We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Tasty Treat and nice atmosphere”
Review of The Solvang Bakery

The Solvang Bakery
Ranked #4 of 5 Bakeries in Solvang
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $17
Cuisines: Danish
Restaurant details
CA
Level Contributor
75 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“A Tasty Treat and nice atmosphere”
Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

Nice location and selection of baked items and breads. The staff is welcoming and happy. The inside has a number of comfortable wooden tables to sit at while you enjoy your treat. There are also a couple of tables outside so you can eat and people watch. One thing I wish they would change is the disposable cups, plates,and flatware. It annoys me to eat at an establishment and to get served on disposables. They use plastic, maybe one day they will use compostables? The coffee was very good too. You are given your pastry and the coffee is self serve. I am a local and will go back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BadGoat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    111
    53
    16
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
57 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Danish pastries--WOW!”
Reviewed February 21, 2013

You probably can't go wrong with any of the bakeries in Solvang. The variety of pastries we tried at the Solvang Bakery was excellent. Flaky, buttery, ample fruit filling--yum. If there is any drawback at all, it is the number of items you have to choose from. The staff was friendly and patient.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Area
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“So many pastries to choose from”
Reviewed September 18, 2012

We were on our way home from Santa Barbara, and we were on a mission to find a bakery in Solvang. We got so lucky to find one place open past 6 pm. We walked the cute little streets looking for a bakery, and they were all closed. We were about to give up when I saw a windmill and we decided to go check it out. And there we found the Solvang Bakery. Upon entering, you see two big pastry cases. The pastry case had so many different pastries, cupcakes, things I wanted to try, but my eye zeroed in on the ginger snap and a creme filled puff pastry. Damon, connoisseur of all things pastry, asked the staff to take him through a guided, mouth-watering tour of their pastry case. The wait staff were so friendly; they obliged him, going through each and every pastry, their names and ingredients at 10 mins to 7 pm., closing time.... Wow. So nice, and the only bakery that stays open so late. Damon eventually decided on the dutch waffle. It doesn't look like a waffle. it looks like a hotdog bun filled with raspberry jelly and creme and a creme-filled madeline. It was all so good and so fresh. All I can say is I wish I had some now.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CADK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale, California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Mouth-watering pastries!”
Reviewed September 6, 2012

Try these pastries if you're in Solvang! They are so yummy! Lots and lots of options to pick up from! For a dessert-lover, this is a heaven.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bubun78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inland Empire, CA
Level Contributor
63 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Just As It Should Be In Solvang”
Reviewed August 31, 2012

This charming bakery with a back patio area was found as a surprise. First of all, it really looks like it belongs in Solvang - very cute and Euro. The staff is superior - very friendly and kind. We were there twice and interacted with two different shifts of people. Lovely folks. A very new young lady to the job took great pains to make an iced coffee just right - and it really was extra good. Now for the baked goods - whatever was available for sampling - something called a butterhorn - was to die for. Too bad we were traveling and just didn't want a full-sized pastry. We tried some Danish pastries - good and very good. Petit-fours were exquisitely decorated but too sweet for our tastes. Almond horn cookies dipped in chocolate, also to die for. All in all, this is a very memorable bakery that we would return to on another trip. Very nice job, Solvang Bakery.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WineTourFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Solvang Bakery also viewed

 

Been to The Solvang Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing