We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place and people”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Wine Valley Inn & Cottages
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Solvang
Falmouth, Massachusetts
1 review
“Nice place and people”
Reviewed February 16, 2014

Solvang is very picturesque and so is the Wine Valley Inn. The layout was fun and the rooms were all different and interesting. My only problem was that the windows were painted shut so I couldn't let fresh air in without leaving the door open. There was however an air conditioner/heater/fan in the room that I left on during the night to keep it from getting stuffy. Also provided great white noise, not that that was necessary as the hotel is one block off the main street and therefore pretty quiet. There was a real, stand alone fireplace which made for great ambiance. The rooms were clean and the beds very comfortable with quality mattresses. The shower was huge, with a place to sit and everything. The elevator only goes to the second floor so I had to carry my luggage up a flight of stairs to my third floor room. It wasn't a problem for me cause I was only on an overnight trip but if it would be a problem for you make sure the room they assign you isn't on the third floor. The people were really nice and the breakfast was really good as it provided hot food (scrambled eggs, sausage and hash browns) as well as a large variety of danishes, yogurt, fruit, toast, cereal and waffles. I would definite recommend this to friends visiting in the area and have already recommended it to my sister and pseudo-husband who live in LA.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicky P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest R, Guest Relations Manager at Wine Valley Inn & Cottages, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
Thank you for providing us and future readers with such a thorough review on our Solvang property. As you were able to see during your stay, our property is located in beautiful downtown Solvang, so walking to any of the downtown shops and restaurants will take one about five minutes. Our team members are highly trained at providing all of our guest with the absolute best customer service, and we are glad to hear that you were given an absolute great customer service during your stay at Wine Valley. Our hot continental breakfast, as you stated includes freshly baked danishes, yogurt, scrambled eggs, sausage, waffles, fresh fruit, coffee, tea, hot chocolate and other delicious breakfast related choices. We hope you were able to take advantage of our free Wi-Fi and we hope to see you again when visiting beautiful Solvang California.

Kindly,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    365
    423
    229
    114
    58
See reviews for
239
626
31
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (327)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed February 12, 2014

My boyfriend and I spent a weekend here and boy did we have fun!
Each evening before we went out for dinner we went down to the lounge area where they have a bar just for the guest it was great. The woman (Michelle) who worked the wine bar was fantastic. We talked about everything with her, she had a way of making you feel so comfortable. Wine tasting at the wineries was great but the wine and conversation with Michelle was even more fun!
They have a great breakfast too.

Room Tip: Stop by the bar, it's small but you will enjoy the service!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest R, Guest Relations Manager at Wine Valley Inn & Cottages, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
We would like to thank you for taking the time to provide us with such a wonderful review regarding your most recent stay at our Solvang property. Thank you for the wonderful comments you have regarding our awesome wine bar team members. It is always our intention to treat our guest with respect and as if they were part of our family. We are happy to hear that this is they way that you and your boyfriend were treated during your stay. Please know that we also offer free Wi-Fi and parking to all our guest. We hope you will be able to stay with us on your next visit to Solvang.

Sincerely,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa, California
1 review
Reviewed February 9, 2014

Second or third stay at this hotel. Nice rooms, good location. Two things could have been better; no charge for extra fire logs, and scrambled eggs did not seem fresh. One free taste of wine to go with the cheese and crackers would have been nice. We did a quick overnight so we were not able to stay as long as we would have liked. Stores in town open late and close early, so early afternoon is best.

Room Tip: They have variety of rooms, so get what you want at the price you want. Ask for discounts or special...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest R, Guest Relations Manager at Wine Valley Inn & Cottages, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
We are happy to hear that you are a returning guest to Wine Valley Inn and Cottages. And we are also happy to know that you based your stay at our property due to location and great condition of our rooms. Thank you for the comments you have just given us. We will talk this over with higher management and we hope to implement some of your comments to our property. Also, we will be talking with our chefs so that they can be more careful when preparing the breakfast meals. Thank you for the comments and for been a returning guest.

Kindly,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 8, 2014

We have not yet visited the hotel but I am very impressed with the customer service so far. We had a reservation for a weekend and could not make it since our little one developed a high fever just as we were leaving. We received a call from the hotel and I explained our situation to them. They were so genuine in their concerns and offered to move our reservation at no extra cost or penalty. Sandy is a fantastic hotel manager and we am really looking forward to our stay in the hotel.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Swa4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest R, Guest Relations Manager at Wine Valley Inn & Cottages, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Thank you for the wonderful comments you have regarding our manager and other front desk agents. Customer service is our number one priority and we are happy to read that our manager was able to work with you during your family emergency. We look forward to your visit at our Solvang property.

Sincerely,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tehachapi, California
1 review
Reviewed February 7, 2014

My room was nice a Queen Tower , but the shower just warm lacked hot water and poor pressure. Not much else to say except they charged the wrong credit card , I gave her the right one at registration but she charged the card I booked with. hu

Room Tip: If you can afford it stay in their #1 Cottage
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Russell J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest R, Guest Relations Manager at Wine Valley Inn & Cottages, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Thank you for providing us with your feedback on your stay at our property. And please accept our most sincere apologies for the error made when charging the wrong credit card. Also, we will talk to our maintenance personnel so the issues you encountered with the room can be taken care of immediately. Again, we apologize for the inconvenience you had with us charging the wrong credit card. We hope you can stay with us on your next visit to Solvang.

Sincerely,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring
Level Contributor
58 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2014

Our room was nice, but friends who got a queen bed room were less impressed. Parking is at your door which is convenient,but a diesel pickup enjoyed idling outside our room. The room was tastefully furnished and very reasonable priced. Staff was friendly and the breakfast was good and well stocked. There is a lounge with fireplace. This is a good base to tour the many wineries or enjoy the ambiance of this unique village. There is a wine tasting in the lobby, but unlike some hotels, this one is not free.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest R, Guest Relations Manager at Wine Valley Inn & Cottages, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
We would like to thank you for taking a minute out of your busy schedule to provide us with your feedback on your recent stay at Wine Valley Inn and Cottages. We are glad you liked the layout of our spacious rooms and that our free continental breakfast was to your liking. Thank you for the wonderful comments you have regarding our highly trained team members. You will be happy to learn that Wine Valley is located at the heart of Solvang so most shops and restaurants are withing walking distance of our property. Once more, thank you for providing us with your feedback.

Sincerely,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2014

I normally stay at another hotel when visiting this area. That hotel was booked so we decided to try WVI. The website is great but not a good representation of the property. We decided to start the trip with a massage in their 'spa'. There is no spa, it's a tiny room with a man and his wife that were not organized at all. I felt like I got a massage from a high school football coach, it was incredibly awkward. I could pay the same for a full massage and use of spa facilities at a professional establishment. We got settled in our room after to find that the toilet ran the whole time, there was no water pressure and the bathtub took hours to drain. If I wanted to deal with plumbing issues, I would just stay home! The beds were uncomfortable, there was no real blanket or comforter. We will never, ever stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katerwit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest R, Guest Relations Manager at Wine Valley Inn & Cottages, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Thank you for providing us and future readers with your feedback on your recent stay at Wine Valley Inn. And please apologize us for the inconvenience that you encountered during your stay. We are working hard on fixing the issues that you have just mentioned since this should have never happened in the first place. We do have blankets that we can deliver to our guests room when requested. We are also open twenty four hours so that issues like the ones you encountered could have immediately been fixed. Thank you for the time to provide us a review, we hope you can give us another opportunity at showing you all the improvements we have made to our rooms since your last stay.

Sincerely,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Solvang
0.3 mi away
Hotel Corque
Hotel Corque
#1 of 10 in Solvang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 764 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Landsby
The Landsby
#2 of 10 in Solvang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hadsten House
Hadsten House
#3 of 10 in Solvang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
King Frederik Inn
King Frederik Inn
#6 of 10 in Solvang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Solvang
3.9 mi away
Santa Ynez Inn
Santa Ynez Inn
#1 of 3 in Santa Ynez
5.0 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wine Valley Inn & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wine Valley Inn & Cottages

Property: Wine Valley Inn & Cottages
Address: 1564 Copenhagen Dr, Solvang, CA 93463-2754
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Solvang
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Solvang
#5 Family Hotel in Solvang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Wine Valley Inn & Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Santa Ynez Valley...scenic vistas, vintage charm. Located on an acre of meandering gardens with a Koi pond, the Wine Valley Inn offers old-world hospitality with a variety of accommodations for every taste and budget. The Wine Valley Inn is located in the Danish village of Solvang, within easy walking distance of many wine tasting rooms and within 20 minutes of more than 40 acclaimed wineries & vineyards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Wine Valley Inn & Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wine Valley Inn And Cottages - a Broughton Hotel
Wine Valley Inn Solvang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing