We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Motorcycle heaven”

Solvang Vintage Motorcycle Museum
Ranked #10 of 54 things to do in Solvang
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: OPEN SAT/SUN 11-5 AND BY APPOINTMENTS WEEKDAYS from 11:00 - 3:30 The Vintage Motorcycle Museum houses a private collection of more than 95 of the worlds' most rare classic and vintage racing motorcycles. There are several one-of-a-kind motorcycles that you may never have seen and some that you may never see again anywhere else.
Stillwater
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Motorcycle heaven”
Reviewed March 15, 2014

If you know anything or want to know anything about vintage motorcycles this is a must visit place.
The collection of cycles from the early 20th century to the 70's and 80's is simply astounding. Some are rare beyond belief and most if not all are run periodically. I had the pleasure of having the collector-owner give me a personal tour of the museum. It is an experience I will never forget.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank DavidC1029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    12
    6
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Superb Motorcycle Collection”
Reviewed February 19, 2014

A really superb collection of old motorcycles, most of which are exquisitely restored. I would make the trip to Solvang just for this museum along.

Normally open weekends, but there is a phone number on the door and they will come let you in if you call. I only had to wait 15 minutes.

Guys...let her and the kids cruise the cutesy Solvang shops while you check out this place. Take your time and savor each bike.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank G4gene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
125 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Must see Great town.”
Reviewed November 1, 2013

My brother law is Danish so had to see the town,was not to disappointed a must stop is the motorcycle as you will come across a lot of bikes on the roads of California you may have the bug to see a few vintage ones, lovely touristy town however did find the selection of cuisine was not the greatest.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Pat H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clarita, California
Level 6 Contributor
183 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Way better than shopping!”
Reviewed October 19, 2013 via mobile

My wife always says that "going shopping with your husband is like going hunting with the game warden". I tend to agree, and the inverse of that is also true. We went to Solvang for the weekend for some R&R and while she was visiting the myriad of shops with shoes, clothing, and assorted gifts, I went to the motorcycle museum. Everybody was happy. I got to spend time looking at the motorcycles and reading the history on each of the great bikes and my wife got uninterrupted shopping time. Life is good.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank talkslikeaduck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Some rare motorcycles”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

I am more of a rare car person than a motorcycle person. The museum is filled with some very rare and one of a kind motorcycles with a focus on early racing heritage. The motorcycles are all together in one large room, each with a one page summary of the history and importance of the motorcycle. It is a part of one mans collection, the motorcycles are jammed in the space and I am sure they could easily fill an area twice the size. If you are a fan of vintage racing this is a must see. Photos are allowed and the $10 admission is worth it.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bob E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Solvang Vintage Motorcycle Museum also viewed

 

Been to Solvang Vintage Motorcycle Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing