We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Wine Valley Inn & Cottages
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Solvang
Reviewed August 29, 2006

We stayed at The Wine Valley Inn on Sunday, August 27th. Reservations were made via the hotel's website - manager's special at $64.00/night for a Village King Deluxe room. We were pleasantly surprised at how large the room was. The room had a separate living room (sofa/chairs) and a fireplace. There were (4) steps which led down to the bedroom/tv area. The bathroom included a soaking tub/shower which was great. We enjoyed the continental breakfast which was included in the hotel rate. A great deal!!

The only negative thing I found was to see the unsightly black stains on the carpet in the entry way - it could definitely use a deep cleaning. Other than that, I would definitely recommend this hotel and would not hesitate to return there in the future. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. Check-in/Out was simple and easy. The hotel is centrally located to all the shops/restaurants..

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank 1californiagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,228)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,122 - 1,128 of 1,228 reviews

Reviewed August 25, 2006

We stayed here weekend of Aug. 18 & 19. We went there for a wedding in the area at a winery. The family had gotten "special rates" for people coming up for the wedding.

I do not know why this place is considered a B & B by Trip Advisor. To me, it is a hotel with a (mediocre) Continental Breakfast. To me, a B & B serves fresh food and fruit; does not just put out bread, bagels and frozen waffles to put in a toaster. There was also hard boiled eggs and cold cereal, besides the coffee. Recommendation: skip the breakfast at the hotel and walk over to Paula's Pancake House, much better and well worth the extra money.

Be that as it may, the hotel was pretty nice. Plenty of parking. We were in a regular room in the back. It was small but adequate and it was quiet. Some of our friends were in the rooms on the parking lot and some of the people who came in late were not too quiet so those rooms can be noisy. One of our friends was in one of the 2nd floor rooms in the clock tower building with a sitting area which was very nice as were the cottages. You probably won't be in the room too much except for sleeping and the beds are comfortable.

I would stay there again if I were in the area.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
6  Thank ScubaWife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2006

The Wine Valley Inn in Solvang. It has a lovely name, and their website looks appealing. The actual experience was so bad I have to let others know. The room was $180 dollars a night, but the picture online looked nice, and my wife and I thought a romantic evening was going to be worth it.

Our 'suite' was at one time a suite, but had long since been cut in half and made into two rooms. There was a fireplace at one end, about three feet from the bed. The bathroom was so small they had to put the sink OUTSIDE the bathroom, next to the bed.

The room was musty and smelly, the carpet had horrible stains, there were gouges in the wall, the handcrank to the window fell off as I opened the window, there was no screen for the window, no peephole for the door, no ventilation for the room, and the minirefrigerator was filled to the brim with 'their' stuff. Two bucks for a diet coke, etc. After paying $180 for the room, you'd think they'd spring for the Coke, but no dice.

The furniture was period stuff, new perhaps in the 1970s, but just scary looking now. The lamps were castoffs, and there was no overhead lighting. You couldnt read from the bed anyway, as there was no bedstand. As small as the room was, they packed a king-size bed in it, which meant there was almost no room to move if you were standing up.

I went to the front office and complained the following morning, but they couldnt have cared less. And so this review.\

Stay here at your peril. It is an old hotel that was at one time a faux Scandinavian hotel, and then changed its name to Wine Valley. There is nothing about the hotel that seems to say Wine Valley. It was like the hotel in the movie "The Shining" without the charm.

At maybe $50 a night, you'd write it off as an adventure, but at $180/night?

7  Thank donajax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2006

This is a good-quality hotel. We have stayed there twice, 2 weeks apart. The second time we paid an extra $2 to get a room with a fireplace. The rooms can be small, but are cozy and well-appointed with local art. The second time, our room was so small the TV was a flat-panel mounted on the wall - very nice. The only downside to the decor was that in front of the fireplace was an overstuffed chair. We felt that the romance of the fireplace would probably be overcome by the fact that only one of us could sit in front of it!

The basics were all there- free parking, clean room. The room has a cube/dorm style fridge, which could be convenient. Continental breakfast (bagels, cereal, pastries, juice, coffee, yogurt, hard-boiled eggs, and fruit) is included. Also nearby are many diner-type breakfast places and bakeries.

There are much nicer rooms than what we stayed in, in little cottages with lots of cuteness. I wish this hotel were available in every town we wanted to stay in.

Weekday rates are very reasonable; in fact, we stayed on a Thursday for less than the Motel 6 in Buellton, and this is right in Solvang.

We plan to return many times, to see the Solvang Festival Theater on Thursdays and walk back to the hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank knico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2006

Had no problem booking on the hotel website. Check in was quick & easy. We were out wine tasting within minutes!!!! Nice grounds. Good location...you can walk to and around town with ease. Our room was a deluxe king which was very clean. The ambience of the room was ok...not bad but nothing spectacular. The hotel was quiet, we slept well. Well worth the money. We will probably stay here on our next wine tour. We received several complimentary wine tasting vouchers upon check in...saved us $25-$30. Don't forget to check out Brander and Bridlewood wineries...AWESOME!

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank TheWolf05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2006

we had a great stay at the wine valley inn. This was our first stop out of LA ,on our 3 week honeymoon in sept 2005. We left 5* luxury in Hollywood and travelled out to taste wine and get some fresh air on our way up the coast onto San Fran, then Vegas and New York.

the wine valley staff were very welcoming. there were no porters to take our luggage to the room at the top of the clockhouse but the accommodation was pleasant, although not 5 * ,but we didn't expect it to be for the price.

The room was clean and large. Great for us as we had planned to spend most of our time out in the vineyards or in the wine tasting rooms. Solvang has a few great restaurants and we really enjoyed our two days and nights there. Relaxing, drinking, shopping and eating. it was a real contrast to the intensity of LA.

I now wish we had booked one of the cottages but availability was limited when we booked online as our two days in solvang coincided with the weekend. However, Solvang did not feel overcrowded despite the presence of a classic car show. The area around the inn was also a quiet residential area.

The inn was centrally located and only a few mintues walk into the main town. parking was ample. the breakfast was handy as very few places offer breakfast in with a room. We had a wine tasting at the inn on our first night which got us ready for the evening ahead.

all in all a sweet place. great location within walking distance of 5-6 wine rooms, pleasant staff and a clean adequate room. good value all round.

Solvang itself was wonderful, we had such fun touring the wine rooms and met some great characters on the way and learnt some great stuff about wine.

  • Stayed: September 2005, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank MrsP05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2006

This is an outstanding place to stay. We were booked into a regular room and the hotel automatically upgraded us to one of the cottages (number 4) and it was beautiful. We were treated to a wonderfully relaxing living room and a huge king bed. The place was spotless, the front desk staff were very helpful and the location of the hotel (off the main street of Solvang) was great. Parking is very convenient and the continental breakfast (included with the suite) was excellent. We have already recommended this hotel to several friends and will DEFINATELY stay there again when we return to California. Add this one to your "Favourites" list.

  • Stayed: June 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Renoir184
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Solvang
0.3 mi away
Hotel Corque
Hotel Corque
#1 of 11 in Solvang
817 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hadsten House
Hadsten House
#2 of 11 in Solvang
920 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Landsby
The Landsby
#3 of 11 in Solvang
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
King Frederik Inn
King Frederik Inn
#6 of 11 in Solvang
265 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Solvang
3.9 mi away
Santa Ynez Inn
Santa Ynez Inn
#1 of 3 in Santa Ynez
418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wine Valley Inn & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wine Valley Inn & Cottages

Address: 1564 Copenhagen Dr, Solvang, CA 93463-2754
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Solvang
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Solvang
#5 Family Hotel in Solvang
Price Range: $120 - $337 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Wine Valley Inn & Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Santa Ynez Valley...scenic vistas, vintage charm. Located on an acre of meandering gardens with a Koi pond, the Wine Valley Inn offers old-world hospitality with a variety of accommodations for every taste and budget. The Wine Valley Inn is located in the Danish village of Solvang, within easy walking distance of many wine tasting rooms and within 20 minutes of more than 40 acclaimed wineries & vineyards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Wine Valley Inn & Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wine Valley Inn And Cottages - a Broughton Hotel
Wine Valley Inn Solvang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing