We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for an intimate dinner”
Review of Mirabelle - CLOSED

Mirabelle
Price range: $30 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: FIRST & OAK is located in the charming Mirabelle Inn boutique hotel. A culinary dream team of passionate individuals that defy to bring innovation and creativity to your plate. Our mission is to source local fare with our primary emphasis on quality and seasonality. It's elegant ambiance is the perfect setting for couples, small groups, intimate private dining, birthdays, wedding dinners, business meetings, and wine tastings. Executive Chef Steven Snook
San Francisco
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Perfect for an intimate dinner”
Reviewed June 28, 2014

Mirabelle is located in a handsome bed and breakfast inn of the same name, and the principal dining area is what must have been the living room of the mansion when it was a family home. It is attractive in an understated way, the tables are generously spaced to allow for private conversation, and altogether it seats no more the 26 or so diners at one time.

The greeting was friendly as we checked in at the inn's reception desk, and after a wait of just a few minutes we were escorted to our table by the hostess/sommelier. Service was professional and as friendly as we invited it to be. We detected not a hint of "attitude" and while most of the tables were occupied by adult couples, there was a larger table of six with children that seemed to be thoroughly enjoying themselves.

On to the food: in a word, simply outstanding. We ordered a la carte, but in hindsight might have chosen the tasting menu, a great bargain at $55 for four courses, or $78 including wine pairings. In San Francisco (where this restaurant would do very well) the tasting menu would undoubtedly have run closer to $100 without wine, and been a fair value.

We enjoyed a Mirabelle salad with a wonderful, citrusy dressing, and a Caesar with parmesan scallops, a novel presentation of three large scallops in a crusty parmesan coating on a bed of traditionally dress Caesar saled. The mains were perfectly grilled duck breast in a rich cherry sauce served over a bed of toasted house made granola (trust me, a brilliant and inventive counterpoint to the velvety richness of the duck and sauce), and medallions of veal with morels, again nicely sauced and grilled to perfection. Both mains were flawless in execution and handsome and unfussy in presentation.

Highly recommended!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kai-Ala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

144 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    111
    18
    9
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“nice romantic meal!”
Reviewed June 24, 2014

This restaurant was recommended to us via a friend so we made a reservation for our anniversary. It is in a B and B and the restaurant was incredible. Nice touches exuded, from the pewter vases to the votive candle in a crystal dish to nicely appointed china and silver. We had the Chefs tasting menu (not with the wine pairing) and it was delicious from start to finish. We brought our own wine (corkage is $20.00) and we also started with a glass of champagne. Service was attentive, informative but not intrusive. We will go back. It is a small restaurant that has perhaps 7 to 8 tables. It was romantic and quiet and we enjoyed our meal and each others conversation.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Betsie49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Good food & friendly service”
Reviewed June 21, 2014

This is certainly one of the best restaurants in the Central Coast.All of the appetizers were very good but I thought the pork cheeks & bell pepper soup were exceptional.Really enjoyed the duck breast & scallops.If the chef could go a bit lighter on the sauce it would be perfect.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Mediocre food and service, stuffy attitude”
Reviewed June 20, 2014 via mobile

We went for a 50th Birthday dinner, for a girls weekend getaway. I researched TA and yelp for the best restaurant, and Mirabelle had the best reviews. We were underwhelmed.
We arrived to the restaurant, and were impressed by the outside. We walked in and immediately felt the stuffy, subdued atmosphere. We felt like kids walking into a library. We entered and were taken to a table in the middle of the room, next to the kitchen door. We are a gregarious group, so I asked for a table in the corner or along the wall. I was sharply informed " No, this is your table". The place was almost empty, but OK.

We ordered a bottle of wine that all of us enjoyed, they were out. They were gracious to offer a taste of something else. We ordered the beet salad and citrus salad, I think, for appetizers. The beet salad was tiny, but flavorful. We each ordered fish, and were not impressed at all. The sauce was good, but the fish was actually chewy.
I had read that the chocolate cake was amazing, so we ordered it, along with the berry cobbler. The berry cobbler was great, like an easy bake oven size. The chocolate cake was terrible, very dry, and lacking taste.
I was expecting a fabulous meal and experience for a dear friends celebration. We actually sang Happy Birthday in a whisper.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank hbscubagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great experience”
Reviewed June 15, 2014

We heard this was a good restaurant in Solvang so decided to try it, we were not disappointed. The setting, service and food was excellent. Everything was cooked perfectly. Definitely recommend it for couples or small families.

Reservations are recommended since it's a small restaurant. They lost our reservation but were still able to squeeze us in, but the place filled up quickly.

Prices were a bit high for the portions but it was worth it.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MarkHouston_Texas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mirabelle also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing