We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Book the cottage in advance!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Wine Valley Inn & Cottages
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Solvang
california
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Book the cottage in advance!”
Reviewed December 18, 2006

We arrived and were greeted by the friendly and accomodating front desk staff. Our check-in process was quick and painless! We booked one of the cottages and it's the way to go. It is so nice to have the space and this cottage had its own private spa outside on a patio...very nice. The town of Solvang is our getaway so here are a few musts...go to Angelica's for dinner! Go to Solvang Restuarant for the elbeskever for breakfast (3 for $2.95 - what a deal if your a pancake/french toast person - I get a couple of orders) Also, a day trip up to Los Olivos is nice, however, stop at the Rideau winery...for some incredible wine tasting and cracker spreads! Checking out of the hotel was easy as well and the GM "Sandra" was nice to check up on our stay and make us feel like we were at a B&B with that personal touch of an innkeeper!

  • Liked — The cottage and how large and comfortable it was.
  • Disliked — Hard to answer...there was no bad experience...
  • Tips/Secrets — book the cottage in advance! we lucked out.
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank letsgetawaytoday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    370
    424
    234
    118
    59
See reviews for
241
636
30
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (331)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2006

We stayed at the Wine Valley Inn in November 2006. We booked on the website for one night mid-week. This was a stopping point on a trip up the coast from San Diego to Monterrey. We booked a cottage which would have been too expensive for us on the weekend. This hotel is perfectly located right at the end of the main shopping street in Solvang, making it easy to park your car and explore. We satyed in cabin #2 at the back of the property. The garden and koi ponds are really cute. Like a fairyland garden. We stayed with our two children ages 13 and 9. The cabin was two levels and big. There was even a half bath upstairs, which was nice during the night. There is a HUGE shower, but no tub in the bathroom. There is however an really nice Private courtyard with a hot tub. It was great. We all enjoyed it very much. I don't care much about breakfast so the granola and yougurt was plenty adequete for me. I would highly recommend a stay in the lovely cottage #2 (and the rest of the hotel looked nice also!)

  • Liked — the adorable cottage and private hot tub
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — Cottages more reasonably priced mid week.
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
6 Thank travelanywhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA Central Coast
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2006

We stayed here for two nights during the week and could not believe the value we received for our money. The room was very spacious with a loft, comfortable king bed, oversized tub with shower, fireplace and frig. The continental breakfast was enough to hold us until lunch (or a late, hot breakfast) at Paula's.

I definitely would recommend this quaint hotel for the loft rooms or cottages. Also, we want to return to try the Chef's Touch Cafe on Mission Drive. We met the delightful chef who has a flare for simple, delicious food and pleasing his patrons. The bottled root beer was the best we have ever had.

  • Liked — Location and Value
  • Disliked — Crazy Staircases and Our Windows Did Not Open
  • Tips/Secrets — Request a Loft Room
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SimpleInsight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2006

What a pleasant surprise! I wanted to stop in Solvang as the first leg of a central coast wine tour. The Wine Valley Inn is such a bargain, it's almost a steal! I'm no bargain hunter when it comes to accomodations -- the hotel i stayed in in San Luis Obispo was almost $200 a night. I paid $72 for my spacious room at the Wine Valley Inn. Not only was the room spacious but everything about it was comforting and welcoming. The bed was so comfortable I was sorry I was staying only one night at this property. The bathtub was more like a small pool. So, keep in mind, if you want to take a bath you'll want to plan ahead; allow at least 20 - 30 minutes to fill the tub. But, the shower was fine, too; good water pressure and temperature control. The lighting in the bathroom was more than sufficient and there was a decent amount of shelf space as well. The room rate includes breakfast but I passed on it -- it was a cold meal: yogurt, hardboiled eggs, cold cereal. Not a bad meal but you are in Solvang! Yummy pancakes at Paula's! The coffee at the Wine Valley Inn was very good, though. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Liked — The Bed!
  • Disliked — Property layout
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank eastcoastsoul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aliso viejo, california
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2006

We stayed at The Wine Valley Inn on Sunday, August 27th. Reservations were made via the hotel's website - manager's special at $64.00/night for a Village King Deluxe room. We were pleasantly surprised at how large the room was. The room had a separate living room (sofa/chairs) and a fireplace. There were (4) steps which led down to the bedroom/tv area. The bathroom included a soaking tub/shower which was great. We enjoyed the continental breakfast which was included in the hotel rate. A great deal!!

The only negative thing I found was to see the unsightly black stains on the carpet in the entry way - it could definitely use a deep cleaning. Other than that, I would definitely recommend this hotel and would not hesitate to return there in the future. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. Check-in/Out was simple and easy. The hotel is centrally located to all the shops/restaurants..

  • Liked — Separate living room/bedroom.
  • Disliked — Dirty carpet stains in the entry way.
  • Tips/Secrets — Check out the hotel
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank 1californiagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2006

We stayed here weekend of Aug. 18 & 19. We went there for a wedding in the area at a winery. The family had gotten "special rates" for people coming up for the wedding.

I do not know why this place is considered a B & B by Trip Advisor. To me, it is a hotel with a (mediocre) Continental Breakfast. To me, a B & B serves fresh food and fruit; does not just put out bread, bagels and frozen waffles to put in a toaster. There was also hard boiled eggs and cold cereal, besides the coffee. Recommendation: skip the breakfast at the hotel and walk over to Paula's Pancake House, much better and well worth the extra money.

Be that as it may, the hotel was pretty nice. Plenty of parking. We were in a regular room in the back. It was small but adequate and it was quiet. Some of our friends were in the rooms on the parking lot and some of the people who came in late were not too quiet so those rooms can be noisy. One of our friends was in one of the 2nd floor rooms in the clock tower building with a sitting area which was very nice as were the cottages. You probably won't be in the room too much except for sleeping and the beds are comfortable.

I would stay there again if I were in the area.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — small rooms
  • Tips/Secrets — ask for a room at the back. eat breakfast at Paula's.
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
6 Thank ScubaWife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2006

The Wine Valley Inn in Solvang. It has a lovely name, and their website looks appealing. The actual experience was so bad I have to let others know. The room was $180 dollars a night, but the picture online looked nice, and my wife and I thought a romantic evening was going to be worth it.

Our 'suite' was at one time a suite, but had long since been cut in half and made into two rooms. There was a fireplace at one end, about three feet from the bed. The bathroom was so small they had to put the sink OUTSIDE the bathroom, next to the bed.

The room was musty and smelly, the carpet had horrible stains, there were gouges in the wall, the handcrank to the window fell off as I opened the window, there was no screen for the window, no peephole for the door, no ventilation for the room, and the minirefrigerator was filled to the brim with 'their' stuff. Two bucks for a diet coke, etc. After paying $180 for the room, you'd think they'd spring for the Coke, but no dice.

The furniture was period stuff, new perhaps in the 1970s, but just scary looking now. The lamps were castoffs, and there was no overhead lighting. You couldnt read from the bed anyway, as there was no bedstand. As small as the room was, they packed a king-size bed in it, which meant there was almost no room to move if you were standing up.

I went to the front office and complained the following morning, but they couldnt have cared less. And so this review.\

Stay here at your peril. It is an old hotel that was at one time a faux Scandinavian hotel, and then changed its name to Wine Valley. There is nothing about the hotel that seems to say Wine Valley. It was like the hotel in the movie "The Shining" without the charm.

At maybe $50 a night, you'd write it off as an adventure, but at $180/night?

Helpful?
7 Thank donajax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Solvang
0.3 mi away
Hotel Corque
Hotel Corque
#1 of 10 in Solvang
784 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hadsten House
Hadsten House
#3 of 10 in Solvang
898 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Landsby
The Landsby
#2 of 10 in Solvang
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
King Frederik Inn
King Frederik Inn
#6 of 10 in Solvang
247 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Solvang
3.9 mi away
Santa Ynez Inn
Santa Ynez Inn
#1 of 3 in Santa Ynez
403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wine Valley Inn & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wine Valley Inn & Cottages

Property: Wine Valley Inn & Cottages
Address: 1564 Copenhagen Dr, Solvang, CA 93463-2754
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Solvang
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Solvang
#5 Family Hotel in Solvang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Wine Valley Inn & Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Santa Ynez Valley...scenic vistas, vintage charm. Located on an acre of meandering gardens with a Koi pond, the Wine Valley Inn offers old-world hospitality with a variety of accommodations for every taste and budget. The Wine Valley Inn is located in the Danish village of Solvang, within easy walking distance of many wine tasting rooms and within 20 minutes of more than 40 acclaimed wineries & vineyards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Wine Valley Inn & Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wine Valley Inn And Cottages - a Broughton Hotel
Wine Valley Inn Solvang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing