We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such an amazing time.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wine Valley Inn & Cottages
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Solvang
2 reviews
“Such an amazing time.”
Reviewed April 3, 2014

I was looking for something low key and romantic and i found this little gem in solvang.
The room I got was very cute and full of class my girlfriend and I loved the location thanks wine valley inn. The only thing I would want to see here is maybe a later check out time but other then that it's great. It's a plus if you're military or AAA member.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Searay83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest R, Guest Relations Manager at Wine Valley Inn & Cottages, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
We are delighted to hear that you had an amazing time while staying at Wine Valley Inn and Cottages. Thank you for the wonderful comments you have regarding our rooms. As you witnessed during your stay, all our room have been recently updated, are very spacious and are always kept super clean by our awesome housekeeping team members. Thank you again for the wonderful comments you have regarding our Solvang property and we hope to see you next time you are visiting the Solvang area.

Kindly,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,218 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    377
    425
    236
    119
    61
See reviews for
247
641
31
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (334)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Simi Valley, California
1 review
Reviewed March 30, 2014

We stayed at the Wine Valley Inn & Cottages for a much needed get-a-way from our lives as caregivers to our parents. What a pleasant surprise! Our room was so inviting, the grounds & gardens were well kept and so beautiful that we took lots of pictures. There were several pleasant outdoor spaces to relax with fire places for chilly nights. The staff were very courteous, pleasant and helpful. The Inn offers a breakfast buffet every morning with scrumptious Solvang Danish, eggs, sausage, hash browns, juice, coffee, etc.

The Inn is located within walking distance of all shopping & dinning. It was a pleasure and we will be returning for another stay very soon.

My only suggestion would be to not salt the scrambled eggs, for us they were inedible. Scrambled eggs do not need to be salted, the salt draws out the water from the eggs and makes them too firm and watery. Not to mention most people watch their salt intake, we can add our own salt to our individual taste.

We give the Wine Valley Inn & Cottages a "4 thumbs up" and will suggest this hotel to all of our friends!

Ty & Terry McDermott

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 5HappyCustomer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest R, Guest Relations Manager at Wine Valley Inn & Cottages, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
We are happy to read that you enjoyed a much deserve relaxing time while at Wine Valley Inn and Cottages. And we are also happy to read that you found your room to your liking. As you were able to see on your stay, we take great pride in maintaining a clean environment for all our guest to enjoy, and thanks to the pictures you took on our grounds and gardens, we know that all our team members are doing an absolute best job in their respected fields. Thank you for the advice with our scrambled eggs, we will try to implement your suggestions as soon as possible. And thank you for giving Wine Valley Inn and Cottages such a great review.

Sincerely,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
Reviewed March 29, 2014

We loved our stay here. We were especially surprised by the way the staff went out of their way to ensure our stay was everything we had hoped for. Katelin with guest services at the front desk was so helpful and accommodating. She went above and beyond to really make us feel welcomed and cared for as guests here. We have had the best stay here at the wine valley inn and will definitely be returning one day.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HungryQuinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest R, Guest Relations Manager at Wine Valley Inn & Cottages, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Thank you for taking the time provide us and future guest with you most recent experience at Wine Valley Inn and Cottages. We are happy to hear that our front desk team members shined for you during your stay and that they went above and beyond to make your stay at our property a comfortable one. Please know that at Wine Valley Inn, we offer free continental breakfast with an ample choice of freshly cooked items such as scrambled eggs, sausage, waffles, danishes and many more. As you saw on your stay, we are only minutes from downtown Solvang and are so very close to many shops and wineries. Thank you again for the kind comments and we will be waiting for your next visit to Solvang California.

Kindly,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 26, 2014

Michelle - running the wine bar was wonderful. She contributed to our experience with sharing her life stories. She was friendly, cordial and very entertaining. Great asset for this B&B. Thank you for the experience.

Room Tip: Room 211. Great location. High ceiling.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rado319
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest R, Guest Relations Manager at Wine Valley Inn & Cottages, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
We are happy to hear that your experience at Wine Valley Inn and Cottages was one of fun and relaxation, and that you liked our wine happy hour. We are even happier to learn that our wine receptionist made your stay at our Solvang property even more wonderful. Please know that Wine Valley Inn and Cottages is conveniently located in downtown Solvang, away from most traffic noise, but at the same time, a few steps away from the main road and near many shops, restaurants, and wineries. We hope to see you back on our property on your next trip to Solvang.

Sincerely,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury Pk
1 review
Reviewed March 26, 2014

Lovely weather in March, plenty of warm blankets and puffy duvets with fireplace logs and decent accommodations, The dining leaves something to be desired. The Wine Valley Inn is lovely with a quaint Danish atmosphere.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank edmichaela10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest R, Guest Relations Manager at Wine Valley Inn & Cottages, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your experience at Wine Valley Inn and Cottages. Thank you for the detail aspect on the room king room that was provided to you. Yes, we are in the perfect location as we are minutes away from such places as wineries, shops, bakeries and restaurants. We hope you were able to enjoy our free Wi-Fi, parking and continental breakfast, which is a hot breakfast and is composed of scrambled eggs, sausage, waffles, danishes which are freshly made at our local bakery, coffee, orange juice, hot chocolate, cereal and milk upon other things. We hope our team members shined for you during your stay and we hope to see back at Wine Valley Inn when in the Solvang area.

Sincerely,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2014

The hotel is in a good location off the busy main road, and has a lovely garden with some cottages that I didn't get to see inside, so I can't comment on. There is a hodgepodge of rooms, some nice with updated bathrooms, others small and cramped and even on a third level with no elevator access. We were set to stay there 3 nights, but our first room had a perfume smell, and I'm allergic to scents, so we asked for another and were finally given a room where we could open the windows so we could have fresh air. Unfortunately, we could only have this room for one night and try as the staff (who were very understanding) might, I could not find a room where I was not bothered by the perfumey smells. We ended up in a local Marriott that had allergy sensitive rooms. I would have continued to stay at the Wine Valley Inn if we could have kept the first room we had stayed in. Only a couple of their rooms allow windows to be opened.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mystar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest R, Guest Relations Manager at Wine Valley Inn & Cottages, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Thank you taking the time to provide us with your experience at Wine Valley Inn and Cottages. We are glad to hear that our team members tried their best to accommodate your needs, and at the same time we don't feel comfortable that we were not able to find a suitable room for you so you could have stay the entire 3 nights. Thank you again for the wonderful comments you have on our team members and we hope that you will be able to reconsider staying with us when visiting the Solvang area.

Sincerely,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2014

We stayed at this property for one night. I thought the location was wonderful - easy access to everywhere by foot. I thought the employees were very nice and very attentive. The property is older and shows wear and tear. Our room was on the second floor (no elevator, outside staircase, no-one available to help with luggage). Room was immaculate and clean - just run down in hallways and a bit beat up inside.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bostonstm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest R, Guest Relations Manager at Wine Valley Inn & Cottages, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with you feedback on your recent stay at Wine Valley Inn and Cottages. As you were able to experience during your stay, we are located in the beautiful city of Solvang California, to be more specific, downtown Solvang and as you have just mentioned with "easy access to everywhere by foot". Our rooms are always kept in perfect cleaning position thanks in large part to our housekeeping team members. Please know that we do offer free parking, Wi-Fi and hot continental breakfast. Some of the items we offer for our morning breakfast include sausage, scrambled eggs, hash browns, waffles, freshly brewed coffee, tea and chocolate. We also offer danishes that are baked at our local bakery and are delivery to us every morning. We hope we will be your hotel of preference when visiting the Solvang area.

Kindly,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Solvang
0.3 mi away
Hotel Corque
Hotel Corque
#1 of 11 in Solvang
795 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hadsten House
Hadsten House
#3 of 11 in Solvang
906 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Landsby
The Landsby
#2 of 11 in Solvang
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
King Frederik Inn
King Frederik Inn
#7 of 11 in Solvang
254 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Solvang
3.9 mi away
Santa Ynez Inn
Santa Ynez Inn
#1 of 3 in Santa Ynez
406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wine Valley Inn & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wine Valley Inn & Cottages

Property: Wine Valley Inn & Cottages
Address: 1564 Copenhagen Dr, Solvang, CA 93463-2754
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Solvang
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Solvang
#5 Family Hotel in Solvang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Wine Valley Inn & Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Santa Ynez Valley...scenic vistas, vintage charm. Located on an acre of meandering gardens with a Koi pond, the Wine Valley Inn offers old-world hospitality with a variety of accommodations for every taste and budget. The Wine Valley Inn is located in the Danish village of Solvang, within easy walking distance of many wine tasting rooms and within 20 minutes of more than 40 acclaimed wineries & vineyards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Wine Valley Inn & Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wine Valley Inn And Cottages - a Broughton Hotel
Wine Valley Inn Solvang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing