We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Place!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wine Valley Inn & Cottages
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Solvang
Orinda, CA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful Place!”
Reviewed May 19, 2006

We decided to stay in Solvang in order break up our long trip to San Diego. I found the Wine Valley Inn on the Internet and booked their 2-story loft room at the Manager's Special rate of $69. It was well-worth that rate. Would probably have paid even more. Our room (#42) was very lovely. It felt like a mini-townhome with the living area and bathroom on the lower level and the bedroom with king-sized bed in the upstairs loft. It was nicely decorated, clean and comfortable. The location of the hotel is within perfect walking distance to downtown Solvang. The gardens around the hotel are beautiful and the deluxe separate cottages looked absolutely darling. The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful, no problems whatsoever. If I had to say anything negative, it might be that the breakfast was just OK, some fresh fruit or fruit salad would have been nice. Also, their towels were thin and rough. Finally, the town of Solvang is not as lively as it used to be, probably a result of the economy. Shopping was disappointing. But, The Wine Valley Inn was terrific and we would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DeeLee11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    371
    424
    234
    118
    60
See reviews for
241
638
30
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (332)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2006

Our long awaited stay in Cottage #2 started out as less than wonderfully. The downstairs decor was quite dated, and clearly had a "Daniel Boone" theme going on. I hadn't even checked the upstairs master before I called to ask for a cottage switch. Unfortunately, you have to book cottages weeks/months in advance for a weekend stay and of course, no other cottage was available. However, upon further examination of the entire cottage, I was quite satisfied. I stayed for 2 nights with some friends (all of whom loved it & can't wait to go back). French doors lead to a private deck & jacuzzi, treetop views, beautiful and spacious master upstairs also with French doors and small deck. Yeah, a bit rustic on the bathroom decor and downstairs floor, but can't even compare to Cottage #4 (first stay in Feb '06), which I thought was a nice upstairs cottage.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BruinBelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed May 10, 2006

Was pleasantly pleased with accomodations. Have paid more for less. People were very accomodating. Parking was a little sparce but over all it was a pleasant experience.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cali
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2006

Okay. I have stayed in the regular "fire deluxe rooms" and recently stayed in the #1 Tuscany Cottage. There is no comparison. The cottage was beautiful. It is a huge two story cottage with a fireplace downstairs and upstairs. The decorating is so pretty and is not "hotel like" at all. You have a private backyard with your own private jacuzzi(although we did not use it). You also have a bathroom upstairs and down. The pretty gardens that people are saying don't exist, do exist but they are in the cottage area. I will stay in the cottages again for sure. So wonderful...

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank riley3!
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Maria, CA
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2006

This was not our first experience at the Inn, but it will be our last. We originally stayed when it was the Tivoli Inn and loved it!! Our second trip didn't go as well, but since the Inn had changed hands again, we decided to give it another try. Third time was not the charm. Our original deluxe room was extremely small (and since we had stayed before, we knew what the other rooms looked like). We were not happy about the room we were given, but were willing to live with it. When we were woken up in the middle of the night by a loud, continuous thumping noise, we decided we needed to do something (the rain gutters outside emptied right on top of the heating unit in our room and the rain became amplified and echoed into the room). When we complained about the noise, we were told there was nothing they could do about it and that nobody else had complained about it (insinuating to us that we were either lying or nuts). Since we had booked the entire weekend, they did agree to give us another room, which was a vast improvement and more what we were expecting. My husband and I love to have a 'get-away' weekend in Solvang and we have no complaints about the room we eventually got, but the attitude of the front desk staff but a damper on the weekend. The hotel is quaint, but it's not worth it to deal with the staff.

  • Stayed January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SSH-5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2006

We got the manager's special on a Thursday, just $72, very nice and on the third floor, but one of the smallest rooms of the deluxe fireplace rooms. The bed was very comfortable, the bathroom had beautiful tile and the huge shower had a window overlooking the town. The fireplace was nice but only burns wax logs. The cottages have regular fireplaces that burn real wood. At check-in, we were told that they have free wireless internet (not mentioned on their website). We peaked around the next day while the maids were cleaning and each of the deluxe fireplace rooms is different, some very large with whole living rooms. The breakfast room was large and the breakfast good enough (with fresh danish pastries from a local bakery) that we weren't tempted to go out to eat. We had no problems with noise the night we were there. We'll come back again, and next time get one of the larger rooms.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank CaliforniaServer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Solvang
0.3 mi away
Hotel Corque
Hotel Corque
#1 of 10 in Solvang
785 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hadsten House
Hadsten House
#3 of 10 in Solvang
901 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Landsby
The Landsby
#2 of 10 in Solvang
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
King Frederik Inn
King Frederik Inn
#6 of 10 in Solvang
248 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Solvang
3.9 mi away
Santa Ynez Inn
Santa Ynez Inn
#1 of 3 in Santa Ynez
403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wine Valley Inn & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wine Valley Inn & Cottages

Property: Wine Valley Inn & Cottages
Address: 1564 Copenhagen Dr, Solvang, CA 93463-2754
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Solvang
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Solvang
#5 Family Hotel in Solvang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Wine Valley Inn & Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Santa Ynez Valley...scenic vistas, vintage charm. Located on an acre of meandering gardens with a Koi pond, the Wine Valley Inn offers old-world hospitality with a variety of accommodations for every taste and budget. The Wine Valley Inn is located in the Danish village of Solvang, within easy walking distance of many wine tasting rooms and within 20 minutes of more than 40 acclaimed wineries & vineyards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelsClick so you can book your Wine Valley Inn & Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wine Valley Inn And Cottages - a Broughton Hotel
Wine Valley Inn Solvang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing