We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful mission, great grounds, interesting self-guided tour”

Old Mission Santa Ines
Ranked #1 of 56 things to do in Solvang
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Los Altos, California, United States
Level 6 Contributor
647 reviews
113 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Beautiful mission, great grounds, interesting self-guided tour”
Reviewed April 26, 2014

a beautiful mission on sweeping grounds that has been well preserved. The gift shop is nice and self-guided tour with audio recordings along the way really make the tour interesting. The mission is right next to downtown so a great break from shopping while in Solvang.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Rhett L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

401 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    176
    168
    50
    6
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
287 reviews
82 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
“A Quaint Piece of California History”
Reviewed April 21, 2014

When you get tired of the sun and the beach, head inland to this interesting old mission with it's beautiful garden, and well maintained chapel. While we were visiting someone was having a wedding, and it was fun to see the entire wedding party having their pictures taken. There are few plaques to read, but it is mostly an enjoyable stroll through a time in history. Enjoy the gardens, it's a one time visit type of destination (not really a repeat performance), but I am glad we stopped to enjoy an hour of so. We learned a little bit of Native American Indian & California history that we did not know, and I always enjoy learning something new!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelwithnise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“missable”
Reviewed April 16, 2014

small functioning church next to solvang, cute but very missable, not very much to see there. would not recommend

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tatibuma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, California
Level 6 Contributor
1,122 reviews
327 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 304 helpful votes
“AN OLD CALIFORNIA MISSION”
Reviewed March 31, 2014

The church is historic, yet well maintained. There are extensive grounds which include gardens and historic portions of the church.

We didn't get inside, but the view through the windows are impressive.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Chuck8700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanford, California
Level 6 Contributor
276 reviews
59 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Sunday afternoon visit”
Reviewed March 27, 2014

The mission is beautiful setting on a great piece of land just at the outskirts of Solvang, CA. The courtyard is outstanding with the green grass and fountains. We did not make it in time for the Sunday mass it had already started by the time we got there. We took the shelf guide tour which very interesting. The museum rooms tells the story of the mission very well. We did not stay to see the church since the mass was still going and we had other Central California Missions to visit. if you like history and the beauty of old buildings stop by this site.

Oh, spend some time in Solvang, CA it is a interesting Danish settlement. The buildings are all in the Danish design. Lot of small shop, wine tasting rooms, candy stores and restaurants.

It is a lot busier then you would think especially on a Sunday. The town does have tour buses that stop.

Was told the slowest day is Wednesday.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank PurpleDancingqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Mission Santa Ines also viewed

 

Been to Old Mission Santa Ines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing