We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“History of California comes alive!”

Old Mission Santa Ines
Ranked #1 of 53 things to do in Solvang
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
62 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“History of California comes alive!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

I have been to all of the California Missions and I like the grounds around this mission. Also the fact that it is adjacent to Solvang makes it very convenient. The women in the gift shop were quite nice, and the tour was also very educational as always. Learn about California through the mission history.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank nativecalifornian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    163
    158
    47
    6
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
59 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Close to Solvang, beautiful view of valley and mountains”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

This is the 19th of the 21 California missions. It is beautifully restored and has an interesting museum. There is a beautiful view of the Santa Ynez valley and Santa Ynez and San Rafael mountains. It is on the edge of the city of Solvang and close to the cities of Santa Ynez, Ballard, Los Olivos and Buellton. It is located on large beautiful grounds, however, there are no picnic tables.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Amanda V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rye, NY
Level Contributor
260 reviews
191 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“Nicely Restored”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

Although this mission is heavily restored, it is worth a visit. There are small rooms with artifacts from the original mission, and the signage provides a good understanding of the original design and purpose of this site. The interior of the church is beautiful as are the gardens.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank jj435Rye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giddings, Texas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Tranquil and serene”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

While the mission itself is not one of the most impressive I have been to (it is small), the gardens and grounds are beautiful, well-maintained and very tranquil and serene. I felt very at-peace during my visit and walk around the property, and particularly enjoyed speaking with the current Father as he walked into the gardens while I was there. The $5.00 price tag is great, making it very affordable for families or visitors with limited budgets.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank litlmissy65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Valley, Ca
Level Contributor
38 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Lovely church”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Went here for Easter Mass April 2013. Wonderful! I love history and visiting the CA missions. From the parking lot looking east over the farm fields, you can just imagine what the mission grounds might have looked like back in time. I had visited the museum previously. I don't remember anything in particular or special about this museum, so it must've been typical of so many of the other mission museums.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Caroleires
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Mission Santa Ines also viewed

 

Been to Old Mission Santa Ines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing