We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sleepless in Solvang”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Solvang
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Solvang
Reviewed December 11, 2012

We stayed at this hotel while visiting the wine country. We just needed a place for the night. We checked in late and the staff was helpful and our rooms were waiting for us. We were given a room on the first floor facing the main road. We managed to fall asleep for about an hour only to be awakened by unruly guests and kids playing in the hallway. When it finally got quiet in the hallway, the road traffic got heavier and it was impossible to get back to a full night sleep. Hallway is in dire need of a new carpet. Rooms should have two full set of towels. Breakfast was the typical Holiday Inn Express Fare. Sorry but never again at this location or at least in any room 101 to 124.

Room Tip: Do not stay in Rooms 101 to 124
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pascalphx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa W, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Solvang, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2012

Dear pascalphx,

Thanks for taking the time to let us know what you thought of our hotel. We really do appreciate it!
I’m very disappointed to hear about your experience on your recent stay. Please do let us know next time you experience noise in the hallways, we will be able to take control of the situation.
We hope that you can schedule another trip to the Valley, as there is always so much to do. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Thank you,
Lisa Walter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (457)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express Solvang
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

253 - 259 of 457 reviews

Reviewed December 8, 2012

I wasn't disappointed by the HIE Solvang, nor was I totally impressed. So in fairness a 3 out of 5 review.

The pluses. The breakfast meets the HIE standard. I appreciate having boiled eggs because the bagged scrambled eggs that are re-heated never really taste like scrambled eggs. So having real eggs in the form of boiled eggs is appreciated. The bathroom was clean. The room is ok. The hotel is not a motel but the rooms are conveniently accessed by multiple entrances in a quasi-motel like format. The internet connection was reasonably fast. Front desk staff and service was good. Staff are friendly.

The minuses. No fitness center. Most HIE's I stay at have fitness centers. It's hard enough being on the road without having the annoyance of staying at a hotel with no fitness centre. The room is ok, could use a bit of updated. The windows badly need upgrading to sound-proof windows. Road noise permeates into the hotel rooms making it difficult for light sleepers. I found myself wide awake in the early morning when road traffice resumed on the roadway. For a Motel 6, no problem with this level of noise. But for a HIE, inexcusable. In terms of prioritization for upgrades, I'd recommend the hotel upgrade the windows before upgrading the rooms. Soundproofing is needed to help mitigate the road noise. Minor nitpick and this is something I never comment on but it was apparent to me. The toilet paper was a rough one-ply toilet paper unbefitting the HIE brand. I had never noticed toilet paper before in hotels because typically it's soft. At HIE Solvang, the toilet paper was good to write on but not really good to use for it's intended purpose. It probably helps the hotel cut its costs in using this low-grade toilet paper, but at what cost in customer satisaction (dissatisfaction)?

Room Tip: Stay away from any rooms at the front of the hotel to avoid the road noise that permeates into the r...
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cabbagetown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa W, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Solvang, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2012

Dear Cabbagetown,

Thank you for your recent review on Tripadvisor.
I'm happy to hear you enjoyed our complimentary hot American breafast, service of our staff as well as our high speed internet.

In regards to your comment of a fitness center, I think it would be a good asset to our lovely hotel, although most guests coming to Solvang usually like to walk around town. I apologize
for the noise leven you experienced during your stay. Hopefully next time you visit us we could
accommodate you on our park side.

We do hope to see you again when you are travelling to Solvang.
Thank you,

Lisa Walter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2012

The front desk clerk was very nice and the complementary breakfast was tasty but neither of those things would convince me to stay at this hotel again. Like many hotels in Solvang, it fronts on a relatively busy road so we paid a little extra for a room in the back with a view of the park. Should be tranquil, right? Instead this was the noisiest hotel I have ever stayed in. There was a constant rumble which can only be likened to sleeping on a plane & listening to the engines roar. I am one of those people who can sleep any where, any time, but this kept even me up. There is really no point in listing other pros & cons because if you can't sleep in a hotel, what is the point?

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karen89178
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa W, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Solvang, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2012

Dear karen89178,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a detailed review. I’m very disappointed to hear about your experience on your recent stay. I just want to assure you that our Hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product. I apologize that we fell below your expectations on this particular day. I do hope you decide to give us another chance for a future stay.

Thank you,
Lisa Walter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2012

Good location, clean room and bath. All Esat you expect from a hotel that you soulda stay one night.
We where a Group'da of three elderly couples on our way to Los Angeles. We made our reservations aerler on through a travel agency and should be thankful for the choice. We had time to enjoy the ferah produce and fruit market nearby.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Candan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa W, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Solvang, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2012

Dear Candan A,

Thanks for staying with us. It's nice to hear that the location was ideal and that you enjoyed our clean room and bathroom. If you return to the area in the future, please consider staying with us again.

Thank you,
Lisa Walter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

Holiday Inns are always dependable as to location, cleanliness and comfort. This Holiday Inn had the rudest, most no cooperative staff I've ever encountered. The pricing of 179.00 a night is ridiculous for the value, but Solvang is not cheap. The poor management is inexcusable.

Room Tip: The best room you can choose is at another hotel.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheTardisTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa W, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Solvang, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2012

Dear TheTardisTraveler,

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review about the hotel. I am sorry that your review is not a positive one. It is our goal at the hotel for our guest to experience a clean room and a problem free stay.
Our management team has reviewed your comments and will take your feedback very seriously. Thank you for sharing your comments and concerns.
We hope to see you again soon when your travels bring you back to the area.

Thank you,
Lisa Walter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

I enjoyed my stay here and found it very clean and relaxing. The lobby as well as the rooms are very clean and close to all the wonderful shops of Solvang. Very enjoyable and will consider this Holiday Inn Express to make my next stay fun as well as a good place to rest!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EvelynSpeaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa W, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Solvang, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2012

Dear EvelynSpeaks,

Thank you for taking the time to write a great review on Tripadvisor!
We are glad you enjoyed your stay and you recognize that our hotel
is clean and gives you time to relax.
Please do consider to stay with us again on your next visit to Solvang!

Thank you!
Lisa Walter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Great location. I stayed 1 night on a business trip heading to Santa Maria. The room was spacious and clean. Modern flat screen HD T.V. and large clean bathroom. Walking distance to nice restaurant, I ate across the street at a nice steakhouse (Hadsten House) ........very nice and price reasonable. Breakfast was better than usual, they had a mini fridge holding small cartons of milk (nice touch) and hard boiled eggs. Good hot food including omlettes and sausage patties.

Would stay here again, was a nice experience.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JerryK281
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa W, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Solvang, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2012

Dear Jerry K,
Thank you for taking the time to place your comment on TripAdvisor, we realize you have many choices in where you stay in the market, and appreciate your positive feedback.
We are happy to have met your expectations and glad to hear you enjoyed our breakfast as well as our spacious rooms!
We hope to see you again soon when your travels bring you back to the area.
Thank you,
Lisa Walter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Solvang hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Corque
Hotel Corque
#1 of 11 in Solvang
804 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hadsten House
Hadsten House
#3 of 11 in Solvang
918 reviews
0.2 mi away
Wine Valley Inn & Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Landsby
The Landsby
#2 of 11 in Solvang
264 reviews
0.3 mi away
King Frederik Inn
King Frederik Inn
#6 of 11 in Solvang
261 reviews
0.5 mi away
Svendsgaard's Lodge - Americas Best Value Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Solvang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Solvang

Address: 1455 Mission Dr, Solvang, CA 93463-2915
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Solvang
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Solvang
Price Range: $141 - $311 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Solvang 2.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come discover the preferred destination of travelers visiting the Santa Ynez Valley, the Holiday Inn Express Solvang. We are centrally located in the Danish Town of Solvang, walking distance to all of its major attractions. It is best known for its shopping, restaurants, chocolate factories and wine tasting rooms! Our hotel is centrally located within Santa Barbara County's Wine Valley. The Holiday Inn Express Solvang is within minutes to Vandenberg Air Force Base, renowned Wineries such as Firestone, Gainey, Buttonwood and Rusack. If you are a golf enthusiast then make the Holiday Inn Express Solvang your golfing headquarters. With our Monthly Golf Packages, you can golf at courses such as The Alisal River Course and La Purisima Golf Course.Our hotel is conveniently located just 30 minutes from the city of Santa Barbara, 20 minutes from Vandenberg Air Force Base and 30 minutes away from Santa Maria. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, IHG, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Solvang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Solvang Hotel Solvang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing