We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good bargain”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Solvang
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Solvang
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A good bargain”
Reviewed June 4, 2012

The price is right for a clean room in Solvang. The staff is helpful and friendly. Nothing fancy but it worked out well for me.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KenIz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

439 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    175
    104
    35
    31
See reviews for
147
176
13
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
York N. Yorkshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2012

Our second visit to Solvang, this quaint not to be missed small town of Danish heritage. Best to arrive after dark to experience the wow factor, the spectacle of fairy lights and 'gingerbread' properties. It feels like Christmas celebration every day! Most of its accomodation is on a motel style, we prefer hotel and therefore chose Holiday Inn Express with excellent underground parking. Despite being busy, our welcome was a very friendly experience by Jeremiah who assisted with our restaurant requirements and hotel services including the customary bottled water. He provided us with a large family room to the rear of the hotel, which offered a fine nights sleep and all the facilities we required with good housekeeping, the added attraction being the balconied rural open view to the rear of the property. Breakfast was a standard for this type of accomodation.and we found the staff very pleasant.
However this hotel stands out from the rest for us by way of the first rate after care service provided by its staff to guests. Our young son left an all important item in the room as we left, and a young lady, Jessica, went over and beyond the call of duty to ensure some time later that the two were re-united, US to UK! In our experience this was excepional service to receive from a hotel and we say Thank You. It is quite something to feel you were an important visitor even after you have left. We hope to visit again soon.

Room Tip: Rooms to the rear have balconied open rural views
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Midders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2012

We stayed for two night for a weekend getaway. We got in early and tried to check in and after wating in line the people in front of us were checked in and given water bottles and chocolates. When I approached I was told to come back later. A few hours later I again waited in line and watched as the people in front of us were fawned over and given water and chocolates. When I approached the front desk I was checked in and felt like the gal could barely give me the time of day. Yes, I felt slighted.
Bed was comfortable, room was stuffyf and smelled like stale cigarettes and found spiders in the tub.

Room Tip: The pickings are slim as far as middle of the road rooms in Solvang.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hockeyfan3144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Solvang, responded to this review, June 24, 2012
Dear hockeyfan3144,

Thank you for staying with us. Our hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product and for this reason your comments are very troubling and will certainly be looked into. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.


Sincerely,
Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Solvang hotels

San Antonio, Tx
Level Contributor
100 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2012

Hotel front desk needs more training in writing clearly. Internet coordinates were illegible.
parking is underground. Electrical outlets in room were loose and hard to put plugs in and keep them connected. Electricity in sink area went out. This is an older building, converted to hotel space. It is just ok, but certainly not great.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sataviolet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Solvang, responded to this review, June 29, 2012
Dear Sataviolet,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments about our facility and your stay. We are pleased you liked the convenient location of our hotel. I would like to offer a sincere apology for seeing you did not enjoy your overall experience with us. We believe we can only improve our services through our guest feedback.

Thank you again for choosing to stay with us and we hope you will consider staying with us again and see the improvements made.

Sincerely,

Bon V.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2012 via mobile

We were staying here for one night for 1/2 marathon in town. Check-in was okay but i wouldnt say she was friendly or overly helpful. The room smelled like an old hotel room. There were gross stains on the hotel curtains. The toilet wouldn't flush but they did send someone to fix the chain in the tank but by the following am it was broken again. There was something black above the doorway in the bathroom. The water in the shower would be fine and then would get scalding hot. There is still the popcorn ceilings and decorations from 1980. We were so disappointed and disgusted on the lack of upkeep. The only positive was the bed was comfy. I guess that's the only thing they ever replaced. We won't ever stay here again or recommend.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank momtravel4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Solvang, responded to this review, June 23, 2012
Dear momtravel4,

Thank you for posting a review of our property. I am glad to hear that you liked our comfortable sleeping accommodations. We strive to be the best in our industry however, it seems that we failed to do so during your stay. We’re sorry you were not fully satisfied with the condition of the room you received. I have taken note and wish to thank you for all your valuable comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually.

I hope that you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,
Irish V
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2012 via mobile

So found 2 rooms on Hotwiremfor $491. Ok, pretty pricey for a one night stay for 2 rooms, but that isn't the problem. At check in, I was assured that hotwire only charged me for 1/2 of the $491 and that my card didn't go through for the balance. The attendant assured me that she would charge the other $240 to my card again but it would not affect my total of $491. Sure enough, and as I suspected, she charged me an additional $240 on top of the $491. Time to call holiday inn again and then call the credit card company, frustrating!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chirishesq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Solvang, responded to this review, June 29, 2012
Dear Chirishesq,

Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay at Holiday Inn Express Solvang. It is regrettable you were not satisfied with the service you received. I would like to address this with you further. I have sent you a private message to obtain more information about your stay. I look forward to hearing from you and being of further assistance.

Sincerely,

Bon V.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2012

We regularly stay at holiday inn hotels, we are priority club members, but we will never use this hotel again. On arrival we were greeted by by a very unkempt receptionist, dirty shirt and fingernails and he had what I can only describe as a very strange manner. The hotel is made up of a series of buildings joined by internal and external walkways, the first room we were given was in the B block, on arriving at the room we checked the bed because of previous reviews, as it turned out we were glad we did as it was full of hairs, it was disgusting. On returning to reception to complain, the above mentioned receptionist apologised and offered us an upgrade to a two room suite,however on arrival at the said suite we found it to be an attic like room, but by this time we had had enough so just kept this room it was cleaner than the last, although still not up to the usual holiday inn standard. Breakfast was good though, I had the Danish pastries and found them to be as good as any on offer in the town.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank hipnhappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Solvang, responded to this review, June 11, 2012
Dear hipnhappy,

Thank you for staying with us. We hope you liked our hotel location. Our hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product and for this reason your comments are very troubling and will certainly be looked into. While we understand that your room accommodations were not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask.

Sincerely,
Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Solvang hotels
0.2 mi away
Wine Valley Inn & Cottages
0.1 mi away
Hadsten House
Hadsten House
#3 of 10 in Solvang
888 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Corque
Hotel Corque
#1 of 10 in Solvang
774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
King Frederik Inn
King Frederik Inn
#6 of 10 in Solvang
243 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Landsby
The Landsby
#2 of 10 in Solvang
238 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kronborg Inn
Kronborg Inn
#7 of 10 in Solvang
416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Solvang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Solvang

Property: Holiday Inn Express Solvang
Address: 1455 Mission Dr, Solvang, CA 93463-2915
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Solvang
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Solvang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Solvang 2.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come discover the preferred destination of travelers visiting the Santa Ynez Valley, the Holiday Inn Express Solvang. We are centrally located in the Danish Town of Solvang, walking distance to all of its major attractions. It is best known for its shopping, restaurants, chocolate factories and wine tasting rooms! Our hotel is centrally located within Santa Barbara County's Wine Valley. The Holiday Inn Express Solvang is within minutes to Vandenberg Air Force Base, renowned Wineries such as Firestone, Gainey, Buttonwood and Rusack. If you are a golf enthusiast then make the Holiday Inn Express Solvang your golfing headquarters. With our Monthly Golf Packages, you can golf at courses such as The Alisal River Course and La Purisima Golf Course.Our hotel is conveniently located just 30 minutes from the city of Santa Barbara, 20 minutes from Vandenberg Air Force Base and 30 minutes away from Santa Maria. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Hotel.de, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Solvang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Solvang Hotel Solvang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing