We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place for the family”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wine Valley Inn & Cottages
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Solvang
Palos Verdes Estates, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place for the family”
Reviewed January 30, 2014

I was there with my family for a weekend soccer tournament. The room we were in (214) was very large. The only thing that room could use is a dresser to put your clothes in. Other than that, the abundance of fireplaces, sitting areas, and free breakfast made this a great value.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank n8080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest R, Guest Relations Manager at Wine Valley Inn & Cottages, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Thank you for deciding to stay at Wine Valley Inn and Cottages during your weekend soccer tournament and thank you for providing us with your feedback on your stay at our Solvang property. Your comments will be taken to higher management so that when we complete our remodeling. We are glad to hear you enjoyed our free breakfast buffet and Wi-Fi. Thank you again for the wonderful feedback you have on Wine Valley Inn and Cottages.

Sincerely,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    365
    423
    229
    114
    58
See reviews for
239
626
31
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (327)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pasadena, California
1 review
Reviewed January 30, 2014

Staff was friendly and accommodating. Hotel amenities were nice--they have a fitness room so you can indulge in Danish Waffles from Mortensen's and work them off! Offered a basic hot breakfast that only added to the value.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marissa p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest R, Guest Relations Manager at Wine Valley Inn & Cottages, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
We are glad to hear that you had a lovely experience while staying at Wine Valley Inn and Cottages. As you were able to experience, we are staffed with amazing team members that provide excellent customer service. We do offer free complete breakfast, which is composed of coffee, tea, hot cocoa, fresh fruit, waffles, eggs, etc...We hope you were able to take advantage of our free Wi-Fi and we hope you were able to partake on our "happy wine hour".

Sincerely,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simi Valley, California
1 review
Reviewed January 25, 2014

Nice place to getaway. Quiet, clean and friendly atmosphere. Staff is always great. They have cozy cottages. Close to town, yet it is away from the main traffic area. I always stay there when I visit Solvang.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest R, Guest Relations Manager at Wine Valley Inn & Cottages, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide us and future guests with your feedback on your experience at Wine Valley Inn and Cottages. Thank you for the wonderful comments you have on our amazing team members. As you have stated, we are located in downtown Solvang, which is walking distance to most shops and restaurants. We have rooms to different types and yes our rooms our spacious and very comfortable. Thank you again for the wonderful feedback. We hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ojai, California
1 review
Reviewed January 23, 2014

My husband and I love the location, room size, comfort, and cleanliness. We especially want to compliment the staff - especially Francis, who was very patient and informative during our check-in and check-out.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sharon m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest R, Guest Relations Manager at Wine Valley Inn & Cottages, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Thank you for providing us with your feedback on your stay at Wine Valley Inn. We are happy to hear that you like our always spacious and clean rooms. We hope you were able to enjoy our free complimentary breakfast, and Wi-Fi. Thank you for the wonderful comments you have regarding our amazing team members. We hope you can stay with us on your next visit to Solvang California.

Sincerely,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moorpark, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 22, 2014

Our room was VERY noisy. The walls felt paper thin. We could hear the people above us walking around and talking all night long. They had their TV going the whole night. People getting back late at night(1:00am) we're loud as thy walked back to their room. My overall experience was terrible since we were not able to get a decent nights sleep. When I mentioned this at checkout the person simply commented that the previous night they had had to call the police due to a disturbance. We were very disappointed since it is a very cute hotel and centrally located but if the noise level is that disruptive in the off season I can't imagine what it would be like there in the peak summer months. I would not stay there again

Room Tip: Stay at the top level so no one is above and away from saris where people are coming up and down at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Miriam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest R, Guest Relations Manager at Wine Valley Inn & Cottages, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Let me start by apologizing for the inconvenience that was caused to you during your stay at Wine Valley Inn and Cottages. Please know that we are currently working on remodeling the entire property and one of our remodeling process is the better insulation of our rooms. We would love to see you again at our property so that you may see that what you encountered on your first stay at our property was a fluke and that our property in deed is a quiet and safe hotel.

Sincerely,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
temecula
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2014

To think just a few years ago this was one of our favorite places to stay, and now today what a disappointment. My girlfriend & I have stayed at the W.V.I. on several occasions over the last 5 years & have always found it charming & welcoming, not this time ! We were put in a motel style room & was not very pleased. We ask if we could be moved, this was on a Sunday during of season 1/12/14 & was given quite an attitude by the front desk, something we were not use to from past stays. We were told the W.V.I. has recently been sold & that's was to explain the attitude & the lack of making us feel welcomed. We told them we would just like to check out & go somewhere else. We were told not a problem, that will be $99 the cost of the night's stay. I told them I'm not going to pay them $100 just to leave, finally another person came out to help & said we were to be upgraded, they just missed it. We moved to their loft room in the motel style building. The halls & room were in poor shape & being my birthday it just didn't feel welcoming.
We tried to make the best of it & went to the Hitching Post for a nice bd dinner. When we returned to this run down room at 10:30 pm, I still was not very happy or satisfied. Talk to the same gentleman that originally checked us in & out & back in again & he moved us once again, to a much nicer room in their other building. The building was in total disarray, plaster missing from the bottom 6" of all the walls, constructing going on all over the property, a mess ! ! ! The hotel obviously should have been closed for renovations. We were told the new owners were trying to do things on the cheap & that's why the poor conditions, & I guess that's why the poor attitude !
What was once a special place, is now a run down & rude shell of it's better days. You will be much better served to find a place that is charming & welcoming, a place that truly wants & value you as a guest, unfortunately it's not the Wine Valley Inn ! ! ! ! !

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jaywest44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest R, Guest Relations Manager at Wine Valley Inn & Cottages, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Please accept our apologies for the inconvenience that was caused to you during your stay at our Solvang property. We also apologize for the decline in service you have mentioned in your review. I will have a meeting with all my team members so that our customer service improves and not declines, because one of our goals here at the Wine Valley is to have great customer service. We will be working hard with the improvement of all of our rooms so that we can have happy guest with the layout and service we provide. Thank you again for the feedback as this will help us improve tremendously our property.

Sincerely,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temecula, California
1 review
Reviewed January 22, 2014

Hello my name is Roxana, my husband and I recently stayed up the Wine Valley Inn & Cottages for a mini vacation get away to celebrate our 50th birthday and 25th wedding anniversary.
We were very satisfied with the hotel. The rooms were very well kept, clean and very spacious. All the amenities they offer to their guests are fantastic. We loved their complementary hot breakfast! not very many hotels offer hot breakfast, usually it is just a continental breakfast, but they go all the way for their guests. Above all the good things they have great staff, from the front desk to the ladies in charge of the dining area, very friendly, and accommodating. I would definitely come back and invite all my friends and everyone out there that wants to come to Solvang to stay is this great place.

Room Tip: Rooms of the same floor level are more appropiate
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roxana E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Solvang
0.3 mi away
Hotel Corque
Hotel Corque
#1 of 10 in Solvang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 764 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Landsby
The Landsby
#2 of 10 in Solvang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hadsten House
Hadsten House
#3 of 10 in Solvang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
King Frederik Inn
King Frederik Inn
#6 of 10 in Solvang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Solvang
3.9 mi away
Santa Ynez Inn
Santa Ynez Inn
#1 of 3 in Santa Ynez
5.0 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wine Valley Inn & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wine Valley Inn & Cottages

Property: Wine Valley Inn & Cottages
Address: 1564 Copenhagen Dr, Solvang, CA 93463-2754
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Solvang
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Solvang
#5 Family Hotel in Solvang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Wine Valley Inn & Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Santa Ynez Valley...scenic vistas, vintage charm. Located on an acre of meandering gardens with a Koi pond, the Wine Valley Inn offers old-world hospitality with a variety of accommodations for every taste and budget. The Wine Valley Inn is located in the Danish village of Solvang, within easy walking distance of many wine tasting rooms and within 20 minutes of more than 40 acclaimed wineries & vineyards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your Wine Valley Inn & Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wine Valley Inn And Cottages - a Broughton Hotel
Wine Valley Inn Solvang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing