We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great visit.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wine Valley Inn & Cottages

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Wine Valley Inn & Cottages
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Solvang
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
65 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Another great visit.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

Great price, nice breakfast and quick front desk and maintenance service and for our annual stay. Wine Valley Inn was our go to as the Petersen Inn (across the street) changed owners and their awesome food & room deals disappeared...hope that returns for them as we enjoyed them.
Booked 3 Junior Suites for family and friends. Ours was nice but A/C was noisy; bathroom light and fan come on together so noisy, too. Room layout quirky; a ceiling beam jutting out into living room so you always had to mind your head; no desk area and the shower curtain was too short...
Don't get me wrong, we love this place and we will return but I'll not request room 215...

Room Tip: can't really recommend 215
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank elliotts321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest R, Guest Relations Manager at Wine Valley Inn & Cottages, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
We are happy the read that you are a returning guest and that this time around you decided to book three suites for the whole family and for the friends that accompanied you. As you already know, we offer different variety rooms, and all them are unique in one aspect or another. We will take into great consideration all the issues you encountered with the room. As we will make this a top priority to our maintenance crew. We hope you were able to partake in our free and hot complimentary breakfast, as it is composed of scrambled eggs, sausage patties, hash browns, freshly brewed coffee, danish (which we get from our local bakery every morning), freshly squeezed orange juice, oatmeal, cereal upon others. We truly hope you will be able to stay with us on your next visit to the beautiful city of Solvang.

Sincerely,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    342
    387
    212
    109
    55
See reviews for
222
575
28
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (310)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Owasso, Oklahoma
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

We booked a "Double Room" with a picture showing 2 beds. On entering our room there were 2 beds alright but they were full size. We were expecting at least Queen size. Other than that, the room was adequate, except we spent our honeymoon in separate beds. We allowed 2 days for sightseeing Solvang but at the end of the first day we decided we had seen enough and would check out early. When we checked out we were informed that there was a $50.00 early checkout charge, even though we were before the 11:00 checkout time. Never had that happen before. Solvang Room taxes and fees will run you 12% plus $2.00 a night.

Last surprise was that most of the retail shops closed at 5:00 and as near as we could figure out the restaurants at 8:00.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for the bed size you want.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest R, Guest Relations Manager at Wine Valley Inn & Cottages, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Thank you for providing us with your feedback on your recent stay at Wine Valley Inn and Cottages. And please accept our apologies for the inconvenience you encountered regarding the bed type that you had originally booked. Yes, most of the shops around the city of Solvang close early, as many families like to walk around the city and enjoy the beautiful scenery that the city has to offer. Please know that here at Wine Valley Inn and Cottages, we do offer all our guest free hot breakfast. The breakfast is composed of scrambled eggs, waffles, sausage patties, hash browns, yogurt, oatmeal, freshly brewed coffee, hot cocoa, tea, and freshly squeezed orange juice upon other items. Thank you so much for providing us with your feedback and we hope you will be able to stay with us on your next stay at Wine Valley Inn and Cottages.

Sincerely,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Granada, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

As a Preferred Customer - my wife and I keep coming back! We thoroughly enjoy WVI&C!
Michelle who pours wine, during the Happy Hours, is a joy and delight! We gear our evenings around her hospitality and pleasant demeanor. We have a glass of wine, head to dinner and return in the later evening, to hang out with fellow travelers and Michelle. She provides a great experience and always makes our trips a blast! Thanks Michelle - we'll see you soon!

Russ Davis

Room Tip: Room selection is crucial. There are rooms that have more ambient lighting and noise proximate to t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank russ d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest R, Guest Relations Manager at Wine Valley Inn & Cottages, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Thank you so much for the wonderful comments you have regarding our hospitality and "happy hour" team member. We are happy to know that our team member is one of the reason you and your wife continue to come back to Wine Valley Inn and Cottages. Please know that we offer all our guest free Wi-Fi, parking and hot complimentary breakfast. We do offer different room types here at Wine Valley, different room types that will best suit your personality. We are also located walking distance to many shops, restaurants and bakeries. We greatly appreciate all the good comments you have regarding our hospitality and services.

Sincerely,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

we stayed here on June 8-11 to do some wine tasting in the area. The rooms are old and very basis. But to top it off, when I received my credit card statement the Inn had put an extra charge on our credit card. When I called to inquire about it as I was told that it was for a bottle of wine and some soft drink, which we never consumed. I told the desk clerk Sandie that we had our own wine and water and never touched anything in the room she told me that she would check into it and get back to me in two days. Since that time we have never heard from them. Very poor service!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank loes64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest R, Guest Relations Manager at Wine Valley Inn & Cottages, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Thank you for providing us with your feedback on your recent stay at Wine Valley Inn and Cottages. We valued your feedback and we will look into the issue you encountered during stay at Wine Valley Inn. Now, we hope that what you experienced at our property does not deter you from coming back and enjoying all the great scenery that the wonderful city of Solvang has to offer.

Sincerely,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
76 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Stayed here last week and was not overly impressed. They gave us a room on the 3rd floor which requires you to take an elevator to the second floor and then walk up the stairs to the 3rd floor. Not great but we made it work. The room we stayed in had angled walls in both the main room and bathroom. You have to be careful not to bump your head which I did a few times.

The hot breakfast in the morning was nice but both days we ate breakfast they served exactly the same food. Would have been good to have something different the second morning but tough to complain when it is included in your room rate.

Not a big fan of Solvang so not sure if we will stay there again.

Room Tip: Stay off the 3rd floor unless you want to walk up stairs from 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Boston09_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest R, Guest Relations Manager at Wine Valley Inn & Cottages, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Thank you for deciding to stay at Wine Valley Inn and Cottages. As you were able to see, we do offer different variety rooms to our guest. We also offer all our guest free Wi-Fi, parking and continental breakfast. Our breakfast includes scrambled eggs, sausage patty, waffles, cereal, oatmeal, yogurt, freshly brewed coffee, fruits and many more. We are located in the heart of Solvang so walking to any shop, winery, restaurant or bakery will be less than a ten minute walk. Thank you again for the wonderful review and if you are ever in the Solvang area, please do not hesitate to book with us again.

Sincerely,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly Hills, California
Level Contributor
182 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

I can appreciate this hotel although it's becoming dated and homely. I love the location, it's tucked away from the main streets of Solvang, but walking distance to everything. We even walked to new frontiers!
The lady with curly brown hair who checked us in was super friendly and upbeat. The blonde had issues cracking a smile. The breakfast that's included isn't gourmet, but better than fast food or a continental breakfast.

My major complaint is, in the middle of the night, the piercing sounds of our smoke detector woke us up; we thought our room was on fire, although there wasn't a smell nor smoke to be found. I was afraid the smoke was coming from upstairs and that the floor would cave in and kill us. Fumbling around, I grabbed my robe to save my dignity, and ran out across the parking lot to tell the front desk. You could hear the screeching from the front desk. I was still half naked but she journeyed over to the room to fan the detector with a magazine. Thinking it was a freak incident, we went back to sleep, although very nervous the screaming sounds of the detector would awaken us again. Sure enough, the next morning at 5 am, the shrilling noise woke us up and wouldn't stop, even after fanning it. So again, we ran to the front desk, but no one was there. We left shortly thereafter.

Looking back, the walls were so thin that I could hear neighbors relieving themselves in the bathroom, partaking in the horizontal polka upstairs, and I was frustrated with the misbehaving children screaming and yelling all night and day on the stairs. I heard conversations and footsteps all through the night. So, most likely, the fumes from people's cars were setting off the alarm, due to the thin walls. We were on the first floor, near the parking lot. I think room 34?

I can't say that our stay made us bitter, but I wish it were more relaxing and that the rooms were soundproof. The beds are comfy though. For the price, it's a fair deal for that area, but next time, we are going to splurge on a $500 room, to avoid this mishap again. Remember, price also attracts lower mannered clientele, and this hotel was nearly fully booked with a diverse crowd of children, hippies, surfers, drunks, couples, prostitutes, immigrants, and large families. Welcome to Solvang!


Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Miss C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest R, Guest Relations Manager at Wine Valley Inn & Cottages, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Thank you for taking a minute out of your busy schedule to provide us and future guests with your feedback on your recent stay at Wine Valley Inn and Cottages. We greatly appreciate the detailed issue you had with the smoke detector. We will make sure to have our maintenance person look at all the smoke detectors and fix them accordingly.

Wine Valley Inn and Cottages, an international hotel, caters to many people from around the world. It is located in the heart of Solvang, as you have stated above, so most places in the city are walking distance to the hotel. Since we cater to people from around the world, we make it a habit to try and keep the property a family-friendly hotel so that families can enjoy their stay and refer us to friends.

Here at Wine Valley Inn and Cottages, we offer all our guest free Wi-Fi, parking and continental breakfast. It is a hot breakfast and it is composed of scrambled eggs, waffles, sausage patties, oatmeal, freshly brewed coffee, orange juice and many more. We do take great care of all our rooms and as a result, our rooms are always in the best possible condition. We hope you will be able to book with us again on your next trip to the beautiful city of Solvang.

Sincerely,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redondo Beach
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

My wife, three-year-old daughter and I recently stayed two nights in one of the Wine Valley Inn's two private cottages. Specifically, we stayed in Cottage #2.

Out experience was outstanding. The cottage was two stories, set up in a loft style. The sole bedroom was upstairs and spacious. There were 1.5 baths. Outside the front door was a cute little bridge and koi pond. Outside the backdoor was a nice private jacuzzi, large mature tree and several sitting areas.

The plumbing worked great, fireplace was awesome and the place was clean. There will be a few bugs as there is a well-kept garden right outside most doors. If the sight of a single spider isn't a fair trade off for large trees, greenery and a few ponds, then I don't know what to tell you.

We paid $345 for the private cottage mid-week in the summer. We thought that for what we were getting it was a great value and we plan on staying here again.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank jamesmthomson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest R, Guest Relations Manager at Wine Valley Inn & Cottages, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
We are extremely happy to know that you, your wife and 3-year old daughter enjoyed our private cottage and that it was to your liking. As you saw and experience, our cottages are spacious and are kept in immaculate conditions, thanks to the wonderful work our housekeepers do. Our gardens and surrounding greenery are always beautifully maintained. We do offer free continental breakfast, Wi-Fi and parking. We are also centrally located to most shops, restaurants, and bakeries. Also, even though we are just minutes from the main street, the noise level here at Wine is minimal. Thank you for your feedback and we will be awaiting for your next visit to Wine Valley Inn and Cottages.

Sincerely,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Solvang
0.3 mi away
Hotel Corque
Hotel Corque
#1 of 10 in Solvang
4.5 of 5 stars 653 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hadsten House
Hadsten House
#3 of 10 in Solvang
4.5 of 5 stars 828 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Landsby
The Landsby
#2 of 10 in Solvang
4.5 of 5 stars 163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
King Frederik Inn
King Frederik Inn
#6 of 10 in Solvang
4.0 of 5 stars 209 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Solvang
3.8 mi away
Santa Ynez Inn
Santa Ynez Inn
#1 of 3 in Santa Ynez
5.0 of 5 stars 348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wine Valley Inn & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wine Valley Inn & Cottages

Property: Wine Valley Inn & Cottages
Address: 1564 Copenhagen Dr, Solvang, CA 93463-2754
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Solvang
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Solvang
#5 Family Hotel in Solvang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Wine Valley Inn & Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Santa Ynez Valley...scenic vistas, vintage charm. Located on an acre of meandering gardens with a Koi pond, the Wine Valley Inn offers old-world hospitality with a variety of accommodations for every taste and budget. The Wine Valley Inn is located in the Danish village of Solvang, within easy walking distance of many wine tasting rooms and within 20 minutes of more than 40 acclaimed wineries & vineyards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and Odigeo so you can book your Wine Valley Inn & Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wine Valley Inn And Cottages - a Broughton Hotel
Wine Valley Inn Solvang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing