We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location, Value and Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Solvang
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Solvang
Reviewed January 23, 2010

The Holiday Inn Express lies on the edge of the tourist center of Solvang. It's not in the middle of town, but certainly walkable to all shops, restaurants and attractions.
The hotel is in two buildings and has recently been updated. Our room was newly renovated and could compare to any good hotel. We found the staff to be pleasant and helpful. The hotel has an outdoor pool.
The hotel has underground parking and a full free breakfast each morning.
Our view was a little odd as we looked into a office that was next door.
I would not hesitate to book this hotel again.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (466)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

391 - 397 of 466 reviews

Reviewed January 4, 2010

Recently, my girlfriend and I made a trip up to Solvang for a romantic weekend in wine country. Along the way we were unsure on where to stay in Solvang. So I asked a few friends and they mentioned the Holiday Inn Express.

Taking this advice we checked into the hotel. The front desk staff was extremely helpful, friendly, courteous, and knew that we were tired so they offered us a helping hand to our room. This was fantastic!

The room was extremely spacious and comfortable. The comfy bed, clean restroom, and warm showers only made our stay that much more comfortable.

If we ever needed anything (toiletries, towels, directions) the front desk was always there for help. Upon checking out the front desk staff was quick and efficient.

I would definitely stay here again. Solvang was a blast and staying at the Holiday Inn Express made our stay that much more memorable!!!

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JonathanMundy2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2009

We visited Solvang with the kids for a couple of days during the holiday break. Searched many different places and reviews and decided to book this hotel. The staff was helpful. The rooms were clean and well sized. Having a refrigerator and microwave was a plus too. It is in a good location with close walking distance to all of the Solvang attractions.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OC-Family-of-4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2009

Pros: great location, wonderful hot breakfast, rooms big and clean, nice assortment of toiletries, quiet rooms, nice views of the hills, ample free parking, tv comes with a lot channels

Cons: our tv was broken, front desk woman was not friendly

They did come and fix the tv while we were shopping. I just have to complain about the woman at the front desk. She was not warm and welcoming, but in the evening, the front desk (a man) was super friendly. It was strange because they couldn't have been different. Maybe she was just having a bad day. I do try to give people the benefit of the doubt. I liked that they gave us cold bottled water when we arrived.

The breakfast was FANTASTIC! Yogurt, eggs (hard boiled and scrambled), biscuits, sausage, cereal, bagels, toast, muffins, english muffins, fruit, peanut butter, milk, coffee, and an assortment of juices. My husband and I were very pleased with everything. They kept restocking which is very nice because I know a lot of hotels don't restock often enough.

Overall I would recommend this hotel. We would stay again if we ever visit Solvang again.

Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
Thank CaliLuvr1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2009

Stayed one night. Staff was friendly, room was clean enough but the furnishings could use a refreshing. We needed extra towels (four in each room), but they were out and could only offer small towels.

Internet and parking are free.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FKS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2009

Excellent Hotel for our dollar. Newly remodeled rooms and hotel. Balcony with nice views. Very nice anity area near bathroom

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank srjurado21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2009

This hotel offers great value for your dollar. The hotel and rooms are newly remodeled with excellent decor. The vanity area near the bathroom is especially elegant. I would reccommend this hotel to anyone and plan on staying here again. Our king room even had a balcony with a beautiful view of the surrounding hills.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smdjurados
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Solvang hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Corque
Hotel Corque
#1 of 11 in Solvang
827 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hadsten House
Hadsten House
#3 of 11 in Solvang
927 reviews
0.2 mi away
Wine Valley Inn & Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Landsby
The Landsby
#2 of 11 in Solvang
279 reviews
0.3 mi away
King Frederik Inn
King Frederik Inn
#6 of 11 in Solvang
267 reviews
0.5 mi away
Svendsgaard's Lodge - Americas Best Value Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Solvang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Solvang

Address: 1455 Mission Dr, Solvang, CA 93463-2915
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Solvang
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Solvang
Price Range: $121 - $270 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Solvang 2.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come discover the preferred destination of travelers visiting the Santa Ynez Valley, the Holiday Inn Express Solvang. We are centrally located in the Danish Town of Solvang, walking distance to all of its major attractions. It is best known for its shopping, restaurants, chocolate factories and wine tasting rooms! Our hotel is centrally located within Santa Barbara County's Wine Valley. The Holiday Inn Express Solvang is within minutes to Vandenberg Air Force Base, renowned Wineries such as Firestone, Gainey, Buttonwood and Rusack. If you are a golf enthusiast then make the Holiday Inn Express Solvang your golfing headquarters. With our Monthly Golf Packages, you can golf at courses such as The Alisal River Course and La Purisima Golf Course.Our hotel is conveniently located just 30 minutes from the city of Santa Barbara, 20 minutes from Vandenberg Air Force Base and 30 minutes away from Santa Maria. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Solvang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Solvang Hotel Solvang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing