We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Root 246, Solvang CA”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Root 246

Root 246
Reserve with OpenTable
Root 246 is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #11 of 69 Restaurants in Solvang
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Large groups, Romantic, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Drinks, Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Ojai, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Root 246, Solvang CA”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

We have eaten here a number of times in the last few years and we always have an excellent meal. The menu changes with the season and the chef always has an interesting array of selections.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank anninojai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

409 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    217
    113
    41
    22
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
vandenberg village, ca
Level Contributor
387 reviews
282 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Very good food and drinks”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

Excellent location and facility. Priced on the high side but extremely good. Service was outstanding and staff was friendly. Will return again, hopefully soon.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank billkathy88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceano, California
Level Contributor
124 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Solvang must stop”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

My wife and I put this on our list for every time we visit Solvang. Nice atmosphere. Convenient place to have a nice drink before catching the shuttle to the casino. Appetizers always good. My wife and I shared the Rib-eye in the lounge last time there. It was very good also.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Walter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Beyond Expectation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I were immediately sat at a lovely and big booth. Our server greeted us and was genuine.
We ordered Free Range Chicken and the Hanger Steak. Our first bites were amazing! We couldn't stop talking about the food and it tasted like how the Food Network chefs describe food. The chicken had crispy skin with super juicy meat. The flavors paired so well. Even though I was full, I couldn't stop eating.
I saw reviews about their service but our server was delightful. I see a lot of bad reviews about service in Solvang but I never had a bad experience during our 3 day stay.
I would recommend you try this restaurant. This is my first review on Trip Advisor and I had to share how great Root 246 is.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nicole M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Gatos, California
Level Contributor
111 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Stand out in an area of limited options”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

Root 246 stands out in touristy Solvang where kitsch crowds out quality in most establishments. The menu offered a good range of tasty dishes and the wine by the glass selection was good and fairly priced. I ordered short ribs that were fall-off-the-bone tasty and served on a creative pile of veggies. My brother's NY Steak was the only dull spot in the dinner. (A NY strip is hard to ruin an this one was definitely chewy. Kinda weird for the "special".)

We enjoyed the service, although the lag between dessert ordering and it showing up had us on the edge of cancelling. You know those moments when conversation wanes, the wine is gone, and your bum is telling you it's time to get up and move about.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Root 246 also viewed

 

Been to Root 246? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing