We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average but overpriced.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Royal Copenhagen Inn
Ranked #1 of 8 Solvang B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Tempe, Arizona
Level Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Average but overpriced.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2012

If you can get a deal or something, this would be fine. However if you need to be connected to the internet, this is not where you want to be. There simply was no service and it didnt matter if we were using apple products or other smart phones/devices.

Room Tip: Everything was very average. We just paid too much. The breakfast wasn't good but you are in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blubug03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Royal Copenhagen Inn, responded to this review, June 27, 2012
I'm sorry to hear you had trouble with our internet. We found that two of our access points were faulty causing connection trouble. We have corrected this problem. Thank you for bring this to our attention.

Seyde Garcia, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    161
    50
    15
    6
See reviews for
107
149
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
glendale, ca
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2012

We stayed there for one night and we enjoyed it very much. The hotel was clean and quite spacious. Plenty of room for two people and our luggage. The location was great. It is walking distance to everything in town. Solvang is a small town so just about anywhere you stay is walking distance but this hotel is right in the middle. Its close to The Red Viking Inn which is an excellent restaurant. Try the aebleskiver. Delicious. It is also next to the Solvang Brewing Company. We stopped by there for beer and pretzels. Both were quite good.
The hotel has a nice pool area, plenty of parking as well as nice people working the front desk. The price was also excellent.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bumhip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redondo Beach, California, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2012

I stayed here with a small group of 24. We played golf in the afternoon then all showed up at the hotel to check in. Brad, the gentleman at the front desk, was the best i have ever seen. He was quick, friendly, helpful, and made you feel welcome. This whole property made us feel the same way. Everyone was nice, smiling, and extremely helpful especially since this was our first visit to Solvang. We will definetely be returning to this property again. Thanks to all at The Royal Copenhagen Inn!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
47 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2012

Location, location, location. This place is in the midst of everything you want to see and experience. Wonderful staff and CLEAN ROOMS. Property and pool are clean and well maintained. Staff is attentive. New ice machine gives plenty of ice! I have been staying there for many, many years on my yearly trips to Solvang. Would never think of staying any place else.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobboLA818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Cucamonga, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2012

My husband and I just spent the weekend in Solvang and really enjoyed our stay at this hotel. It's incredibly pet-friendly and has a very large fenced in back yard for dogs to hang out off-leash. The hotel was clean, reasonably comfortable, and the breakfast Danishes were the best I've ever had! The location is amazing - easy walking distance to anywhere in town. The only negatives were the rather thin walls and slippery bathroom floor. Otherwise Solvang was an adorable, dog-friendly town with lots to see, eat, and drink and the Royal Copenhagen Inn was a great choice.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Charlene P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Cajon, California
Level Contributor
112 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2012

Wow! Did we luck out with getting a room. We were on a nice meandering trip to Santa Cruz, with my mom and daughter. Decided not to book rooms ahead of time. Just see where the road takes us....

Stopped at Pea Soup Andersen's in Solvang and started calling hotels during dinner. I must have called 5-6 hotels. Called the Holiday Inn and they were booked, but...they let me know that the Royal Copenagen Inn just had an opening. Whew-Whoo! Called them up and booked the room with a king and roll-away bed.

The walls are a little thin, but the room is clean and nice. Very friendly, helpful staff.

Complimentary coffee and pastries are offered across the street. It's OK, but I recommend finding another place for a "real" breakfast.

Room Tip: Use earplugs - thin walls. :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Genevax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simi Valley, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2012

My sister and I spent a night at this hotel. The hotel is older, but our room was great. It was vary big, and the beds were great. It was also vary clean. Its right in the middle of town. You can walk all over town. We had coffee and danish pastry right across the street (free) and its wonderful.
We went to a show at the casino, is a few miles down the road.
I told my husband, that next time we go wine tasting, we are staying at the Royal Copenhagen.
The staff was also vary nice. Thank you.
Victoria Adolph

Room Tip: Our room was towards the front of the hotel....but we really diden't hear anything. we sleep goo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank victoria a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Solvang hotels
0.1 mi away
Wine Valley Inn & Cottages
0.2 mi away
Hadsten House
Hadsten House
#3 of 10 in Solvang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 871 reviews
0.1 mi away
King Frederik Inn
King Frederik Inn
#6 of 10 in Solvang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Corque
Hotel Corque
#1 of 10 in Solvang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 754 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Landsby
The Landsby
#2 of 10 in Solvang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Solvang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Copenhagen Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Copenhagen Inn

Property: Royal Copenhagen Inn
Address: 1579 Mission Dr, Solvang, CA 93463-2655
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Solvang
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Solvang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Royal Copenhagen Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Copenhagen Inn is located in the heart of Solvang, surrounded by its finest shops, restaurants and bakeries. The Royal Copenhagen will have you believing you have traveled to Denmark. The Inn is built in the traditional style of a village, or neighborhood, with the outside of the buildings being exact duplicates of the buildings found on a street in Copenhagen. Escape into the old world grace and charm of the Royal Copenhagen Inn, located downtown in the Danish village of Solvang. We are small enough to provide personal service and our professional staff will make you feel like royalty.Our rooms are all decorated in the Danish tradition and are more spacious than your typical hotel room. The rooms come with a large walk-in shower and each is different in its architecture. All rooms have cable TV, AC, coffee makers and refrigerators. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Royal Copenhagen Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Copenhagen Hotel Solvang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing