We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean but quite old”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Solvang Inn and Cottages
Ranked #6 of 7 Solvang B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 23, 2012

The basics are all there - clean, quiet (top floor anyway) and a good location, but it's showing it's age. The price is a bit high for what you get.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank llnjams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (151)
There are newer reviews for Solvang Inn and Cottages
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

97 - 103 of 151 reviews

Reviewed December 19, 2011

Place is not bad, rooms are decent and there´s a pool. Staff could be more friendly, but were ok. Good price.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Reisefoten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2011

We stayed in room #104. Looking at some of the other reviews and pictures on here, it looks like some of the rooms might be nicer than ours was. We booked the cheapest room with a queen bed because we were only in town for one night. This hotel was not my first choice, but it seemed like all the other hotels in Solvang were either booked solid or insanely expensive. I was pretty disappointed with our room. For the price, I felt that it could've been nicer. The bed was comfortable enough, but the pillows were extremely flat, and the sheets were so paper thin that you could see the bed and pillows right through them. The tv was a tiny old tube television and the ice bucket truly was a bucket! lol... Also, the only toiletries were a small bar of soap and some liquid soap attached to the shower wall. They don't serve any breakfast, and the coupon they gave us for the bakery across the street was good for only ONE coffee and ONE danish, even though there were two of us. I wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jittterbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2011

We have never been disappointed when we stay at Americas Best Value. We have stayed at several Americas Best Value Inns thru-out California the past recent years. So many times we have been pleasantly surprised at the quality of their hospitality and service. Our experience has always been a positive one.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2011

The room was nice and clean. Very adequate. The person on duty when we checked in was not very welcoming .

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cindi76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2011

I've been to many little dives in my day, but Solvang Inn and Cottages was not a bad stay, if you don't mind spiders!

Yes, spiders. On the wall outside the apartment and one landing on my friend's bed. Oops. Good thing I like spiders, but you may not!

First Impressions:

So we get to the front desk to a man who seemed a bit bored or something. Not sure what was going on there. Anyway, we came to activate our reservation and they said we had two separate apartments! No, we wanted ONE apartment with TWO rooms! Finally got that straight.

We got a free package of cookies for the inconvenience, yummy.

Why we had to ask for an extra room key rather than being offered one was a mystery. I know, I'm picky.

The maid staff were very friendly and efficient and no complaints there. Except for the spiders the rooms were adequate and clean. My air conditioner was really just a fan and did not cool off more than an inch in front of the vent. Good thing it was not a hot day!

Also, the rooms were near traffic. If you dislike the constant drone of traffic zooming by, you might get a room further away from the street. Didn't bother me; I like the drone sound, LOL.

You get a complementary Danish pastry and a drink (coffee, etc.) across the street at the famous Olsen's Pastry Shop, which didn't look like much, but the pastries were pretty tasty. The coffee though was rather bland.

Bottom Line: A decent place for a quick stay and you can't find anywhere else to stay and do not suffer from arachnophobia!

Room Tip: Try to get a room away from traffic -- do not rent room 132!
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank morgie55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2011

passing through this tourist spot, rate was reasonable compared to other locations,
location was on main street, parking is a pain, desk clerk not friendly. But place was clean.

Breakfast danish and coffee , not much, was across street.

not a romantic get away but will do in a pinch.

did not try pool.

Room Tip: all the same
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nlcatter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Solvang hotels
0.1 mi away
Wine Valley Inn & Cottages
0.4 mi away
Hotel Corque
Hotel Corque
#1 of 11 in Solvang
804 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hadsten House
Hadsten House
#3 of 11 in Solvang
918 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
King Frederik Inn
King Frederik Inn
#6 of 11 in Solvang
261 reviews
0.4 mi away
Svendsgaard's Lodge - Americas Best Value Inn
0.1 mi away
The Landsby
The Landsby
#2 of 11 in Solvang
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Solvang Inn and Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solvang Inn and Cottages

Address: 1518 Mission Dr, Solvang, CA 93463-2608
Location: United States > California > Solvang
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Solvang
Price Range: $102 - $198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Solvang Inn and Cottages 2*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Solvang Inn and Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Solvang Inn And Cottages Hotel Solvang
Solvang Bed Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing