We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Wine Valley Inn & Cottages
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
The Landsby(Solvang)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hamlet Inn(Solvang)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Viking Motel(Solvang)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hadsten House(Solvang)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kronborg Inn(Solvang)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Corque(Solvang)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,251)
Filter reviews
1,251 results
Traveler rating
382
436
247
124
62
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
382
436
247
124
62
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshash brownskoi pondhonor barjunior suitecheese and crackersoutdoor fireplacein townyogurtfairy talehot breakfasthard boiled eggsbreakfast roomsitting areahappy hourbreakfast was includedthe main streetshops and restaurants
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
575 - 580 of 1,251 reviews
Reviewed July 4, 2014

We were visiting California for a satellite launch at Vandenburg Air Force Base. We stayed at this hotel as it was so centrally located and close to restaurants and shopping. Our room was nice and the bed was extremely comfortable. The wine tasting with cheese and crackers was such a wonderful and relaxing time. The young lady who was serving the wine was beyond kind and gracious. She made our experience super. If you decide to stay at this location, please make sure you go to the wine tasting and meet Wendy. She is the definition of friendly and customer service is her objective. We really had a great time.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dawn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest R, Guest Relations Manager at Wine Valley Inn & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2014

Thank you for taking a minute out of your busy schedule to provide us and future guests with your experience at Wine Valley Inn and Cottages. We are glad to hear that you chose to stay at our Solvang property, as it is centrally located and it is also walking distance to most shops, restaurants and Danish bakeries. Yes, we do offer a "Wine tasting hour" every evening near our lobby. This place has a central fireplace surrounded by couches, and soft music playing in the background. It is during this "Wine tasting hour" were we get to meet and talk with our guests. And also, during this time some of our guests make new friends. We hope you were able to partake in our free and hot complimentary breakfast. And we also hope you were able to go for a walk in our beautifully kept gardens. Thank you for your time and the wonderful comments you have regarding your stay at Wine Valley Inn and Cottages.

Kindly,
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2014

Family from near and far across the country gathered in Solvang for my daughters wedding at Gainey Vineyard Memorial Day weekend.
After having stayed at the Wine Valley Inn in a private cottage during our last visit to Solvang, my daughter decided that that same cottage at the Wine Valley Inn was where she wanted to stay and have her Bridal Party gather for her and them to prepare and dress for the wedding.
It was very special both to her and to me.

Both the brides family and the grooms family and friends booked many of the Inns rooms for the weekend long wedding event.
Everyone was very happy with the Inn and its great location.They were also very pleased with their rooms. Everyone had a different layout of accommodation that they liked. Everyone also enjoyed the wonderful complimentary breakfast buffet in the morning . The breakfast room and the outside patio areas gave everyone great options as to where to eat their delicious breakfast or catch up on conversations about the weekend family events.
The housekeeping staff and maintenance staff did an excellent job around the property and in the cottage and ALWAYS with big smiles. The grounds were beautiful.

The only negative I have was our check in. Most everyone at the front desk during our four night stay was very personable, cheerful and very helpful.

But when we arrived at the Inn and first came to the front desk to check in saying that we were so excited to be there and that the Bride was so happy to be back staying there for her wedding weekend , there was no response, there was no warm welcome at all .... or any acknowledgement at all about everyone being there for the wedding weekend.

We didn't expect any kind of special treatment whatsoever but it sure would have been a nice start to our stay to have some kind of a reply , a simple short personal conversation ,
or merely a welcome .....

Instead I was just curtly and simply asked for my credit card information for the payment of our rooms.
Actually there was no personal contact from anyone with us during the wedding weekend.

I know we were only one of numerous wedding parties that stay there over the course of the year but after having personal conversations with the Inn arranging rooms etc., it just would have been a nice touch to merely make us feel just a little welcome when we checked in or extend some kind of personal contact during our four day stay.
Even a simple welcome note in the room would have been appreciated.

For future reference, people really do appreciate the little simple personal gestures like that or even asking during the stay how all the wedding quests were enjoying their time at the Inn or if there was anything we needed.

Its the little touches that people will remember and appreciate the most .

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ayre14148
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest R, Guest Relations Manager at Wine Valley Inn & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2014

Let me start by congratulating your daughter on her recent wedding. It always makes us feel privileged when valued guest such as yourself decide to have a once-in-a-lifetime event such as a wedding, and decide to stay at Wine Valley Inn and Cottages to prepare for that joyous moment. We are glad all your guest liked the layout of the rooms and that you, your daughter and all who attended the wedding truly enjoyed your stay at our Solvang property. Yes, it is the little gestures in life that make a big difference in the perspective our valued guests have about the treatment they receive. For this, please accept our most sincere apologies. I will share your comments with our team members so this does not happen again, a thing that should have not occurred in the first place. Again, congratulations on celebrating such a magnificent event with Wine Valley Inn and Cottages. And once more congratulations to your daughter on her wedding.

Kindly,
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2014

I was there with my cousin for a girls weekend and we had a great time. It was a good location, it was nice to be able to park the car at the hotel and walk around the town. I've stayed here before and I would stay again and recommend it to friends and family. There was a refrigerator in the room which is good. The grounds are beautiful and very peaceful.

Room Tip: We stayed in a loft room where the bed was upstairs and the living area was downstairs. It was roomy and quiet.
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EBSSS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest R, Guest Relations Manager at Wine Valley Inn & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2014

Thank you for been a returning guest to Wine Valley Inn and Cottages. We are glad you enjoy our immaculate gardens and peaceful gardens. As you have found, we are the ideal place to stay at because all stores, and restaurants are withing walking distance. Walking to any shop or winery takes one less than five minutes. Our immaculate rooms are fully furnished with a flat screen television, and fridge. We also all our guest free services such as Wi-Fi, parking and hot continental breakfast. This breakfast is composed of freshly brewed coffee, Danish (which we buy from our local bakery every morning), scrambled eggs, waffles, and sausage patties among others. Thank you for your time to provide us with your feedback on your stay at Wine Valley Inn and Cottages.

Sincerely,
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2014

We stayed here for a wedding and the place left me non-plused.

Facilities were lacking to put it mildly. The gym was a small room with a couple of machines and some weights laying around. Wifi never did work even though we tried to logon with two phones and a tablet.

Sheets and blanket just felt old as did the bed. AC was very loud, carpet stained and bathroom has no counter space so you end up putting all of your toiletries under the sink.

And our room was far better than others I saw. My sister-in-law had a room where the bed occupied all of one level (and left little room to get around) and there were stairs to a sink and the shower. I referred to their room as "the Shire" as it looked like something built for hobbits.

That said, the staff is great. Consistently knowledgeable and helpful.

Location is perfect with easy access to all areas of town.

Owners just need to thrown in the capital for a modernization and this place could be much, much better. With its location and great staff, I would love to give this place a better review but I feel like it is coasting on its location.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dean H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest R, Guest Relations Manager at Wine Valley Inn & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2014

Thank you for providing us with your input on your stay at Wine Valley Inn and Cottages. We greatly value your feedback as this feedback will help us improve in those areas where improvement is needed. We will look into improving the carpets and A/C's of our rooms, as well as try to improve the internet connection. Please know that we offer different variety room types to all our guests, the room your sister-in-law happened to be the chateau loft, which is a two-story room. Thank you for the wonderful comments you have regarding the wonderful customer service that you received by our guest service representatives. Thank you again for the feedback and we hope that you can give us another chance at staying at Wine Valley Inn and Cottages.

Sincerely,
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2014

We had a very pleasant stay at this inn. The staff was so friendly, the room was clean, the bed very comfortable.
The location is great. We arrived quite late so everything in the area was already closed, except for the brew house across the street.
The only negative point to the inn is the breakfast. It was very disappointing. There were a lot of choices, but nothing was fresh. We left to go have breakfast elsewhere, which was too bad because it was included in our rate. Big miss.
But overall, I would recommend this place, because it's very quaint and comfortable.

Room Tip: We found a special manager's rate for the month of June.
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LauraRD2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest R, Guest Relations Manager at Wine Valley Inn & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2014

Thank you for taking a minute out of your busy schedule to provide us with your feedback on your stay at Wine Valley Inn and Cottages. And thank you for the wonderful comments you have regarding our front desk team members. Please know that our hot complimentary breakfast is composed of freshly brewed coffee, orange juice, scrambled eggs, waffles, sausage patties, yogurt, oatmeal, and many more. We do offer free Wi-Fi, and parking. We are also located within minutes to Downtown Solvang and many wineries. Thank you for the comments and feedback and we hope to see you again on your next trip to the beautiful city of Solvang.

Sincerely,
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews