We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice staff, poor facility”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Wine Valley Inn & Cottages
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Solvang
Reviewed February 3, 2014

While the employees were really nice, the hotel is very old. I felt like we were staying in a Motel 6. The pictures on the internet were either staged or photo shopped, so do not go by them or you will be disappointed.

Room Tip: Stay at another hotel or wait until they do a major remodel.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bud1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest R, Guest Relations Manager at Wine Valley Inn & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to provide us and futures guests with your experience at Wine Valley Inn and Cottages. As you know, we take all feedback (be it positive or negative) into great consideration, because it is with feedback such as the one you have given us that will help us all improve the condition and layout of our property. As you might has seen during your stay, we are currently undergoing a major renovation property so all the feedback you have provided with be applied to all the improvement we will make to our property. Thank you again, and we hope to see you once our remodeling process is complete.

Sincerely,
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,225)
There are newer reviews for Wine Valley Inn & Cottages
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

678 - 684 of 1,225 reviews

Reviewed February 1, 2014

Arrived at the Wine Valley Inn with our 3yr old Grandson unexpectedly in tow (long story). Having our tag along pal we expected a bit of rigour to make it out of the check in process and into our room. As we walked though the front door we immediately heard a shooshing from the front desk. It was our hostess telling the other workers to be quiet because our grandson was asleep in my wife's arms. She then made a face to express how cute she thought our grandson was as he cuddled into his grandma's bosom. This immediately broke the ice after a long trip and made us feel comfortable and welcome. Sometimes personality can go a long way. As I explained to Jennifer (our hostess) about our unexpected package she turned it into a no problem at all situation. We were checked in quickly and efficiently. She intuitively inquired if we needed an extra bed or towels to accommodate our extra visitor, to I replied a towel or two would be great. Our son would be in town the following morning to claim his brood so one night in our bed wouldn't kill us.
We found our room exactly as directed and we began to relax in our cozy surrounding. We soon heard a discreet knock at the door, it was jennifer again bringing our requested towels. Not only did we appreciated this expedited service but, she also informed us that it wasn't too late to seek a glass of wine for a nightcap after our long trip. Thank God for small miracles! I don't really know if was the best glass (bottle) of wine I had ever had, but at the moment it seemed like it.
the service really made the difference on this vacation. I'm glad we chose to break the norm and visit a small town and I'm glad we chose The Wine Valley Inn.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JakeNDepirates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest R, Guest Relations Manager at Wine Valley Inn & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2014

Wow!!! are the first words to come to mind when reading the wonderfully detailed review you have on our Solvang property. We are glad to hear that our team members shined and went above and behind their service during the check-in process. As mentioned on previous occasions, our entire team members are highly trained at providing an absolute best customer service, which we are happy to hear they just happened during your stay at Wine Valley. We hope you were able to enjoy our free breakfast buffet and our free Wi-Fi. Thank you again for the wonderful compliments and we hope to see you next time you visit beautiful Solvang.

Kindly,
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2014

I was there with my family for a weekend soccer tournament. The room we were in (214) was very large. The only thing that room could use is a dresser to put your clothes in. Other than that, the abundance of fireplaces, sitting areas, and free breakfast made this a great value.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank n8080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest R, Guest Relations Manager at Wine Valley Inn & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2014

Thank you for deciding to stay at Wine Valley Inn and Cottages during your weekend soccer tournament and thank you for providing us with your feedback on your stay at our Solvang property. Your comments will be taken to higher management so that when we complete our remodeling. We are glad to hear you enjoyed our free breakfast buffet and Wi-Fi. Thank you again for the wonderful feedback you have on Wine Valley Inn and Cottages.

Sincerely,
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2014

Staff was friendly and accommodating. Hotel amenities were nice--they have a fitness room so you can indulge in Danish Waffles from Mortensen's and work them off! Offered a basic hot breakfast that only added to the value.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marissa p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest R, Guest Relations Manager at Wine Valley Inn & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2014

We are glad to hear that you had a lovely experience while staying at Wine Valley Inn and Cottages. As you were able to experience, we are staffed with amazing team members that provide excellent customer service. We do offer free complete breakfast, which is composed of coffee, tea, hot cocoa, fresh fruit, waffles, eggs, etc...We hope you were able to take advantage of our free Wi-Fi and we hope you were able to partake on our "happy wine hour".

Sincerely,
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2014

Nice place to getaway. Quiet, clean and friendly atmosphere. Staff is always great. They have cozy cottages. Close to town, yet it is away from the main traffic area. I always stay there when I visit Solvang.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest R, Guest Relations Manager at Wine Valley Inn & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to provide us and future guests with your feedback on your experience at Wine Valley Inn and Cottages. Thank you for the wonderful comments you have on our amazing team members. As you have stated, we are located in downtown Solvang, which is walking distance to most shops and restaurants. We have rooms to different types and yes our rooms our spacious and very comfortable. Thank you again for the wonderful feedback. We hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2014

My husband and I love the location, room size, comfort, and cleanliness. We especially want to compliment the staff - especially Francis, who was very patient and informative during our check-in and check-out.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sharon m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest R, Guest Relations Manager at Wine Valley Inn & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2014

Thank you for providing us with your feedback on your stay at Wine Valley Inn. We are happy to hear that you like our always spacious and clean rooms. We hope you were able to enjoy our free complimentary breakfast, and Wi-Fi. Thank you for the wonderful comments you have regarding our amazing team members. We hope you can stay with us on your next visit to Solvang California.

Sincerely,
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2014

Our room was VERY noisy. The walls felt paper thin. We could hear the people above us walking around and talking all night long. They had their TV going the whole night. People getting back late at night(1:00am) we're loud as thy walked back to their room. My overall experience was terrible since we were not able to get a decent nights sleep. When I mentioned this at checkout the person simply commented that the previous night they had had to call the police due to a disturbance. We were very disappointed since it is a very cute hotel and centrally located but if the noise level is that disruptive in the off season I can't imagine what it would be like there in the peak summer months. I would not stay there again

Room Tip: Stay at the top level so no one is above and away from saris where people are coming up and down at...
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Miriam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest R, Guest Relations Manager at Wine Valley Inn & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2014

Let me start by apologizing for the inconvenience that was caused to you during your stay at Wine Valley Inn and Cottages. Please know that we are currently working on remodeling the entire property and one of our remodeling process is the better insulation of our rooms. We would love to see you again at our property so that you may see that what you encountered on your first stay at our property was a fluke and that our property in deed is a quiet and safe hotel.

Sincerely,
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Solvang
0.3 mi away
Hotel Corque
Hotel Corque
#1 of 11 in Solvang
805 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hadsten House
Hadsten House
#2 of 11 in Solvang
918 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Landsby
The Landsby
#3 of 11 in Solvang
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
King Frederik Inn
King Frederik Inn
#6 of 11 in Solvang
263 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Solvang
3.9 mi away
Santa Ynez Inn
Santa Ynez Inn
#1 of 3 in Santa Ynez
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wine Valley Inn & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wine Valley Inn & Cottages

Address: 1564 Copenhagen Dr, Solvang, CA 93463-2754
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Solvang
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Solvang
#5 Family Hotel in Solvang
Price Range: $125 - $333 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Wine Valley Inn & Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Santa Ynez Valley...scenic vistas, vintage charm. Located on an acre of meandering gardens with a Koi pond, the Wine Valley Inn offers old-world hospitality with a variety of accommodations for every taste and budget. The Wine Valley Inn is located in the Danish village of Solvang, within easy walking distance of many wine tasting rooms and within 20 minutes of more than 40 acclaimed wineries & vineyards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Wine Valley Inn & Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wine Valley Inn And Cottages - a Broughton Hotel
Wine Valley Inn Solvang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing