We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service has to be good, because rooms are awful.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wine Valley Inn & Cottages
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Solvang
paso robles
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Service has to be good, because rooms are awful.”
Reviewed February 3, 2014

So my wife picked this place for our Anniversary. The pictures on the internet made it look really nice. very misleading. Someone is very good at photoshop because the rooms are awful. The carpet is worn out and the furniture looks like it came from a garage sale. The staff is very nice. They did upgrade us to a suite for $30 which was bacically a larger worn out room. Although the bathroom had a nice shower.

Not sure where the five stars are coming from, but this is in no way a 5, 4, or 3 star experience. Maybe when the remodel is done. Like I said before, the staff was great, they did everything they could with what they had.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chefjon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest R, Guest Relations Manager at Wine Valley Inn & Cottages, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
We would like to thank you for taking a moment of your busy schedule to provide us first-hand with the experience you had while at Wine Valley Inn and Cottages. Please accept our apologies for not been up to your expected standards, but as you saw during your stay, we are working hard on improving every aspect of the property. We hope that once the renovation process is complete, you and your wife will be able to give us one more opportunity at showing you all the improvements we have made since your last visit.

Sincerely,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    366
    423
    231
    115
    59
See reviews for
241
629
31
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (327)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pinehurst, North Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed February 3, 2014

We found the Inn to be strategically located in the town of Solvang and staffed with very accommodating people. The rooms were adequate, lobby and wine tasting inviting, with the breakfast buffet offering several options.
It was a good fit for our two-day stay as we fulfilled a ten year desire to see this area of CA after falling in love with the movie "Sideways." Coming from the east coast, it was the first time it fit our travel itinerary. We look to return to the area in the future. Wine Valley Inn & Cottages will be our choice for lodging. It helped to be there in January when the torist popluation was light.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jderos15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest R, Guest Relations Manager at Wine Valley Inn & Cottages, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Thank you very much for taking a minute out of your busy schedule to provide us and future guest with your most recent experience while staying at Wine Valley Inn and Cottages. Thank you for the wonderful remarks you have regarding our awesome team members. Our team members are highly trained at providing an absolute best customer service and thanks to your review, we know all the hard training worked to perfection. Yes, we do have a complete breakfast buffet, which is free of charge, as well as Wi-Fi and parking. Our breakfast menu consist of what one would considered a complete breakfast; from cereal to scrambled eggs and sausage is what our free complimentary breakfast is all about. We are also happy to know that we were part of your much-desired goal to see this quaint part of beautiful Solvang. We will be awaiting for you next arrival when you visit Solvang again.

Kindly,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paso Robles, California
1 review
Reviewed February 3, 2014

While the employees were really nice, the hotel is very old. I felt like we were staying in a Motel 6. The pictures on the internet were either staged or photo shopped, so do not go by them or you will be disappointed.

Room Tip: Stay at another hotel or wait until they do a major remodel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bud1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest R, Guest Relations Manager at Wine Valley Inn & Cottages, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide us and futures guests with your experience at Wine Valley Inn and Cottages. As you know, we take all feedback (be it positive or negative) into great consideration, because it is with feedback such as the one you have given us that will help us all improve the condition and layout of our property. As you might has seen during your stay, we are currently undergoing a major renovation property so all the feedback you have provided with be applied to all the improvement we will make to our property. Thank you again, and we hope to see you once our remodeling process is complete.

Sincerely,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
Reviewed February 1, 2014

Arrived at the Wine Valley Inn with our 3yr old Grandson unexpectedly in tow (long story). Having our tag along pal we expected a bit of rigour to make it out of the check in process and into our room. As we walked though the front door we immediately heard a shooshing from the front desk. It was our hostess telling the other workers to be quiet because our grandson was asleep in my wife's arms. She then made a face to express how cute she thought our grandson was as he cuddled into his grandma's bosom. This immediately broke the ice after a long trip and made us feel comfortable and welcome. Sometimes personality can go a long way. As I explained to Jennifer (our hostess) about our unexpected package she turned it into a no problem at all situation. We were checked in quickly and efficiently. She intuitively inquired if we needed an extra bed or towels to accommodate our extra visitor, to I replied a towel or two would be great. Our son would be in town the following morning to claim his brood so one night in our bed wouldn't kill us.
We found our room exactly as directed and we began to relax in our cozy surrounding. We soon heard a discreet knock at the door, it was jennifer again bringing our requested towels. Not only did we appreciated this expedited service but, she also informed us that it wasn't too late to seek a glass of wine for a nightcap after our long trip. Thank God for small miracles! I don't really know if was the best glass (bottle) of wine I had ever had, but at the moment it seemed like it.
the service really made the difference on this vacation. I'm glad we chose to break the norm and visit a small town and I'm glad we chose The Wine Valley Inn.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JakeNDepirates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest R, Guest Relations Manager at Wine Valley Inn & Cottages, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Wow!!! are the first words to come to mind when reading the wonderfully detailed review you have on our Solvang property. We are glad to hear that our team members shined and went above and behind their service during the check-in process. As mentioned on previous occasions, our entire team members are highly trained at providing an absolute best customer service, which we are happy to hear they just happened during your stay at Wine Valley. We hope you were able to enjoy our free breakfast buffet and our free Wi-Fi. Thank you again for the wonderful compliments and we hope to see you next time you visit beautiful Solvang.

Kindly,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palos Verdes Estates, California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed January 30, 2014

I was there with my family for a weekend soccer tournament. The room we were in (214) was very large. The only thing that room could use is a dresser to put your clothes in. Other than that, the abundance of fireplaces, sitting areas, and free breakfast made this a great value.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank n8080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest R, Guest Relations Manager at Wine Valley Inn & Cottages, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Thank you for deciding to stay at Wine Valley Inn and Cottages during your weekend soccer tournament and thank you for providing us with your feedback on your stay at our Solvang property. Your comments will be taken to higher management so that when we complete our remodeling. We are glad to hear you enjoyed our free breakfast buffet and Wi-Fi. Thank you again for the wonderful feedback you have on Wine Valley Inn and Cottages.

Sincerely,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
1 review
Reviewed January 30, 2014

Staff was friendly and accommodating. Hotel amenities were nice--they have a fitness room so you can indulge in Danish Waffles from Mortensen's and work them off! Offered a basic hot breakfast that only added to the value.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marissa p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest R, Guest Relations Manager at Wine Valley Inn & Cottages, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
We are glad to hear that you had a lovely experience while staying at Wine Valley Inn and Cottages. As you were able to experience, we are staffed with amazing team members that provide excellent customer service. We do offer free complete breakfast, which is composed of coffee, tea, hot cocoa, fresh fruit, waffles, eggs, etc...We hope you were able to take advantage of our free Wi-Fi and we hope you were able to partake on our "happy wine hour".

Sincerely,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simi Valley, California
1 review
Reviewed January 25, 2014

Nice place to getaway. Quiet, clean and friendly atmosphere. Staff is always great. They have cozy cottages. Close to town, yet it is away from the main traffic area. I always stay there when I visit Solvang.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest R, Guest Relations Manager at Wine Valley Inn & Cottages, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide us and future guests with your feedback on your experience at Wine Valley Inn and Cottages. Thank you for the wonderful comments you have on our amazing team members. As you have stated, we are located in downtown Solvang, which is walking distance to most shops and restaurants. We have rooms to different types and yes our rooms our spacious and very comfortable. Thank you again for the wonderful feedback. We hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Solvang
0.3 mi away
Hotel Corque
Hotel Corque
#1 of 10 in Solvang
774 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hadsten House
Hadsten House
#3 of 10 in Solvang
888 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Landsby
The Landsby
#2 of 10 in Solvang
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
King Frederik Inn
King Frederik Inn
#6 of 10 in Solvang
243 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Solvang
3.9 mi away
Santa Ynez Inn
Santa Ynez Inn
#1 of 3 in Santa Ynez
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wine Valley Inn & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wine Valley Inn & Cottages

Property: Wine Valley Inn & Cottages
Address: 1564 Copenhagen Dr, Solvang, CA 93463-2754
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Solvang
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Solvang
#5 Family Hotel in Solvang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Wine Valley Inn & Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Santa Ynez Valley...scenic vistas, vintage charm. Located on an acre of meandering gardens with a Koi pond, the Wine Valley Inn offers old-world hospitality with a variety of accommodations for every taste and budget. The Wine Valley Inn is located in the Danish village of Solvang, within easy walking distance of many wine tasting rooms and within 20 minutes of more than 40 acclaimed wineries & vineyards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Wine Valley Inn & Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wine Valley Inn And Cottages - a Broughton Hotel
Wine Valley Inn Solvang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing