymoon and used it as a base to explore Solvang and the Santa Ynez area.

The staff were very friendly and even provided us with a bottle of chilled champagne for our honeymoon. Breakfast was served in the lounge/reception area each morning and it was a real friendly communal affair! We enjoyed a fresh pastry each morning along with teas, coffee and juice. There was also the choice to have a bagel and oatmeal too. It was the perfect start to the day!

The hotel is in keeping with the Danish and kitsch feel of Solvang and is probably the cheapest hotel in town to stay at. With a pool area that was always quiet – and sometimes it was even just me using it, there was nothing about the hotel to fault. There was even a large selection of magazines in reception for guests to read in room or around the pool, and reception provided pool towels too.

The room was big and clean however the decor is a little dated. The whole of Solvang has a ‘stopped in time’ image to it though so the dated decor only adds to the experience. We really enjoyed our stay and the only thing in the room I can fault is the noise of the air con. It is very noisy to have on at night however we found opening the window was enough to keep us cool. If you are looking for a comfortable place to stay that is excellent value for money then the Svendsgaard Lodge is perfect!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank McNoodle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

I enjoyed my August stay at Svengaard's and would stay again. The cost was $55 and that was about half what others were getting. The male reservationist was helpful, fun and had the customer service ethic down, The check in clerk did not. A middle aged woman with a black wig that if prompted, might engage but certainly didn't enjoy dealing with guests. I could see the definite difference between the way she bantered with other employees and the colder side reserved for the patrons.
The room:
My first one had an odor from the sink drain so I was switched immmediately with no hesitation on behalf of the staff. This is an older motel but the bed was comfortable and the room was clean. Dated but not run down, someone in charge maintains this vintage Solvang residence.
The pool:
Smallish as was the jacuzzi but immaculate and I mean clean. The tile shined and the entire area was comfortable for sunbathing and a swim.
The continental breakfast:
Uh, it was lacking but again the cost of the room was a deciding factor and to expect a "buffet" ( as one of the reviewers requested ),doesn't make sense. Small pastries and juice, coffee , tea handed across a counter, ( it was an awkward service attempt ) the feeling that it was being rationed came across more than having someone serve you by handing it to you cafeteria style. Pic Nic benches in the lobby other than two small tables. There was small table seating outside along the parking area but again,awkward.
Pros:
Price was right, room was clean, bed was comfortable and cable was extensive.

Cons:
No laundry facility. (Motels in this category really miss the boat sending guests into unfamiliar territory to do their laundry.) I was told,"go out our back parking lot to the next parking lot and therer is a laundry mat." No, two parking lots away there was a laundra mat and you didnt want to be there at night.
Check in woman, (bookeeper?) needs to be congrugous with the right attitude for an arriving guest.
Dated rooms need air conditioner/ heat pump less than two decades old ( Mine was on the wall above the bed 6' up.
Wi Fi was weak and in todays world that is not acceptable.
In Conclusion;
Svendgaards is perfect for the value concious traveler who is enjoying many of the great eateries in Solvang for their breakfast. It's clean, some of the staff are friendly and welcoming, it's at the end of town but easily walkable to anywhere in Solvang.
No facilities for laundry, a soda and snack vending machine was provided.

Room Tip: Get one in the back and upstairs if you can handle carrying your luggage. Bottom floor rooms are sub...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cap10paul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

This inn is at the edge of town but still very close to all kinds of shopping and eateries. It looks kind of attractive from the street, but sadly, the room we had was in dire need of an updating. I'd say the bathroom was of '70's vintage, and the shower and sink were not as user-friendly as many other accommodations we've stayed at recently. The rug was dark and not too clean looking. There was a noisy cooling unit in the room. If someone would just re-do the place, it could be very nice as the room was spacious and even had a cute corner fireplace (we didn't try to light it). Bagels and pastries were offered for breakfast, but we opted for a full breakfast elsewhere. Most of the staff were helpful and friendly. As we were leaving, a large contingent of vintage car enthusiasts were rolling in - all older folks. Maybe this is a popular place for them. The room price was quite low ($70. midweek.), so it wasn't a terrible loss. Somebody needs to give this place some TLC on the inside and bring it up to date to match the much nicer looking exterior.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WineTourFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Solvang hotels
0.5 mi away
Hadsten House
Hadsten House
#2 of 11 in Solvang
921 reviews
0.2 mi away
King Frederik Inn
King Frederik Inn
#6 of 11 in Solvang
266 reviews
0.3 mi away
Wine Valley Inn & Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Corque
Hotel Corque
#1 of 11 in Solvang
818 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Solvang
0.3 mi away
The Landsby
The Landsby
#3 of 11 in Solvang
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Svendsgaard's Lodge - Americas Best Value Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Svendsgaard's Lodge - Americas Best Value Inn

Address: 1711 Mission Dr, Solvang, CA 93463-2624
Location: United States > California > Solvang
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Solvang
Price Range: $102 - $185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Svendsgaard's Lodge - Americas Best Value Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone and getaroom.com so you can book your Svendsgaard's Lodge - Americas Best Value Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Svendsgaard`s Lodge - Americas Best Value Hotel Solvang
Holiday Inn Solvang
Solvang Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing