We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unique hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Wine Valley Inn & Cottages
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Solvang
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Unique hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2010

A very unique, small hotel. After our plans changed, I called and they moved us to exactly the kind of room we needed. They have lots of different types of rooms available. Quaint and cozy, easy walk to restaurants. We were on the third floor, and the elevator only goes to the second floor, so one must lug bags up stairs.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Molly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    363
    422
    227
    114
    57
See reviews for
237
623
31
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (325)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
190 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 504 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2010

Where can you get a unique room (every room is different), 2 tickets to a fantastic musical or play, a nice bottle of wine, a nice continental breakfast, and a $50 Gift Amex Gift Card all for about $238. The Wine Valley Inn. The Hotel was purchased several years ago (use to be called the Chimney Sweep), and we have seen it evolve from a interesting local "eclectic" motel with some very interesting but funky rooms, to a AAA 3 Diamond Hotel, with a Gym, beautifully kept grounds, updated rooms (HD TV's, New Furnishings, updated bathrooms, new lobby, new breakfast room, and a pro staff. Simply Park your car at the Hotel, and walk to every destination in Solvang. The only place you would need to drive is the Chumash Casino (10 minutes away), or the Hitching Post Restaurant (also 10 minutes away). We got hooked on the professional PCPA Outdoor Theatre, with top rate performances, that compare to any Theater production around. What would cost you $50-$100 per ticket in L.A. is less than $25 for the PCPA, and you will not be disappointed, or I would not be writing this recommendation (I do not like being disappointed). So if you add up what it would cost to buy two tics to a professional musical or play, a nice bottle of wine with glasses delivered to your room, continental breakfast, plus a $50 AMEX gift card to use for dinner or whatever you like. Then you know it is a great deal. Ask for the PCPA Theater Package (Summer months only). They also have Wine Packages, Romance Packages, and Golf Packages. There is also a miniature horse farm about 15 minutes outside a town, which is a must to stop by and visit (it is free), and is a working ranch.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Critics_Critic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2010

My family joined me on a business trip to Solvang. The hotel is centrally located in town and walking distance to all of the shops, bakeries and restaurants. The room was clean and comfortable and the renovated bathroom and shower were great - we liked the rainfall shower head.

We happened to be there when a heat wave hit and the wall mounted AC unit was very noisy but kept the room cool. We also wished we could open a window since we were on the 2nd floor. The continental breakfast was decent for those not inclined to go across the street to Paula's for pancakes or to the other fine bakeries and restaurants.

We went to see the miniature horses who are east of town - the gentleman at the front desk gave us great directions - less then 10 minutes away. They were very cute and well worth a visit even if you don't have children. The Mission just east of town is also one of the better ones we've seen.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tiznow13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
98 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2010

We asked for a quiet room but I am not sure that such a thing exists at this inn. On the third floor, the room was away from the street noise, but the walls between the rooms must be made of cardboard. Our neighbors' conversations were clear as a bell, and noise from other parts of the hotel was audible as well. The room had recently been upgraded with a very nice bathroom. I don't think we will return here.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelbug35805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy, California
Level Contributor
102 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2010

It had been two years since our last visit to Solvang and the Wine Valley Inn and it is still as delightful as ever. The staff was very friendly and helpful, and did not bat an eye to get us another room that did not have a noisy fan. The room was spacious, with a vaulted ceiling and a beautiful bath/show area. I highly recommend the Wine Valley Inn.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rmkahn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2010

We stayed here in mid-Sept and didn't even know we would be there for this great anniversary festival! If you can, stay in a cottage. It is a completely different experience than staying in any other type of room. What a luxury to have a private jacuzzi and then off the kitchen area was a small balcony where we could sit outside at night and watch the shooting stars. September is the time of year for this. Just an overall good experience (staff, room, check-in) and our pup had a great time too! The free breakfast is certainly ample as well but with so much good food in town don't fill up! A small downside, cottages book up way in advance and usually require a 2 or 3 night stay, depending on the weekend/holiday. It is very hard to find a time where you can get a cottage for just one night.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LisaPerlman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2010

The free breakfast included pastries, juices and cereals; an excellent way to start the day. Parking was not a problem - they had room in the front, back and on the streets. Our room was small but fit our big dog (black lab) with no problems and we were in the 2nd floor section away from the main building. The beds were comfortable and the TV had all the good channels. It was the busy weekend (Memorial Day) but the hotel was quiet. They had a small but quaint garden in the back where the cottages were located. The hotel was the perfect place to start our bike trip around the city and it's not too far from all the vineyards we wanted to go to with the dog. It was $25/night for the dog, no wt limitations.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ianatbragg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Solvang
0.3 mi away
Hotel Corque
Hotel Corque
#1 of 10 in Solvang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 752 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Landsby
The Landsby
#2 of 10 in Solvang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hadsten House
Hadsten House
#3 of 10 in Solvang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
King Frederik Inn
King Frederik Inn
#6 of 10 in Solvang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Solvang
3.9 mi away
Santa Ynez Inn
Santa Ynez Inn
#1 of 3 in Santa Ynez
5.0 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wine Valley Inn & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wine Valley Inn & Cottages

Property: Wine Valley Inn & Cottages
Address: 1564 Copenhagen Dr, Solvang, CA 93463
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Solvang
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Solvang
#5 Family Hotel in Solvang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Wine Valley Inn & Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Santa Ynez Valley...scenic vistas, vintage charm. Located on an acre of meandering gardens with a Koi pond, the Wine Valley Inn offers old-world hospitality with a variety of accommodations for every taste and budget. The Wine Valley Inn is located in the Danish village of Solvang, within easy walking distance of many wine tasting rooms and within 20 minutes of more than 40 acclaimed wineries & vineyards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wine Valley Inn & Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wine Valley Inn And Cottages - a Broughton Hotel
Wine Valley Inn Solvang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing