We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Meh...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Solvang Inn and Cottages
Ranked #5 of 7 Solvang B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 25, 2011

We stayed in room #104. Looking at some of the other reviews and pictures on here, it looks like some of the rooms might be nicer than ours was. We booked the cheapest room with a queen bed because we were only in town for one night. This hotel was not my first choice, but it seemed like all the other hotels in Solvang were either booked solid or insanely expensive. I was pretty disappointed with our room. For the price, I felt that it could've been nicer. The bed was comfortable enough, but the pillows were extremely flat, and the sheets were so paper thin that you could see the bed and pillows right through them. The tv was a tiny old tube television and the ice bucket truly was a bucket! lol... Also, the only toiletries were a small bar of soap and some liquid soap attached to the shower wall. They don't serve any breakfast, and the coupon they gave us for the bakery across the street was good for only ONE coffee and ONE danish, even though there were two of us. I wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jittterbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (154)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

101 - 107 of 154 reviews

Reviewed August 13, 2011

We have never been disappointed when we stay at Americas Best Value. We have stayed at several Americas Best Value Inns thru-out California the past recent years. So many times we have been pleasantly surprised at the quality of their hospitality and service. Our experience has always been a positive one.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2011

The room was nice and clean. Very adequate. The person on duty when we checked in was not very welcoming .

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cindi76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2011

I've been to many little dives in my day, but Solvang Inn and Cottages was not a bad stay, if you don't mind spiders!

Yes, spiders. On the wall outside the apartment and one landing on my friend's bed. Oops. Good thing I like spiders, but you may not!

First Impressions:

So we get to the front desk to a man who seemed a bit bored or something. Not sure what was going on there. Anyway, we came to activate our reservation and they said we had two separate apartments! No, we wanted ONE apartment with TWO rooms! Finally got that straight.

We got a free package of cookies for the inconvenience, yummy.

Why we had to ask for an extra room key rather than being offered one was a mystery. I know, I'm picky.

The maid staff were very friendly and efficient and no complaints there. Except for the spiders the rooms were adequate and clean. My air conditioner was really just a fan and did not cool off more than an inch in front of the vent. Good thing it was not a hot day!

Also, the rooms were near traffic. If you dislike the constant drone of traffic zooming by, you might get a room further away from the street. Didn't bother me; I like the drone sound, LOL.

You get a complementary Danish pastry and a drink (coffee, etc.) across the street at the famous Olsen's Pastry Shop, which didn't look like much, but the pastries were pretty tasty. The coffee though was rather bland.

Bottom Line: A decent place for a quick stay and you can't find anywhere else to stay and do not suffer from arachnophobia!

Room Tip: Try to get a room away from traffic -- do not rent room 132!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank morgie55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2011

passing through this tourist spot, rate was reasonable compared to other locations,
location was on main street, parking is a pain, desk clerk not friendly. But place was clean.

Breakfast danish and coffee , not much, was across street.

not a romantic get away but will do in a pinch.

did not try pool.

Room Tip: all the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nlcatter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2011

Our grandson was graduating from UCSB and we needed two rooms to accomodate our family that was reasonably priced. Everything close to the campus was filled or overpriced and opted for the Solvang Inn & Cottages. Although it was a 40 minute drive to the campus, it worked out well. Our rooms were clean an adequate size to accomodate two queen size beds, plus a refrigerator, small table and chairs. The bathroom fixtures were dated but everything worked well. Upon arrival we were given a small bag of butter cookies and a voucher for a pastry and coffee/tea from Olson's bakery across the street. We had the option of taking the pastry/coffee with us or to be served in house. The pastries were very good!!
The Inn had a small swimming pool, which probably wasn't used very much.
The Inn was located within walking distance of the shops in Solvang. We counted four bakeries and many restaurant options. The whole town in built in the style of a village in early Denmark, and while there, Prince Henry of Denmark was an honored guest with many festivities held in his honor.
We made reservations several months before arriving and the price was very reasonable. A guest that arrived on a spur of the moment trip to Solvang, paid double what we did.
I would recommend the Inn for anyone who is looking for reasonably priced lodging for activities elsewhere. This is not a resort.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2011

The room smelled awful. Had bed linens from the early 70's. The beds and pillows were just awful. It felt dirty and I was scared to take a shower. They said they had wifi but the connection was not stable and 1.0 Mbps. The TV was fuzzy. Their complimentary breakfast was 1 danish and a cup of coffee across the street. The hot tub was empty and the pool was filthy.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scaackler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Solvang hotels
0.1 mi away
Wine Valley Inn & Cottages
0.1 mi away
Hadsten House
Hadsten House
#3 of 11 in Solvang
929 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Corque
Hotel Corque
#1 of 11 in Solvang
833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Svendsgaard's Lodge - Americas Best Value Inn
0.2 mi away
King Frederik Inn
King Frederik Inn
#6 of 11 in Solvang
269 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Landsby
The Landsby
#2 of 11 in Solvang
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Solvang Inn and Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solvang Inn and Cottages

Address: 1518 Mission Dr, Solvang, CA 93463-2608
Location: United States > California > Solvang
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Solvang
Price Range: $98 - $197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Solvang Inn and Cottages 2*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Solvang Inn and Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Solvang Inn And Cottages Hotel Solvang
Solvang Bed Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing