We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Wine Valley Inn & Cottages
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Solvang
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great stay”
Reviewed May 8, 2014

This hotel was just perfect for our group or our college reunion. They were helpful, courteous and polite. The breakfast was good and the lobby with the fire in the fireplace was cozy. We rented the bikes from the hotel and several members bikes to Los Olivos, a 10 mile ride. The hotel was centrally located, clean and quiet.Thanks

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teachermom1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest R, Guest Relations Manager at Wine Valley Inn & Cottages, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
We are happy to hear that we were a part of you college reunion this past week. We also appreciate that your liked our establishment as it is centrally located to most shops and restaurants that the city of Solvang has to offer. We pride ourselves with providing all our guests with exceptional customer service and from what you have just mentioned, our team members is doing just that; providing our guests with an amazing customer service. We look forward to see you on your next college reunion.

Sincerely,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    366
    423
    231
    115
    59
See reviews for
241
629
31
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (327)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 6, 2014

I stay at this hotel every year and every year they never disappoint me. The location is great. It's in the heart of Solvang. You can go wine tasting around the village and walk back to this hotel. We love the staff, everyone are always so nice. The best part of this hotel is the FREE breakfast!!! I have gone to a lot of hotels where they announced free continental breakfast which are just coffee, tea and bagels. The Wine Valley in has the best hangover breakfast :) sausage, eggs, hash-browns, coffee, OJ, waffles, yogurt and many other delicious stuff.
I love the rooms they are so cozy and clean. We have stayed in many of their rooms but my favorite are the cottages. It's like a small little house with a spa!!! Some of the single rooms have a fireplace! We love having the fireplace in our room specially for the cold nights.
Overall, we love this place and we will continue to stay here for future wine tasting visits.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lissette L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest R, Guest Relations Manager at Wine Valley Inn & Cottages, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
We are glad to hear that you are a returning guest and that every time you stay at our property you are not disappointed by the wonderful service you are provided with by our wonderful team members. Wine Valley Inn and Cottages is centrally located to the city of Solvang, just as you have described, we also offer free hot and complete breakfast, just as you have described it on your review. We provide our guest with a different variety of rooms; from standard rooms to chateau to cottages. We would love to see you again on your next trip to Solvang California,

Kindly,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2014

We went up for my wife's birthday and picked this hotel for our one-night stay. The check-in process was painless, and we were up in our room in no time. We chose the 3rd level Village Tower King room, and it was perfect. It came with a hot breakfast in the morning which was quite good and plenty of food to choose from. The staff was friendly, and the surroundings were quiet and relaxing.

We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pbc77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest R, Guest Relations Manager at Wine Valley Inn & Cottages, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Thank you for deciding to celebrate your wife's birthday at Wine Valley Inn and Cottages. We are happy to hear that we were part of your celebration plans. We are also happy to hear that you enjoyed our free and hot complimentary breakfast along with the friendly service and quick check-in process. As you were able to see all our rooms are spacious and are always kept in optimal conditions thanks to the wonderful job all our team members perform. We hope we will be your place of stay when visiting the Solvang California area.

Sincerely,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tustin, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2014

My wife and I came to the are for a wedding and Stayed at this location in a Junior suite. The reason a rate this property so low is hat I experienced is the results of zero standars or management over staff. Our room was very dirty, anywere I sat I could dirt n every baseboard as well as dust bunnines and dirt piles on the ledge in the living area. Our door to the outside had a 3/4 in gap that allows anything to blow under the door especially when the guy with the blower comes through. When we left for the day housekeeping did nothing mre then make the bed.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest R, Guest Relations Manager at Wine Valley Inn & Cottages, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Please accept our apologies for the inconvenience you encountered while at Wine Valley Inn and Cottages. We feel that we failed at exceeding your expectations due to the condition of the room. We will look into fixing these issues immediately, as it is not acceptable to have any rooms in the condition you found them. We will have a maintenance go do a complete cleaning of every inch of the room so that our rooms can be of acceptable condition. We hope that you can reconsider staying at our property in the future so that you can see how much improvement we have made since your last stay at our Wine Valley Inn and Cottages property.,

Sincerely,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2014

We've been staying in this area for over twenty years, the Wine Valley Inn is one of our favorites. The rooms are great, breakfast is more than satisfying but our favorite part of the stay is the wine bar! We met Michelle several years ago and she is gracious, knowledgeable about the area and so much fun to hang out with. We always make time on our visits to see her whether we're in the area or not. She is a great part of the Wine Valley Inn.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruce752
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest R, Guest Relations Manager at Wine Valley Inn & Cottages, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Thank you for been such a loyal guest to the Wine Valley Inn and Cottages. We are amazed to hear that you have been coming and staying at the Wine Valley Inn and Cottages for the past twenty years. And that one of the main reasons you come to stay at our Solvang property is the magnificent service that is provided to you by our wine receptionist. Thank you for the wonderful comments and we will be awaiting your next visit to Wine Valley Inn and Cottages.

Sincerely,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxnard, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 2, 2014

This is a dog friendly hotel and we are not but it was not a problem at all. Centrally located with friendly staff.Received some two for one wine tasting to use in town. It is nice to see businesses returning to Solvang. Stay includes breakfast, bed was comfortable and room was quite..We will be back.

Room Tip: Traveled with another couple and we both had clean quite rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest R, Guest Relations Manager at Wine Valley Inn & Cottages, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Thank you for giving us a try and staying at our dog-friendly Solvang property. Even though our property is pet-friendly, we maintain all of our rooms in optimal condition, and always up-to-date. We also provide our guest with free Wi-Fi, parking and complimentary continental breakfast. Yes, we are centrally located in the city of Solvang, so walking to any shop, restaurant or bakery will only take minutes. Our team members always provide our guest with exceptional customer service and we are happy to hear that this was the case during your stay. We will be waiting to see you again on your next trip to Solvang California.

Sincerely,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thousand Oaks, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 2, 2014

We have stayed at the Wine Valley Inn on numerous occasions. We love the staff, the rooms and the lovely environment. But the star of the show is Michelle, who hosts the happy hour wine bar. She is amazing and always makes us feel so welcome and loved! Michelle is such a fabulous host and she echoes what this establishment stands for: Hospitality at its finest. Thank you Michelle and the rest of the team, for a fantastic time as always. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Room Tip: The Village King is always our favorite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicole L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest R, Guest Relations Manager at Wine Valley Inn & Cottages, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your very first review on TripAdvisor. We are happy to know that we are the first property you have reviewed. And thank you for been a repeat guest to Wine Valley Inn and Cottages. As you might be already aware we do provide all our guests with free Wi-Fi, parking and complimentary breakfast, which is composed of scrambled eggs, sausage, waffle, freshly baked danishes, yogurt, coffee, orange juice and many more things. Our team members do a wonderful job with the customer service and so do our wine receptionist. Thank you for the wonderful comments you have on our wine receptionist. We will be waiting for your next stay at Wine Valley Inn and Cottages.

Sincerely,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Solvang
0.3 mi away
Hotel Corque
Hotel Corque
#1 of 10 in Solvang
774 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hadsten House
Hadsten House
#3 of 10 in Solvang
888 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Landsby
The Landsby
#2 of 10 in Solvang
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
King Frederik Inn
King Frederik Inn
#6 of 10 in Solvang
243 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Solvang
3.9 mi away
Santa Ynez Inn
Santa Ynez Inn
#1 of 3 in Santa Ynez
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wine Valley Inn & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wine Valley Inn & Cottages

Property: Wine Valley Inn & Cottages
Address: 1564 Copenhagen Dr, Solvang, CA 93463-2754
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Solvang
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Solvang
#5 Family Hotel in Solvang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Wine Valley Inn & Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Santa Ynez Valley...scenic vistas, vintage charm. Located on an acre of meandering gardens with a Koi pond, the Wine Valley Inn offers old-world hospitality with a variety of accommodations for every taste and budget. The Wine Valley Inn is located in the Danish village of Solvang, within easy walking distance of many wine tasting rooms and within 20 minutes of more than 40 acclaimed wineries & vineyards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Wine Valley Inn & Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wine Valley Inn And Cottages - a Broughton Hotel
Wine Valley Inn Solvang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing