We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming intimate dining”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Mirabelle

Mirabelle
Reserve with OpenTable
Mirabelle is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #30 of 69 Restaurants in Solvang
Price range: $30 - $50
Cuisines: French, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: FIRST & OAK is located in the charming Mirabelle Inn boutique hotel. A culinary dream team of passionate individuals that defy to bring innovation and creativity to your plate. Our mission is to source local fare with our primary emphasis on quality and seasonality. It's elegant ambiance is the perfect setting for couples, small groups, intimate private dining, birthdays, wedding dinners, business meetings, and wine tastings. Executive Chef Steven Snook
Woodland Hills, California, United States
Level Contributor
44 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Charming intimate dining”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2014 via mobile

On a back street in Solvang sits the Mirabelle Inn. We went for dinner during our recent visit to Solvang, a touristy Danish village in central California. We were looking for charm, good interesting food, and a romantic setting. We found all that at the restaurant within the Mirabelle Inn. The restaurant is small, several outdoor tables and maybe eight tables serving two or four inside. We chose to sit inside and did ask to change tables, as we did not want to sit where the air vent blew directly. Two couples that came in after us also made a similar adjustment. The waiting staff of two were very pleasant and helpful. I went for the tasting menu which appears to change weekly. My wife had a risotto dish. Her risotto was excellent. I also had the wine parings. I enjoyed the first three dishes, a seafood combination, scallops, lobster and ahi, a duck sausage plate with polenta and a plate with a trio of meat selections. My wife did her duty and helped me devour the very fine chocolate desert. This restaurant is a number one choice in Solvang and in my opinion deserves that rating.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    111
    17
    9
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Calabasas, California
Level Contributor
44 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“AWESOME!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2014

My husband and I went to this restaurant for his birthday. It is a small, intimate setting. We consider ourselves to be foodies. The food was innovative and really excellent. We both had the tasting menu. The third course was lamb. I do not eat red meat, so they substituted scallops for me. My husband loved the lamb and I loved the scallops. Everything was perfect...both the food and the service.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cpamomma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Intimate and Charming”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2014

A great gem in Solvang - very charming - perfect for a "fancy" night out
great menu selection - also is a beautiful bed and breakfast inn - plan to stay here next time!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BobbieJ0308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Beach, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Mirabelles is the place to go for that special dinner!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2014

We did not stay at Mirabelle's but we heard it was one of the best places to dine in Solvang. The restaurant is part of an older mansion and is elegantly appointed so that you feel that you were stepping back in time. The staff could not have been nicer! We usually share and we ordered off of the 'special' tasting menu which was absolutely delicious. This was definitely the BEST that Solvang has to offer-- It is a little pricey but very romantic (wink!).

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Blynn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
43 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Perfect for an intimate dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2014

Mirabelle is located in a handsome bed and breakfast inn of the same name, and the principal dining area is what must have been the living room of the mansion when it was a family home. It is attractive in an understated way, the tables are generously spaced to allow for private conversation, and altogether it seats no more the 26 or so diners at one time.

The greeting was friendly as we checked in at the inn's reception desk, and after a wait of just a few minutes we were escorted to our table by the hostess/sommelier. Service was professional and as friendly as we invited it to be. We detected not a hint of "attitude" and while most of the tables were occupied by adult couples, there was a larger table of six with children that seemed to be thoroughly enjoying themselves.

On to the food: in a word, simply outstanding. We ordered a la carte, but in hindsight might have chosen the tasting menu, a great bargain at $55 for four courses, or $78 including wine pairings. In San Francisco (where this restaurant would do very well) the tasting menu would undoubtedly have run closer to $100 without wine, and been a fair value.

We enjoyed a Mirabelle salad with a wonderful, citrusy dressing, and a Caesar with parmesan scallops, a novel presentation of three large scallops in a crusty parmesan coating on a bed of traditionally dress Caesar saled. The mains were perfectly grilled duck breast in a rich cherry sauce served over a bed of toasted house made granola (trust me, a brilliant and inventive counterpoint to the velvety richness of the duck and sauce), and medallions of veal with morels, again nicely sauced and grilled to perfection. Both mains were flawless in execution and handsome and unfussy in presentation.

Highly recommended!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kai-Ala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mirabelle also viewed

 

Been to Mirabelle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing