We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, pretty, large wine list / production”

Blackjack Ranch Vineyards and Winery
Ranked #23 of 53 things to do in Solvang
Attraction details
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
182 reviews
96 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Nice, pretty, large wine list / production”
Reviewed May 10, 2014

Our third and last stop. Glad we hit a place featured in the film. It was nice and pretty, but because we showed up at the same time as a "big spender" couple we were treated with less hospitality and had to wait for our tasting. Once they left, we surprisingly had to be focused on. The wine was nice but not outstanding. It seemed a bit dark and unwelcoming inside. We were also rushed due to the "closing" time. Bathroom is outside.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Kristine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    5
    4
    1
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
181 reviews
66 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“A Real Winetasting Treat”
Reviewed July 24, 2013

I was on a fun and unique road trip with my active 91 year-old mother-in-law and 87 year-old mother (really!), and winetasting in the Santa Ynez Valley was on our "must-do" list! The Blackjack's sign at the gate telling us this was one of the vineyards featured in the film, SIDEWAYS, was the motivating factor for our choosing this tasting room. It was fantastic! The woman server (Allison) was really knowledgable about both the particular wines we were tasting, as well as about winemaking in general. We purchased 2 bottles to savor some time in the near future!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank PatSnyder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
268 reviews
63 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Definitely A New Favorite!”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

This was my first time to BlackJack - and definitely a highlight of our weekend of wine-tasting!

First of the all, the wine was delicious! And there wasn't a "dud" among the varieties I tasted. Be sure to try the Double Down Syrah - FABULOUS!

There were many varieties to sample on the tasting menu, which was an added bonus. While I'm quick to pooh-pooh Merlot, I can't believe how good their Merlot was. I even bought a bottle of Billy Goat Merlot there and I'm pretty sure I have never purchased a bottle of Merlot before, anywhere.

We started drinking at one bar, then other patrons came. So, the bartenders asked if we wanted to switch sides and she opened the side bar for us. This was great because we got our own space and weren't crowded by other groups. This was very thoughtful on the part of the wait staff.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank SunshineGirl2929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abbotsford, B C, Canada
Level Contributor
64 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Friendly winery & good wine”
Reviewed May 2, 2013

Enjoyed atmosphere of winery. We cycled around wine country area and stopped on our way back to hotel. We did the wine tasting and decided to purchase 3 bottles. Because we were on bicycles the owner said she would give us her cell number so we could drive back later to pick-up wine, no matter what time, after hours. Other wine tasters were very friendly and it turns out, a lot of Canadians! It was very enjoyable.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Marilyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
133 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“One of Our Favorites”
Reviewed March 28, 2013

We've visited Blackjack twice a year for about a dozen years, starting at least a few years before the Sideways "hype". We keep returning because it is one of the few wineries where we enjoy the majority of the wines (usually about 10 of 12) that we taste.

For most of our visits the pouring has been done by Alison, who has worked at Blackjack for about a decade and is able to describe their current offerings as well as compare them to previous vintages that we may have purchased or tasted.

Periodically you'll catch a glimpse of Roger, the owner and winemaker, puttering around the grounds. He is a great source of knowledge about winemaking and very personable.

Blackjack's forte is red wine, although they have some excellent whites. Their Allusion (not named after Alison, although it should have been) and Harmonie are favorites of ours. Before visiting Blackjack we often visit R Country Market in nearby Los Olivos, pick-up a couple of their excellent submarine sandwiches, and pair them with a bottle of wine from Blackjack. There are picnic tables and a covered pavilion at the winery for guests to use.

The tasting room is usually busy, often with repeat customers who enjoy Blackjack's excellent wine. Other than when they open at 11am, there doesn't seem to be any time that is consistently less busy than any other time, but they do a great job in keeping the pours going regardless of the crowd.

If you enjoy excellent wine, particularly reds, Blackjack is a must.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank XlntAdventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blackjack Ranch Vineyards and Winery also viewed

 

Been to Blackjack Ranch Vineyards and Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing