We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great hotel, great location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Solvang

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Solvang
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Solvang
Highland, California
Level Contributor
148 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great hotel, great location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

Stayed here for one night. Were given cookies upon check in. Parking was nice and elevators took us right up to our rooms. Had to use our keys several times to get to our rooms. Rooms were spacious and everything was quiet. Good location and will stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SergioVazquez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheriKreskyGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Solvang, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Hello,

I am so happy to hear you enjoyed our rooms and cookies upon arrival..

We strive to make everyone's stay a happy memory.

Solvang it a terrific location and we are happy to be right in the beauty of it all.

Please come back to visit us soon!!

Thank you,
Sheri Kresky
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    166
    97
    31
    28
See reviews for
136
163
13
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chippenham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
367 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Not the best hotel we've ever stayed in, but it was OK for one night. Stairs up to most rooms and I did not notice any lifts. The outdoor pool is quite small, and in a very prominent location out front of the hotel, quite near the main road. A fair amount of traffic noise. The room itself was fine with good beds, wi-fi, flat-screen TV. The en-suite only had a fairly feeble shower, and the towels were thin & quite small. On the plus side, the (hot) breakfast was included, and it was a pretty decent affair with pancakes, eggs, toast, fresh fruit etc and somewhere to sit and eat it.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the road are, obviously, quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheriKreskyGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Solvang, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Hello Andy,

Thank you for your review and for staying with us. I appreciate your likes and dislikes. I use these comments to improve in all areas. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed the location, breakfast and beds. We do in fact have elevators located in each building.

Again, thank you and we value and respect all of our guest comments.

Sheri Kresky
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
47 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

Easy walk to amazing restaurants and shops with Danish architecture. Fantastic views out the back of a giant oak grove. Rooms are clean and the beds are Holiday Inn comfortable. Breakfast is the same at every HIE with powder eggs and cinnamon rolls plus fresh fruit.

Room Tip: Rooms 102 to 120 have great balconies on the even numbered side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tc3trainer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheriKreskyGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Solvang, responded to this review, July 6, 2014
Hello,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

I am happy you enjoyed our beds and breakfast. Solvang is very unique and has some amazing shops and sites.

Please come see us again in the future.

Thank you,
Sheri Kresky
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, California, USA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

I have to tell you I don't get impressed very easy but I had the chance to stay in this Holiday Inn very unique, when we arrived at this place looks magical like if you are in Europe with a beautiful Danish style park and houses and stores, all the homes looked like cookie houses. to make a long story short, you can walk just about anywhere, including shops, pizza, bars, Chinese food, and the people very nice and friendly at the hotel, the rooms very clean and the stay was very nice, I will come back here in two seconds, even my wife told me why don't we stay a little bit more so we can enjoy the hotel and the city, don't forget breakfast in the morning it is very delicious and the people are so friendly to help you get anything they can, overall you have to go there and see it for yourself, I wasn't expecting it to be this beautiful.

Room Tip: Any room will do because the Hotel it is so convenient in location and services.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ely G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheriKreskyGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Solvang, responded to this review, July 6, 2014
Hello,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

I am happy that you enjoyed your stay here and go to experience the fantastic food we have here in Solvang.

Please come back very soon!!

Thank you,
Sheri Kresky
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, Arizona
Level Contributor
160 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

Nice big clean room. Typical of the chain. Had a lovely balcony that looked out into a wooded area. Walking distance to the quaint little shops. Just thoroughly enjoyed the quietness, the staff was helpful. Would go back for sure.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelisfun2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheriKreskyGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Solvang, responded to this review, July 6, 2014
Hello,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review the hotel and I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed the room that overlooks the park area.

Please come back and see us soon!

Thank you,
Sheri Kresky
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lillehammer, Norway
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014 via mobile

Came to Solvang in the evening. Everything was closed so we decided to stay for the night to see this beautiful town the next day. Found this nice hotel in the center of the town. Very nice staff, nice and clean everywhere, big rooms, swimmingpool and danish rolls for breakfast. As norwegian we are not used to sweets for breakfast, but here it worked out very well concidering the surroundings. I would absolutely recommend this hotel!

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Siv672014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheriKreskyGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Solvang, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Dear Lilliehammer,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your review of our hotel, we most definitely appreciate the recognition.

Happy to hear that you enjoyed the swimming pool and our breakfast before taking in the town of Solvang.

I hope you had a wonderful time here in America and will come back again soon!

Thanks again,
Sheri Kresky
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
Level Contributor
258 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

This is the nicest one we've stayed in and ended up staying 2 nights on our way up the coast and another night on our way home. Very clean, wonderful location, and very friendly staff. The breakfast was good - loved the pancake machine! Wish I had one at my house!

Room Tip: Choose a room on the back of the hotel to avoid road noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LovemyAcura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheriKreskyGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Solvang, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Dear LoveMyAcura,

Thank you so much for the lovely 5 star review. We take pride in our unique hotel in this very beautiful town of Solvang, and are overjoyed when recognized for our efforts. I am so happy you enjoyed your stay and yes, that pancake machine is magical!

Come back and see us soon!

Thanks again,
Sheri Kresky
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Solvang
0.2 mi away
Wine Valley Inn & Cottages
0.5 mi away
Hotel Corque
Hotel Corque
#1 of 10 in Solvang
4.5 of 5 stars 658 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hadsten House
Hadsten House
#3 of 10 in Solvang
4.5 of 5 stars 828 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
King Frederik Inn
King Frederik Inn
#6 of 10 in Solvang
4.0 of 5 stars 211 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Landsby
The Landsby
#2 of 10 in Solvang
4.5 of 5 stars 165 reviews
2.9 mi away
Quality Inn Santa Ynez Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Solvang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Solvang

Property: Holiday Inn Express Solvang
Address: 1455 Mission Dr, Solvang, CA 93463-2915
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Solvang
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Solvang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Solvang 2.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come discover the preferred destination of travelers visiting the Santa Ynez Valley, the Holiday Inn Express Solvang. We are centrally located in the Danish Town of Solvang, walking distance to all of its major attractions. It is best known for its shopping, restaurants, chocolate factories and wine tasting rooms! Our hotel is centrally located within Santa Barbara County's Wine Valley. The Holiday Inn Express Solvang is within minutes to Vandenberg Air Force Base, renowned Wineries such as Firestone, Gainey, Buttonwood and Rusack. If you are a golf enthusiast then make the Holiday Inn Express Solvang your golfing headquarters. With our Monthly Golf Packages, you can golf at courses such as The Alisal River Course and La Purisima Golf Course.Our hotel is conveniently located just 30 minutes from the city of Santa Barbara, 20 minutes from Vandenberg Air Force Base and 30 minutes away from Santa Maria. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Solvang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Solvang Hotel Solvang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing