We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice and well located”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Solvang
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Solvang
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Nice and well located”
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Nice and well located, you will be 15min by foot of the main street with all stores, etc... Nice room, big and clean. Lcd 32'', refrigerator and microwave. Nice small pool and a jacuzzi outside. Free parking, internet, breakfast.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank PtkFerraro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamesh N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Solvang, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Dear PtkFerraro,

Thank you for your review. We are glad your family enjoyed and appreciated all the amenities provided in the room, which are designed to cater to all the travelling guests.

We are happy you recognized our hotel is in walking distance of the entire town of Solvang.

We appreciate your business,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

436 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    175
    103
    34
    31
See reviews for
147
173
13
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights and was a little nervous because of other negative reviews. We have stayed in other HIE and have always had a good experience. This hotel is older and and could use updating, but that being said we were pleased with our room. When we arrived we were given our room keys, but when we went to our rooms they were still being cleaned, so were immediately given other rooms with no problem. The beds were comfortable, room clean, liked that we had a fridge and microwave. We did have a patio, but the view needed to be cleaned up and we were facing a building. But we didn't go to Solvang to stay in our room and I didn't have a problem with it. As usual the breakfast was good, large dining area and very clean.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nationalparksgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamesh N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Solvang, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Dear nationalparksgal,

We are glad that you have enjoyed our large, clean and comfortable rooms with great amenities.
We have noted your comments and we will use them as pointers towards training and upgrading.

We appreciate your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We hadn't booked anywhere to stay when we arrived in Solvang after a day of travelling along the coast. We decided to ask for a room at the Holiday Inn Express as we knew the standard would be okay. The rate was very reasonable and the desk staff helpful. We had a room in the far block and the lift was rather bare and grubby, more like a service lift. The room size was good but smelt a bit of smoke and the bed sagged in the middle so neither of us slept very well! Position of the hotel is good. Breakfast was also nice, though the room felt rather like a canteen with no atmosphere!

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the block closest to the reception area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CraigOsblack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamesh N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Solvang, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Thank you for staying with us. It's great to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that the location was ideal for your travels. We hope to be your preferred hotel for any future trips to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Lake Tahoe, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

We chose this hotel because pictures showed creek and views of oak trees despite the expense ($250 a night). View turned out to be of a block wall on the main street but the view didn't matter the windows were almost opaque, dirty. The bathroom was moldy and the tub old and chipped . The whole place needs a major renovation. We complained about the room and the front desk offered to take $20 off the bill and said they would tell the management. I felt it was just a brush off. Breakfast was good usual hotel buffet

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kathryn530
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamesh N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Solvang, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a detailed review. I’m very disappointed to hear about your experience on your recent stay. I just want to assure you that our Hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product. I apologize that we fell below your expectations on this particular day. I do hope you decide to give us another chance for a future stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Solvang hotels

Los Angeles
Level Contributor
106 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012

I am a Priority club member so stay in HIE or one of the family of hotels whenever I travel.
This hotel was perhaps a little tired in the decor department but was quite clean and the bed was comfortable. Our room,facing away from the road, was quiet. Breakfast is included and there was quite a good choice of the usual breakfast foods:- eggs, bacon, biscuits and gravy, fruit, yogurt and cereal as well as cinnamon rolls, croissants and toast.
It is a good place to base yourself for the Santa Ynez wine trail.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CRM13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamesh N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Solvang, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Dear CRM13,

Thank you for being a Priority Club Member, we appreciate your loyalty and are happy we were able to meet your expectations during your last visit.

We appreciate your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sun City, California, United States
Level Contributor
454 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Very Nice Holiday Express. Backs up to a small stream out back. It is well kept up & has friendly staff. This hotel has a neat set of rooms with lofts that our daughter loves. The breakfast is good (eggs, bacon, fruits, breads, pancake maker cereal juice etc) They have a nice heated pool & jacuzzi outside. Covered parking with elevator to lobby & rooms. Have stayed here many time & experience has always been the same Great quality & value. If your going to stay at holiday properties... make sure to join the priority club. The points add up real fast & there are no black-out days. (we just used some to stay in Phoenix area over the holiday for free)

Room Tip: I like staying on the backside... is quieter & offers nice views of the canyon behind the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christopher W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamesh N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Solvang, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Dear Christopher W,

Thank you for being a loyal Holiday Inn Express guest, we are thrilled that you liked our amenities including the pool and jacuzzi. We appreciate your understanding and encouraging
other guests to sign up for Priority Club, which is a great and very unique loyalty program.

We appreciate your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mousemommy
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2012

We went on a family trip to Solvang early August. My parents stayed at the Holiday inn express and we stayed at an inn just around the city center. We paid $40 more per night for our inn, and were kinda jealous of the room, amenities and breakfast that my parents received during their stay. I am not sure about the comments about the rooms needing "updating" as my parents room had a comfortable modern feeling to it. All the furniture looked brand new and everything was super clean(I am a very picky person when it comes to CLEAN). The ac looked new and worked great, and my parents had a large balcony that overlooked a large grassy area - very quiet and relaxing! All of the staff we came in contact with were friendly and all the common areas were clean and updated as well. The pool is small, but heated and felt wonderful! and towels were provided. My parents had a full american breakfast that kept being replenished during the breakfast hours and when we ordered a pizza at night we were able to sit in the breakfast room and eat comfortably with free water and lemonade to drink.
We wish we had stayed here. Next time we will know better!
Keep up the good work!

Room Tip: The rooms with the balconies are nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mousemommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamesh N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Solvang, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Dear mousemommy,

Thank you for recognizing our hotel as one of the best in Solvang.
That is exactly how me and my team feel. Next time, please do bring your parents and
stay at our hotel. We are always happy to create great memories for our guests.

Thank you,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Solvang hotels
0.2 mi away
Wine Valley Inn & Cottages
0.1 mi away
Hadsten House
Hadsten House
#3 of 10 in Solvang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 879 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Corque
Hotel Corque
#1 of 10 in Solvang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
King Frederik Inn
King Frederik Inn
#6 of 10 in Solvang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Landsby
The Landsby
#2 of 10 in Solvang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kronborg Inn
Kronborg Inn
#7 of 10 in Solvang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Solvang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Solvang

Property: Holiday Inn Express Solvang
Address: 1455 Mission Dr, Solvang, CA 93463-2915
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Solvang
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Solvang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Solvang 2.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come discover the preferred destination of travelers visiting the Santa Ynez Valley, the Holiday Inn Express Solvang. We are centrally located in the Danish Town of Solvang, walking distance to all of its major attractions. It is best known for its shopping, restaurants, chocolate factories and wine tasting rooms! Our hotel is centrally located within Santa Barbara County's Wine Valley. The Holiday Inn Express Solvang is within minutes to Vandenberg Air Force Base, renowned Wineries such as Firestone, Gainey, Buttonwood and Rusack. If you are a golf enthusiast then make the Holiday Inn Express Solvang your golfing headquarters. With our Monthly Golf Packages, you can golf at courses such as The Alisal River Course and La Purisima Golf Course.Our hotel is conveniently located just 30 minutes from the city of Santa Barbara, 20 minutes from Vandenberg Air Force Base and 30 minutes away from Santa Maria. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and Hotel.de so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Solvang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Solvang Hotel Solvang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing