We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Place in a Quaint Town”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Wine Valley Inn & Cottages
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Solvang
Richmond, VA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Nice Place in a Quaint Town”
Reviewed October 5, 2008

We stayed in a two-story loft for two nights last week and really enjoyed it. Having the bedroom upstairs and the living room downstairs gave it the feel of being at home -- and was more spacious than a typical hotel room. We had a king-sized bed, and the living room had a sectional that two people could easily stretch out on. There were two negatives with the loft though -- the bathroom was on the first floor, so going in the middle of the night entailed a trip down the stairs, which was a little inconvenient, and there was no door on the bedroom (true loft) so you couldn't really watch tv in the living room while someone else slept in.

The hotel is in a great location -- 1 block walk to shopping, bakeries and restaurants. I liked that we weren't right on the main street, like many of the other hotels, because there was little street noise. However, make sure you request a room away from the central air conditioning unit -- it was about two doors down from us and very loud.

As other reviewers mentioned, the staff was adequate but definitely not friendly, and the free continental breakfast really wasn't very good -- pastries were not fresh and the waffles were tasteless. It didn't really matter to us, though, because we'd rather walk a few blocks and get fresh baked goods at a Danish bakery.

Some advice about Solvang that would have helped us the first night -- don't expect nightlife in town. Shops in Solvang closed at 5 ot 6 p.m., and the restaurants by 8 or 9. We really liked The Greenhouse in Solvang for lunch (both Danish specialties and American fare) and Grappolo's in Santa Ynez for Italian. Firestone Brewery in Buellton was also a nice place for a beer or no-frills meal.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Loud air conditioning unit, poor breakfast
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank writur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    366
    423
    231
    115
    59
See reviews for
241
629
31
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (327)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Thousand Oaks, California
Level Contributor
167 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2008

We stayed one night on a weekend trip to the Chumash Casino. The hotel at Chumash was very expensive so we elected to stay in Solvang. The Wine Valley Inn is right in the heart of Solvang. It is an older property but it has been substantially remodeled. We found it a lovely experience. Nice clean charming room and lovely grounds and gardens. Nice continental breakfast room. The food was traditional basic breakfast fare, but in a very nice location. Overall an excellent experience.

  • Liked — Clean pleasant hotel in great location with reasonable pricing
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank slr_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2008

Found this place by a photo we saw online while searching for a place to stay while we were wine tasting up in Santa Barbara County. It is in a good location (within walking distance to most everything) in Solvang and about ten minutes away from the driving distance wineries. We rented a two story loft room that was plenty big for the two of us. Bring your own pillows. The ones they provided felt like we were sleeping on rocks. The walls are a little thin, too, so you can hear people walking around outside. Overall it was a good value. We would stay there again. If youre looking for places to eat around there, try the Hadsten House down the street (the burger is awesome) and the Wandering Dog wine bar across the street for a nice pre dinner glass of wine.

  • Liked — Location in town
  • Disliked — Loud sounds when we were sleeping. Could have used better insulation around the doors to keep the noise out.
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Pump150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 22, 2008

We stayed here one night and we really enjoyed our stay. So much so that we were thinking about staying an extra night. We stayed during the week so we paid $119 for the night.

Upon arrival, we were upgraded to a second floor room with a fireplace. We were also celebrating a birthday and a complimentary bottle of wine was placed in our room for us. Additionally, we were given coupons (i.e., free tastings and 2-for-1 tastings) to neighboring wine bars. And to top it all off, we also were given complimentary chocolates from a local chocolatier.

The rooms were very clean and spacious. The beds were also very comfortable. The A/C unit wasn't working very well in our room, but we like our room to be VERY cold. For people who enjoy somewhat cool rooms, this would be no issue. The staff was also friendly and hospitable.

Breakfast in the morning was simple but sufficient. It was the typical continental breakfast and was much appreciated it.

This Inn is conveniently located and we walked everywhere. The vineyards are just a short drive away too. Most places in Solvang shut down around 5 pm so be sure to plan your day accordingly.

We hope to stay here again one day and would definitely recommend this place to everyone we know.

  • Liked — Cute, comfortable and convenient
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank TX_Travel_Monkeys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2008

Stayed for 3 nights.

Pros:
Room was spacious and kept clean by housekeeping. Free Wifi. Breakfast was a standard hotel spread of pastries/bagels, cereals, and room-temp waffles/pancakes (there was a toaster to heat them up). King bed was comfortable. Shower was HUGE, but only one shower head (two would have been really nice).

Cons:
Walls/ceiling had very little sound proofing. Could hear the conversations in the room next door and the kids running back and forth above us. High room rate for a slightly above average room.

Overall, a nice place. Just needs to be a bit cheaper.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Fastman314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2008

We booked a room in the tower, and got a room that we're not sure was actually where we had booked it. It was a building off to the side... the room itself was very nice, two stories with living room and bath downstairs and sleeping loft upstairs.

What was lacking was service and information. The person who checked us in didn't seem interested in making us feel welcome (not that we are high-maintenance, but a smile would have been nice). Later when we came to ask about our window not opening and the lack of soap for the sink, another employee was equally... disinterested in projecting the usual service attitude you see in a hotel. We were fine with fixing the window ourselves, but he sighed heavily and said he'd look into it.

Also missing was the information you generally find in a hotel room, such as where things are, what the services are, etc. There was no information at all. As a result, we missed out on the free breakfast (from other reviews here, it sounds like we didn't miss much) and didn't know what was available to us as guests. I like flipping through a pamphlet or binder and seeing what's what, and didn't know whether ours was just missing or whether nobody had them. It wasn't worth bothering anyone over it, so we made do with what we had.

On the plus side, it's walking distance from the downtown action and the cottages in the back looked really wonderful. I don't think I'd stay in the same room again, but I would be willing to give the fairytale-looking cottages a shot if it was just a bad day for the employees there.

  • Liked — Room itself was lovely, location was convenient
  • Disliked — No information in room, Internet kept disconnecting, staff less than warm
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank moonunit999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2008

We recently stayed in Cottage #2, which was great. The minute you walk in, you feel at home. Nice rustic wood floors, wood burning fireplace, lots of windows overlooking the private patio with private jacuzzi. Furniture a little old, but comfortable. Very pleasant to sit on the couch or in the dining room and look out into the garden which has a lovely large oak tree and benches to sit on to enjoy the day. The bedroom is an upstairs loft which has a very comfortable bed with a pristine white duvet. Bedroom has a balcony and lots of windows, which made it very relaxing to wake up in the morning and look out at the greenery from the oak tree. Only drawback I could see was this cottage is at the very back of the property next to a street (not that busy though), so you did get traffic noise when sitting in the backyard (no noise inside the cottage). One other thing that I didn't like was that there were no screens on the windows to this unit, but the a/c worked great (however, I like fresh air). Bathrooms were small but cutely decorated and had nice tile. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Liked — The private patio & jacuzzi.
  • Disliked — No screens on windows to let in the nice breeze.
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank monsoonlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Solvang
0.3 mi away
Hotel Corque
Hotel Corque
#1 of 10 in Solvang
774 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hadsten House
Hadsten House
#3 of 10 in Solvang
888 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Landsby
The Landsby
#2 of 10 in Solvang
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
King Frederik Inn
King Frederik Inn
#6 of 10 in Solvang
243 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Solvang
3.9 mi away
Santa Ynez Inn
Santa Ynez Inn
#1 of 3 in Santa Ynez
399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wine Valley Inn & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wine Valley Inn & Cottages

Property: Wine Valley Inn & Cottages
Address: 1564 Copenhagen Dr, Solvang, CA 93463-2754
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Solvang
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Solvang
#5 Family Hotel in Solvang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Wine Valley Inn & Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Santa Ynez Valley...scenic vistas, vintage charm. Located on an acre of meandering gardens with a Koi pond, the Wine Valley Inn offers old-world hospitality with a variety of accommodations for every taste and budget. The Wine Valley Inn is located in the Danish village of Solvang, within easy walking distance of many wine tasting rooms and within 20 minutes of more than 40 acclaimed wineries & vineyards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Wine Valley Inn & Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wine Valley Inn And Cottages - a Broughton Hotel
Wine Valley Inn Solvang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing