We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved the cottage” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wine Valley Inn & Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Wine Valley Inn & Cottages
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Solvang
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Loved the cottage”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2010

We stayed here in mid-Sept and didn't even know we would be there for this great anniversary festival! If you can, stay in a cottage. It is a completely different experience than staying in any other type of room. What a luxury to have a private jacuzzi and then off the kitchen area was a small balcony where we could sit outside at night and watch the shooting stars. September is the time of year for this. Just an overall good experience (staff, room, check-in) and our pup had a great time too! The free breakfast is certainly ample as well but with so much good food in town don't fill up! A small downside, cottages book up way in advance and usually require a 2 or 3 night stay, depending on the weekend/holiday. It is very hard to find a time where you can get a cottage for just one night.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LisaPerlman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    359
    421
    225
    114
    58
See reviews for
237
617
31
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (323)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2010

The free breakfast included pastries, juices and cereals; an excellent way to start the day. Parking was not a problem - they had room in the front, back and on the streets. Our room was small but fit our big dog (black lab) with no problems and we were in the 2nd floor section away from the main building. The beds were comfortable and the TV had all the good channels. It was the busy weekend (Memorial Day) but the hotel was quiet. They had a small but quaint garden in the back where the cottages were located. The hotel was the perfect place to start our bike trip around the city and it's not too far from all the vineyards we wanted to go to with the dog. It was $25/night for the dog, no wt limitations.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ianatbragg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2010

For our trip to Solvang we chose the Wine Valley Inn because, from what we could find on the internet, it was the hotel with the best location that accepts dogs. We stayed in the basic room, I now they had fancier rooms with a fireplace, etc but they all had stairs and our dog isn't supposed to go up and down stairs too much so we opted not to have those rooms. Our basic room, however, was fantastic! Very room, very clean and the bed was really comfortable. Although there was construction going on across the street we couldn't hear anything while inside the room. Best of all the hotel is "stumbling" distance from most of the tasting rooms, so after a long day of wine tasting we walked right back to our room for a nice nap. No driving needed. The continental breakfast in the morning was definitely good enough to hold us over until lunch and all of the staff was super friendly. After we checked out we received a phone call telling us we "may have left something in the room." The person we talked to made very sure that we identified the item correctly before they told us what it was. My fiance had forgotten his video camera and we were already up in Monterey for the second part of our trip but the hotel held on to it for us until we came back down to get it. This is a great hotel for the price and location!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LuvMyDoxie83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2010

We came in for the annual Spring Vintners Festival and wanted a clean, nice hotel, and something a step-up from the Motel-6 variations. From the outside the hotel looks charming. Keeps with the Solvang motiff of ivy covered walls, high slanted rooftops, and lots of flowers. Unfortunately the room itself is only portionally worth the price.

*The Pros:
The bed was very comfortable and had plush pillows and soft clean linens. I liked the slated window treatments, except that you don't get the total darkness some might want.
The grounds are kept very nice, with beautiful little two story cottages in the back, each with their own jacuzzi's. Ample seating room in little nooks, and two areas with plush outdoor fireplace settings.
They had free wine tasting at 5pm, and were very generous with additional pours. They also served cheese and crackers which was a nice add on to the wine.
The continental breakfast was decent. Bagels, fruits, cereals, hard-boiled egss, instant oatmeal, danish and beverages. The placement of the toaster was a little weird, as you had to sort of hoover over the start of the line and reach over people when your toast popped, but if that's the worst I can come up, that's not too bad.

*The cons:
The room is large, but the space doesn't seem to be well thought out. We had no luggage rack to unpack or store the suitcases. We finally found the dresser inside the armoire, but the drawers were very flimsy and twice when opening the top one, the second drawer almost landed on my foot.
The only table in the room is taken up with the honor bar, so you are left with two standard nightstands and the counter space in the vanity area. The bathroom is narrow, but clean. Keep in mind the very low-flush system, and hold the handle when flushing or you will be there for a while. The vanity area was large, but the counter tops were very dated.
Our lighting was bad. The only room light flickered off and on at will, and the vanity area had an obvious burned out bulb.
The parking is very limited. When we pulled up we had no problems, but after going out to dinner and arriving back to the hotel before 10, we were left with barely any street parking.
The noise is horrid in the morning. We had room 31 and would strongly suggest against it. It is flush against the stairs, and when we weren't awoken at 7 by children running in the room above us, we were startled awake by early risers who couldn't pick up their suitcases as they left the hotel. BAM, BAM, BAM is all we could hear all morning - people pulling their heavy luggage down the stairs. Conversations, even spoken in normal tones were completely audible in this room.
It would have been nice to have a pool or jacuzzi, and because of the lack of that, I wouldn't stay there during the hot Solvang summers, but this wasn't an issue for us in April.

Overall, I would stay there again. The price we paid (150.00 a night in April) is about average for the area, and the rooms are clean. I love that you are within walking distance of everything. As many people have stated, you aren't getting the Ritz, and we have gotten better deals at higher end hotels, but it is definitely a step up from the lower end hotels you can find in Buellton, and Lompoc.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank txtwmn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2010

Stayed at Wine Valley Inn about 4 years ago was mildly displeased with stay. Decor was tired and general impression of hotel was lackluster. Decided to try again after seeing pictures of remodeled rooms. What a huge difference. Stayed in 305/306, adjoining rooms, and we were very impressed with the updates. Location in Slovang is great. Breakfast is better than most. Beds and linens were above average. Hotel staff were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Inspector_Chuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
92 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2010

Let me first start by saying that we got a great rate given that our stay was on Valentine's Day. 5 years ago we stayed here in an upgraded room, and our experience then was our main reason for returning. This time our room was one of the cheaper ones and lacked the prior room's charm. The bathroom was a bit cramped and the room a bit dim. The only problem we experienced was the sound coming from the outside hallway and the room above. Clearly the room is not very soundproof as we were woken up several times by the people walking above and outside. We may try a different hotel next time.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KristiMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2010

Hubby and I were planning an overnight trip to Sana Ynez Valley for some wine tasting and to celebrate our anniversary. I was looking for a good rate in Solvang, as this is the ideal place to stay when visiting wineries in the area.

There were many choices, but I settled on the Wine Valley Inn because
A) It appeared to be recently renovated
B) They serve a continental breakfast (included in nightly rate)
C) Great location
D) Amazing rate!

For one Sunday night, I booked the room for $81.00 for the night. This was HALF the rate of comparable hotels and inns!

The room was quiet (we DID request a quiet room when reservations were made), clean and comfortable. The renovations were well done. Nice colors, decent sized flat screen TV, funky little honor bar, comfortable bed!

The breakfast was set in a sunny breakfast room. They had an ample assortment of muffins, bagels, fruit, oatmeal, yogurt, pastries, hard boiled eggs, cereals, coffee, tea, milk and juice.

I've stayed in other inns in the area that were very nice. But when looking to save money on the room that could better be spent on wine(!), I'll stay at the Wine Valley Inn. :)


~rainytraveler

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rainytraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Solvang
0.3 mi away
Hotel Corque
Hotel Corque
#1 of 10 in Solvang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 736 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Landsby
The Landsby
#2 of 10 in Solvang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hadsten House
Hadsten House
#3 of 10 in Solvang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 862 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
King Frederik Inn
King Frederik Inn
#6 of 10 in Solvang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Solvang
3.8 mi away
Santa Ynez Inn
Santa Ynez Inn
#1 of 3 in Santa Ynez
5.0 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wine Valley Inn & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wine Valley Inn & Cottages

Property: Wine Valley Inn & Cottages
Address: 1564 Copenhagen Dr, Solvang, CA 93463
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Solvang
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Solvang
#5 Family Hotel in Solvang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Wine Valley Inn & Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Santa Ynez Valley...scenic vistas, vintage charm. Located on an acre of meandering gardens with a Koi pond, the Wine Valley Inn offers old-world hospitality with a variety of accommodations for every taste and budget. The Wine Valley Inn is located in the Danish village of Solvang, within easy walking distance of many wine tasting rooms and within 20 minutes of more than 40 acclaimed wineries & vineyards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Wine Valley Inn & Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wine Valley Inn And Cottages - a Broughton Hotel
Wine Valley Inn Solvang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing