We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant hotel with lovely gardens”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Wine Valley Inn & Cottages
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Solvang
GB
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very pleasant hotel with lovely gardens”
Reviewed October 29, 2009

This was one of my favourite hotels from our trip to the USA (we stayed in 9 in total) - clean, modern, very well-appointed. Our first room was on the ground floor of the block which overlooks the small gardens adjacent to the cottages and was lovely, but fairly small. Unfortunately, it was right next to an area of outdoor seating by one of the outdoor fireplaces where a very noisy group of other guests gathered - they were there when we went out to dinner and noisier (and drunker) when we got back a couple of hours later. They made no attempt to quieten down and we could hear every word of their conversation. We asked reception if they could move us and without hesitation they allocated us an upgrade in an area of the hotel as far away as possible from the noisy crowd. Breakfast was a continental buffet with a good choice of pastries, etc. The hotel has a spa which the receptionist who checked us in mentioned, but there is no information on this or the services available in the rooms - what a missed selling opportunity!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grecofan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    366
    423
    231
    115
    59
See reviews for
241
629
31
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (327)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lake Tahoe (Nevada), Nevada
Level Contributor
60 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2009

No advance reservations were made and came in off the street and stayed for three nights. The rooms were so-so and without any view. I think the cost was the priviledge of staying in Solvang. Big deal. Unless you are interested in visiting the local wineries spend your time in Carmel as it has more to offer. However, we cannot criticize the breakfast and the breakfast room ambience. We have been to Solvang once before and had stayed here, probably under the former name.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank k2iks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2009

We stayed here for one night with a group of 15 people travelling together on a Pacific Coast Road trip. Based on our research, including feedback from Trip Advisor, we had arranged for a group booking for 8 rooms well in advance of our stay. Upon our arrival, all of the reservations were in order, and check in was efficient and quick, even though we all arrived at the same time. The staff was efficient but could have been more freindly.
The rooms were very clean and spacious, and the hotel overall was very clean and well maintained. The breakfast service was very good, and worked well for our group.
Everyone in our group was very pleased with our stay here, and we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RBehl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
81 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2009

but we have definitely stayed at better places. The price level did not match the quality. At first look we thought for sure that the place hadn't been updated in 30 years, the carpet looked warn out and the color pallet was greens & oranges, however, we found out that it was recently remodeled. Look's like 70's was the theme throughout. After closer inspection of the room it did look to have fresh paint. The bed was very hard, but our room (a Chateau Loft) was very spacious and no one was in the fitness room when we used it. The equipment looked pretty new.

We tend to gravitate to B&B's which may play into our review and there are not many options for accommodations in Solvang if you want to be in the town.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CADream1n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunn Loring, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 8, 2009

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights to celebrate out 5 year anniversary. We stayed in a regular queen room and it was quite nice and spacious. We've stayed there before in one of the cottages and really enjoyed our time then as well. The only downfall is trying make a reservation for the spa that is on the premises....you have to make it through the front desk of the hotel and they really couldn't answer any of our questions. There was a big party that was booked there...maybe a wedding? And people were pretty drunk and loud walking around the premises and hanging out on the stairs but when we were in our room we could hardly hear them and by the time we went to bed, all was quiet. We are always very pleased with this place!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ashland79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 7, 2009

I would not recommend this "Inn" to anyone looking to spend time in Solvang or the surrounding Santa Ynez valley. The room was in terrible shape, paint chipping off of the walls, baseboards and trim was filthy. The door handle didn't work correctly, after inserting your card, and light turning green, if you applied too much pressure to the handle, or too little, the mechanism inside would not engage and draw the bolt back. I think this was a common problem throughout, as we were constantly hearing the noise of handles bouncing back as people tried in vain to open their doors.

We were staying in Solvang for a wedding, and the Groom had arranged a "deal" with them for a block of rooms. Once we arrived, we found out that they best they did was a $10 discount, for having a guaranteed 15 rooms occupied during an off-season. We were also told we could have an early check in, since we needed to change before the rehearsal, only to have one of the staff tell us very rudely that "you can't check in till 3, we never make promises for early check in". We came back after about 30 mins, and encountered a different staffer who was more friendly, but customer service shouldn't be hit or miss when you're at a minimum $150 a night hotel. We were also given the impression that the wine included in our room was complimentary, but came to find out that they charged our credit card for it after we left! We are in the process of disputing the charge, but it all was very unprofessional.

The room was smaller than I expected, there was less room than an average Motel 6, with standard ammenities, nothing special in any way. They should call this place what it is, the "Wine Valley Motel" because there was no "inn" atmosphere or amenities in sight. Oh, and did I mention that there is a 2-night minimum even in the off-season?

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shroppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
1 review
Reviewed September 29, 2009

From the pictures on the website, we were very excited about staying at the Wine Valley Inn for our anniversary. Staying here was "pushing the boat" so to speak as we normally stay at economy type hotels, so we were looking forward to it....

The rooms are not quite like the pictures on the website. Our bed was missing the comforter, and if you're a minimalist and don't like all the B&B type knick-knacks.....the decor is awesome! Space could have been used better, but all the angles in our room gave it a quaint, staying-in-your-Grandma's-attic kind of feel. The bathroom was great and the shower was awesome.....didn't have a problem with low flow or anything like that. Once you got use to the staircases and figured out where you were going, it gave the Inn a feel of living in Copenhagen. Again, all good because of the quaintness of it all.

I highly HIGHLY recommend the Spa! We went for a 17 mile bike ride (and hit two wineries along the way!) and I went back to the Inn for an massage. Ask for Kate! She is really great!! The rest of the staff there were really nice and helpful.....although, just a suggestion to the staff, when one is checking in to a quaint Danish hotel, keep the Chinese food smell to a minimum! Other than that! No complaints!

The continental breakfast was wonderful, as well as the complimentary wine tasting in the afternoon. We loved sitting outside next to the outdoor fireplace.

Would love to stay at the Inn again!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChumsMum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Solvang
0.3 mi away
Hotel Corque
Hotel Corque
#1 of 10 in Solvang
774 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hadsten House
Hadsten House
#3 of 10 in Solvang
888 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Landsby
The Landsby
#2 of 10 in Solvang
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
King Frederik Inn
King Frederik Inn
#6 of 10 in Solvang
243 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Solvang
3.9 mi away
Santa Ynez Inn
Santa Ynez Inn
#1 of 3 in Santa Ynez
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wine Valley Inn & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wine Valley Inn & Cottages

Property: Wine Valley Inn & Cottages
Address: 1564 Copenhagen Dr, Solvang, CA 93463-2754
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Solvang
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Solvang
#5 Family Hotel in Solvang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Wine Valley Inn & Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Santa Ynez Valley...scenic vistas, vintage charm. Located on an acre of meandering gardens with a Koi pond, the Wine Valley Inn offers old-world hospitality with a variety of accommodations for every taste and budget. The Wine Valley Inn is located in the Danish village of Solvang, within easy walking distance of many wine tasting rooms and within 20 minutes of more than 40 acclaimed wineries & vineyards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Wine Valley Inn & Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wine Valley Inn And Cottages - a Broughton Hotel
Wine Valley Inn Solvang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing