We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I love this place.”
Review of Nojoqui Falls Park

Nojoqui Falls Park
Ranked #7 of 53 things to do in Solvang
Attraction details
Angelus Oaks, California, United States
Level Contributor
134 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“I love this place.”
Reviewed August 19, 2014

Pick up a sandwich and some great salad, wine and cheese or, yes, stop at the bakery. Drive out of town on tree lines country roads dripping with Spanish Moss. Watch for deer along the way especially around the golf course. Pull into to the pare (free). Park to the back and take the short trail to the falls. Yes at times they are hardly running but the height on the fall it outstanding. But then just to sit there it a slick of peace in nature.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
8 Thank Kay W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    55
    21
    9
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
1,058 reviews
242 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 407 helpful votes
“No falls!”
Reviewed July 3, 2014

We hiked in about ten minutes on a beautifully maintained path, and the falls are all but dry. Only a little water still trickles down. Having said that, they are still beautiful and worth the sidetrip, and covered in ferns. It was a lovely little diversion on a driving day!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank MaraFromToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Water drip drop”
Reviewed July 2, 2014

If you are interested in the waterfall, you'll have to wait for a rain...storm. Currently, water is dripping down the fall, the area is dry. Also, the pond it drips into is quite small, I would think it was dangerous if flowing hard. However, there were two locals who briefed us. Due to the drought locals come with rain jackets only when there is a storm because that is the only time there is a water fall.

I do recommend, if you still go, to bring an empty bottle. Apparently, when the water comes down the moss, the moss cleanses the water. I heard third hand from the local who was informed by his dad (Ph.d). I ventured out and tasted it in the palm of my hand...several times. It tasted so fresh. I was told it was the minerals. I'm still alive. Had I known previously, I would have dared to (slowly) fill up a bottle to go.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Escondido, California
Level Contributor
46 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“No waterfall!”
Reviewed July 2, 2014

Serene place, nice drive out there, on Alison road from Solvang. Saw deer, but no waterfall. People with limited walking ability will have trouble(steps). A good place for lunch.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank creuther
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“No Mountain Lions”
Reviewed June 26, 2014

Nojoqui falls is easy to find if you are staying in Solvang; just travel south on Alisal Road. The hike to the falls is easy and very pleasant. We saw wild turkey and enjoyed hearing the chirping and singing of many birds including woodpeckers. The falls are dry but the site is very beautiful. The restrooms are clean and there are lots of picnic tables to enjoy a picnic lunch.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Patricia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nojoqui Falls Park also viewed

 

Been to Nojoqui Falls Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing