We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Royal Copenhagen Inn
Ranked #1 of 7 Solvang B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Friendly staff and great location right in the center of town. Large room and bathroom were clean and comfortable. Breakfast was not extensive, but the service was good and the pastries fresh. Everything in town was in easy walking distance. Would definitely stay here again if we are in the area.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
2  Thank SAFamily5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (380)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

254 - 260 of 380 reviews

Reviewed October 5, 2012

This hotel is in a great location for exploring Solvang. The rooms were very nice, spotlessly clean and set up to look like houses around a village square. The rates were very reasonable, although their wifi is a bit patchy at times.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cottyh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012 via mobile

Clean rooms
Good location in the middle of the main street but it is very quiet. Get a free voucher to a wine tasting . Clean rooms at a good price 79 $ per night . I have to say that the shower was the best I have ever stayed in , within the 4 weeks stay in America

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dlp1605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

We just returned from the lovely town of Solvang and had a great stay at the Royal Copenhagen....we really enjoyed it. The hotel is in the center of Solvang so shopping and restaurants are at your door step. The hotel is very well maintained with nice grounds, a great pool area and a wonderful place to take your pet called "the secret garden"....a large grass area which is completely fenced in. We had a standard room with 2 queen beds...it was good size, very clean and the bed was very comfortable. The staff was just great....the breakfast was good also. We really enjoyed our stay and I highly recommend the Royal Copenhagen Inn to anyone visiting the Solvang area.

Room Tip: Room 115 was very comfortable...toward the back of the property and very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 388lovetravelin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

We have stayed at the Royal Copenhagen several times in past 10 years. It's been our "go-to" spot for wine tasting, as the hotel is centrally located, and walkable to everything in the cute town of Solvang. Overall, the hotel is extremely clean. The rooms are very spacious, and some have two floors with a pull-out couch. It's not a luxury place, but the hotel is VERY nice and I would not hesitate to stay here again. It provides a quiet night's sleep the prices are very reasonable for the area. The hotel also features a great pool outside. Also, I found the owner and managers to be very helpful and accommodating -- and receptive to feedback. They really work hard to make their guests happy. Looking forward to my next visit!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marla C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

We've stayed here twice, and both stays were pleasurable and quite comfortable. The rooms are a very good size, a bit larger than average.

We enjoy being able to bring our dog because they have a wonderful play area for the dogs called "The Secret Garden" and it's lovely.

The hotel has all the amenities you would want, and it's truly the ideal location in the town center where you can walk to everything, yet so quiet and peaceful you'd never guess you were in the center of town. Big kudos!

We will continue to stay here for years to come, I'm sure!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank April H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2012

The newer German exterior facade tricks you inside to a room that looks, feels and smells like you are sleeping in a thrift store. Old funky furniture, funky smell and the beds are NOT comfortable. Although it looked clean, for what it is, it didn't 'feel' clean. The bathroom is very old, no tub, only a stall shower with a loose faucet, rust and a moldy smell.
Only one light worked in the room. The woman who checked us in was unfriendly and not helpful. She almost acted annoyed when I asked about things to do around town. I was probably disturbing her television show..because everytime I went in the office that was all the staff was doing...watching television. She just handed me a street map and sent me on my way. the gentleman who worked the night shift was much more friendly.
The heater/airconditioner did not work as well. When we turned it on it just kept leaking liquid.
This hotel is right on the main road, and even though our room was in the back, there was still quite a bit of noice from the street.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ttwinkerbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rci2009, General Manager at Royal Copenhagen Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2012

Thank you for your comments. We appreciate that you took the time to share your experience with us. Please accept our sincere apologies for your less-than-satisfactory stay. Your comments will be very helpful as we continuously strive to improve our service. Please feel free to call me directly so that I may formally apologize to you personally. Thank you again. -Seyde Garcia, General Manager 800-624-6604 - 805-688-5561 - sgarcia@royalcopenhageninn.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Solvang hotels
0.2 mi away
Hadsten House
Hadsten House
#3 of 11 in Solvang
927 reviews
0.1 mi away
Wine Valley Inn & Cottages
0.3 mi away
Hotel Corque
Hotel Corque
#1 of 11 in Solvang
827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
King Frederik Inn
King Frederik Inn
#6 of 11 in Solvang
266 reviews
0.3 mi away
Svendsgaard's Lodge - Americas Best Value Inn
0.1 mi away
The Landsby
The Landsby
#2 of 11 in Solvang
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Copenhagen Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Copenhagen Inn

Address: 1579 Mission Dr, Solvang, CA 93463-2655
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Solvang
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Solvang
Price Range: $94 - $213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Royal Copenhagen Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Copenhagen Inn is located in the heart of Solvang, surrounded by its finest shops, restaurants and bakeries. The Royal Copenhagen will have you believing you have traveled to Denmark. The Inn is built in the traditional style of a village, or neighborhood, with the outside of the buildings being exact duplicates of the buildings found on a street in Copenhagen. Escape into the old world grace and charm of the Royal Copenhagen Inn, located downtown in the Danish village of Solvang. We are small enough to provide personal service and our professional staff will make you feel like royalty.Our rooms are all decorated in the Danish tradition and are more spacious than your typical hotel room. The rooms come with a large walk-in shower and each is different in its architecture. All rooms have cable TV, AC, coffee makers and refrigerators. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Royal Copenhagen Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Copenhagen Hotel Solvang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing