We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ice cream and candies: not a restaurant” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ingeborg's World Famous Danish Chocolates

Ingeborg's World Famous Danish Chocolates
Ranked #4 of 11 Dessert in Solvang
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
154 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Ice cream and candies: not a restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

This is a cute little gift shop across the street from the Solvang Bakery. They have ice cream and several candy cases where items are displayed so they can be purchased piece by piece or as part of a larger box. The specialty of the house is chocolate covered marzipan and liquor filled chocolates. The candy made in a more European style, flatter and denser than US chocolate makers like See's. They have some boxed metal tins ($27) of assorted chocolates which made a nice gift for my family.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank TrixieBelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    32
    9
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NY
Level Contributor
87 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Chocolate Heaven”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

Loved the sweet treats that've ought from this shop! The English toffee was a particular favorite of mine, wished I didn't just buy 1 piece of that item. The service was very good. Keep in mind that shops close somewhat early in this little town. I recommend getting treats here on a day trip.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank SBFINCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
245 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
“Chocolatey goodness!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

Celebrating over 50 years of Danish chocolates in Solvang is quite an accomplishment. Recipes handed down from original Danish owners so chocolate must be the best around! No preservatives, just chocolatey goodness! We enjoyed the samples as well as the marzipan treats, Flodeboller (chocolate covered marzipan-marshmallow), latte, and vanilla ice cream. Quality items at a price...worth it, so indulge!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Shimadog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newhall, California
Level Contributor
124 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Yummy!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

Great chocolate! They give out samples at the candy counter. Great variety. I loved the dark chocolate salted caramel and giant peanut butter cup. they packed our candy in a cute box that we kept in our hotel with the other Solvang treats!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Darkdivine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Chocolate lovers dream store in Solvang, CA”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

Even though we had just eaten a hearty Danish breakfast of crepes, waffles and eggs, our stop in this lovely chocolate shop didn't deter our purchasing many items for enjoying later on our trip. They make many of the items in the case and will pack them in foil or an ice packed foam chest for travelers. We purchased chocolate covered pretzels, chocolate covered graham crackers, their salted caramel chocolate, a chocolate covered marshmallow and some chocolate covered espresso beans. All were very good, especially the chocolate covered salted caramel! Love the salty caramel flavor against the dark chocolate. Oh and yes, they have dark and regular chocolate. We are dark chocolate lovers, so we were in dark chocolate heaven! Cute shop, great staff and awesome chocolates!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank vaustin08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ingeborg's World Famous Danish Chocolates also viewed

 

Been to Ingeborg's World Famous Danish Chocolates? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing