We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy Getaway!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Solvang Inn and Cottages
Ranked #6 of 8 Solvang B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Cozy Getaway!”
Reviewed December 30, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in a private cottage and its worth it! It was perfect, romantic and cozy. The cottage has a kitchenette and gas fireplace. The bathroom has a whirlpool tub, but its a standard size bathtub. The cottages also have their own parking spaces. Plus, when you check-in your given a voucher for a pastry and coffe/tea for their bakery across the street. Get to Paula's pancake house early to avoid a wait. It's worth it!!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ren12317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    53
    29
    18
    9
See reviews for
35
50
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Costa Mesa, Ca
Level Contributor
62 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2013

The positives:
The receptionist was nice and helpful when we checked in. The hotel is in the middle of town which was great! We got a coupon for a free danish and cup of coffee for the bakery across the street. The rooms were clean, and I didn't hear much noise.
The negatives:
The place is pretty run down, so if its luxury you are looking for, this is not the place for you. The price of the room is not worth what you get. Its way too pricey for that!
We would stay here again if we needed to.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Becky K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Easy to find and is right in the heart of Solvang. Breakfast across the road was good ,can't believe the size of the pastries(not good if you are on a diet). Easy walking distance to shops, taverns and tourist attractions.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jamoo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

I've stayed here for the past 2 years to run the Santa Barbara Wine country Half marathon. I live fairly close so I don't want to have to pay for two nights to run a "local" race. Also the pool feels great after the race. The rooms are clean and comfy and they give you a pastry and coffee voucher for the great little pastry shop across the street, Oh, and cookies up on check in:) Don't be fooled though, the beds are doubles not queens.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vcryden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We were in from Charleston, South Carolina, for a wedding. Booked at this hotel as we could only stay in Solvang one night and many of the other hotels required a two night minimum.

When we arrived, Shiela was able to sneak us in a bit early to get ready for our 1.30pm wedding, gave us Danish cookies and a voucher for breakfast, all of which we not expected.

We arrived at our room and were very pleasantly surprised. It was immaculately clean and quaint. Don't get me wrong, if you're not pleased with anything less than a four or five star hotel, and are willing to pay 2-3x the nightly rate, there may be a better option for you. If, on the otherhand, you're pleased with great location, great staff, and a nicely furnished room, look no further.

My wife and I loved it and when we return will go right back. Oh, and did I mention the value. It's a steal as far as hotels in the area go for.

Final note, my wife left an item in our hotel room. I called a couple days later and, once again, Shiela was kind enough to go track it down for us. She called right back and provided the number of the local UPS store that would ship it back for us. Amazing.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charles C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2013

We were pleased to find the hotel easily on the main road into Solvang from Buellton. The room was a good size. The decor is a little dated and the TV was not great (old CRT and poor reception) but we werent really there to watch TV. Good bathroom and plenty of space to hang clothes. We got a room on the first floor just across from the swimming pool, which is also of a good size, well maintained and with a hot tub on the deck. Was nice to see some humming birds in the garden. The welcome cookies were a nice touch.
Breakfast was with a voucher at the bakery across the road - clearly popular as a queue when we arrived but they were friendly enough and the pastries a generous size and tasty.
the staff were helpful in allowing us a late check out and also in allowing us to leave our car there after check-out so that we could explore Solvang without having to worry about the parking.
My daughter liked the life sized viking statue and the sentry boxes outside - kitsch but fun - just like Solvang really.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank raccat28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Cute place BUT you get what you pay for!

First of all the inn has a Great location & the folks running the inn were Nice people and helpful.
They gave us cookies and a voucher for coffee and pastry which was great!

But...
That was a Queen bed? It was small and uncomfortable! I tossed and turned and didn't sleep at all! Our entire body's ached after sleeping on that bed!
One foam pillow that hert my nexk and we couldnt sit up in bed.
There was aged floral bedspread that you know has been sat on by many a naked butt...
I asked for another flat top sheet so I could remove the bead spread and put it over the blanket to create a duvet but the sheet was never delivered to my room.

Please do some small but huge impact updates:
New comfortable beds a must.
A washable white down type comforter (heck get from IKEA)
Use a top sheet over the comforter or an actual removable (washable every use) duvet!
Provide soap in a bottle or bar soap--not a Hand sanitizer styled box bolted to shower wall.

I would love to give it another try but not as is!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TaySax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Solvang hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Solvang hotels
0.1 mi away
Wine Valley Inn & Cottages
0.1 mi away
Hadsten House
Hadsten House
#3 of 10 in Solvang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 883 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Corque
Hotel Corque
#1 of 10 in Solvang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 767 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
King Frederik Inn
King Frederik Inn
#6 of 10 in Solvang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Landsby
The Landsby
#2 of 10 in Solvang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Solvang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Solvang Inn and Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solvang Inn and Cottages

Property: Solvang Inn and Cottages
Address: 1518 Mission Dr, Solvang, CA 93463-2608
Location: United States > California > Solvang
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Solvang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Solvang Inn and Cottages 2*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Solvang Inn and Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Solvang Inn And Cottages Hotel Solvang
Solvang Bed Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing