We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Finally a good coffee”

Olsen's Danish Village Bakery
Ranked #2 of 11 Dessert in Solvang
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, European, Scandinavian, Danish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Dining on a budget, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Street Parking, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Authentic Danish pastries and breads. Family owned by a Danish family from Denmark that moved to Solvang in 1970 bringing with them the families bakery recipes. These recipes were created by the current owner's Great, Great, Great Grand Father. Have a great day discovering our "Danish Village."
Haifa, Israel
Level Contributor
345 reviews
165 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Finally a good coffee”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

After 3 weeks of traveling across the USA I found a great coffee shop with very good cakes and excellent espresso. Fare prices

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank peretzb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    212
    112
    24
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Apache Junction, Arizona
Level Contributor
110 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Forget the diet -”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

The pastries will make you lose your will power! It's hard to choose... we'll be back! Nice tht they bring your coffee and pastry to your table, and come back to refill your cup.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cindy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not a place to go if your concerned about your figure!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

I personally wanted to sample everything lol. Restrained myself and had an almond tart. I was in heaven!!! It was the best part of a bear claw....you know the almond paste that gets folded into the bear claw?? Imagine having that in a lil tart with white chocolate on top. Hubby had the traditional, Danish town, Danish bakery....so he ordered a Danish lol. He said it was not spectacular but good. The coffee was not as good as at Paula's but it help wash down my tart.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Janet214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good bakery for French macaroons”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

I was waiting in line for Paula's pancake house and looked in this bakery. Everything looked good, but love French macaroons so I had to get some. Very good macaroons, moist, jelly filled or cream. I think the price was $2.25 each.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeremyfeldman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
110 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“great”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

The real deal. Danish at a Danish bakery.
Get there before the tour buses do.
Go with will power or you'll eat too much!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank TravelerPaul18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Olsen's Danish Village Bakery also viewed

 

Been to Olsen's Danish Village Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing