We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Customer Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Wine Valley Inn & Cottages
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Solvang
Reviewed January 11, 2014

My friend and I were guests of your hotel this last week and I would like to commend you staff on there fantastic service and "go out of the way" attitude. We were assisted by Correna at your front desk upon check in - cordial, friendly and very at ease with check in (this doesn't happen often at some hotels).
After a long day in Solvang we returned to your wine bar and we met with your server, Michelle. We had a great time. Michelle gave us a great time - we sat around the fire and she went out of her way to make us feel at home. Thoroughly enjoyed her friendly conversation and went out of her way to help us plan our next day adventures. We will be back with people like this working at your establishment.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank donmarie62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,236)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

705 - 711 of 1,236 reviews

Reviewed January 11, 2014

The location of this hotel was perfect. Shared a room with my sister. Nice big room. I like that the toilet and shower were separate from the sink. Two people could actually get ready at the same time. The room was very nice. Loved the soft clean sheets. However, take your own pillow if you don't like very big fluffy ones. Frances at the desk made us feel welcome. She answered all our questions. She asked us if there was anything she could do to make or stay better. We couldn't think of anything. The breakfast was fresh, hot and just what you need to start the day.

Room Tip: This is perfect if you want to stay in the middle of all the shops. .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dEbbie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

Righ behind the main road, which made it quiet and you can still walk the entire town from this location. The staff took great care of our needs without hesitation when we requested another room. The breakfast was nice because they serve hot food until 10:30 a.m. so you can sleep in. We had a private cottage on the second night of our stay and it was worth the extra money. The sound of the water, private jacuzzi tub was very peaceful. The size of the cottage was really enjoyable as were the two gas fireplaces.

Room Tip: Private cottage was wonderful; we had room number 1. You have to be able and willing to climb the st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DanandJosi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest R, Guest Relations Manager at Wine Valley Inn & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2014

We would like to thank you for taking the time to provide us and future guests with your feedback on your recent stay at Wine Valley Inn and Cottages. As you saw during your stay, we try to maintain a clean property and provide the best customer service as all our team members have been highly trained in their field of work. Our location is ideal, because as you have nicely stated above, we are centrally located to many restaurants, shops, winery and most of these places are within walking distance. We do offer free Wi-Fi, parking and hot complimentary breakfast, which is composed of such items as scrambled eggs, waffles, hashbrowns, sausage, yogurt, danishes, and more others. We thank you once more for the wonderful review and we will be waiting for your next stay at Wine Valley Inn and Cottages.

Kindly,
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

The "Cottages" at the rear of the property are like going to a second home in Solvang. Stayed in cottage #4 over New Years and couldn't have enjoyed ourselves more. Private but spacious which the word cottage doesn't seem to imply. Great to have a kitchen for the times we didn't wish to go out, and, the complimentary breakfast brought back to the room made us really feel at home. Walking distance to everywhere, except Nielsen's Market & Chumash Casino which are possibly a 5 minute drive. Stayed in cottage #3 last time, and loved it equally. Thanks Sandy and crew for a great experience.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank bedbug10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest R, Guest Relations Manager at Wine Valley Inn & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2014

Thank you so much for the wonderful feedback you have on our property, and thank you for your constant loyalty to Wine Valley Inn and Cottages. It brings us great joy to hear that you and your family really enjoyed our cottages, as they have everything you need. We hope that you were able to partake in our happy our, where for a minimal price, we offer wine and cheese. Our hot and free continental breakfast is composed by oatmeal, cereal, milk, fresh fruit, coffee, sausage, muffins, waffles, and many other delicious items. Our kitchens are fully stocked and just in case you need anything, we have a twenty four hour front desk. Thank you for the wonderful compliments about our team members, we appreciate your amazing feedback.

Kindly,
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

Couldn't have asked for more. I booked last minute and they found me just the right room at the right price. We had two queens in the main large bedroom and an add on room with two single too! So the kids (6 and 4 years) adopted the add-on room as their own and my husband and I shared the main room with our two dogs! Everyone was comfortable! There was a welcoming open fire in the room which ended our day nicely.

Solvang is on the door step of the Wine Valley Inn - you are in the middle of it all.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest R, Guest Relations Manager at Wine Valley Inn & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2014

We are happy to hear that you and your entire family (including your two dogs) enjoyed our rooms. We take great pride in the cleanliness and rate of our rooms. As you were able to see, our room rates are affordable, which will save our valued guest a few dollars during this tough economic times. Yes, we are centrally located to most places that the beautiful city of Solvang has to offer. Here at Wine Valley Inn and Cottages, we also offer free Wi-Fi, parking and a complete hot breakfast every morning. Again, we are very happy to hear you liked our immaculate rooms. We hope to see you and your family on your next try to Solvang California.

Sincerely,
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

Location is excellent. I have found that most of the lodging operations in town are fairly low key and basic. Very motel type feel everywhere. The Wine Valley Inn is a step above. Fireplaces througout the property to sit back and relax. A lot of the rooms have them as well. Ours did and it was a welcome treat. We were able to stay in a cottage suite, which also had a private outdoor jacuzzi. Well worth the extra bucks. The breakfast is extensive and better than most places, but I would recommend trying the Succulent Cafe that is right across the parking lot from the hotel. I have stayed in the more regular rooms and yes, they can be quirky, and none are alike, but that is what sets this place apart from the rest of the lodging operations in town. If you want a place with a small room, four walls, a toilet, tv and shower, then stay someplace else in town for a cheaper price. If you want eclectic and charming and comfortable, then pick the Wine Valley Inn.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OCDealman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest R, Guest Relations Manager at Wine Valley Inn & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2014

Thank you for taking a minute out of your busy schedule to provide us and future guest with your review on our Solvang property. And thank you for the wonderful compliments you have about our property. Your compliments are in great part to the amazing work that every single team member does with their specific field of work. Yes, all rooms here at Wine Valley do have different layouts and like you said, not all rooms look the same. Wine Valley Inn and Cottages also offer its guest free Wi-Fi, parking and continental breakfast. Again, all our rooms are spacious and very clean. We are also located at the heart of Solvang California, as all is walking distance to Wine Valley.

Sincerely,
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Wine Valley Inn between Christmas and New Year’s. Overall, the stay was acceptable but we both felt we would try another hotel/inn the next time we are in Solvang.

As others have stated, the layout of this hotel is a bit quirky but seems to work. The location is very convenient to most of downtown Solvang and it is right around the corner from a great restaurant called the Fresco Valley Café. We stayed in a Tower Deluxe King room on the second floor, which turned out to be in the back of the property. There is an elevator in an outside hallway but it didn’t go up to our side of the hotel. We had to walk up stairs from the 1st floor, which wasn’t that big a deal but to some it might be a problem.

Our room was large enough with a king bed but there was only an armoire (which had small knobs and was difficult to open) with minimal drawer space. There was only one chair but enough space for a sofa and small table would have easily fit. Basically, we had to live out of our suitcases and hang up a few items – a dresser would have been nice. A plus was a half size refrigerator, a gas fireplace, and a large in room safe.

The bathroom was average size with a large shower but again there wasn’t much storage space. There was a large sink that was just a sink with not much counter space – a bit strange as it curved down at a slight angle to the middle. Items placed on the edge would roll down into the sink. Maybe they were trying to “upscale” the bathroom but this feature didn’t seem to work very well. A shelf would help here.

Breakfast was up to the standards of most Hampton Inn/Residence Inn type morning offerings and the eating area was nice enough and well tended. There is a nice lobby area and they did sell wine by the glass each evening but we were always out during the “happy hour” at other places so didn’t partake. When we checked in we did notice people sitting in the courtyard drinking their glasses of wine and they seemed to be enjoying this area. An aside here though is that you are in the “Sideways” wine region so great wine is all over the place (including many tasting rooms in town). Buy your own bottle and enjoy it in your room (the hotel provided wine glasses and a cork screw) or on the patios of the hotel.

Our two biggest negatives were the following: Thin walls and ceilings - there was a family stomping around above us loudly each morning and night. I think this was mentioned in previous reviews. Secondly, this hotel allowed smoking in the hotel rooms. There were signs around the hotel even stating (warning?) this. Most hotels we have stayed in at least have non-smoking rooms but apparently not at the Wine Valley Inn.

Our AAA rate was acceptable for our stay but in hindsight we might have spent a bit more to stay at Hotel Corque or one of the other higher rated (at least on trip advisor) area hotels.

Room Tip: If you need an elevator to access your 2nd story room, advise the front desk staff.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ATC K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest R, Guest Relations Manager at Wine Valley Inn & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

Thank you for providing us and future guests with a nicely detailed review on our property and thank you for deciding to stay with us during your Christmas/New Years celebration. Yes, we are centrally located in the heart of Solvang. We are walking distance to most shops and restaurants. Wine Valley Inn and Cottages is currently undergoing some renovation process, and it will take a few weeks for all the renovation process to be completed. The property is divided into different areas, the area/room that was provided to you was in the quiet area of the hotel, but it is unfortunate to hear that you had noisy neighbors during your stay; we apologize for this. All our rooms are spacious and super clean. We offer free Wi-Fi, parking and continental breakfast, which we glad to hear you enjoyed. Since your fist experience at our property was semi-satisfactory, we hope you can provide us with another opportunity at showing your the your first experience was a fluke. Thank you again for the feedback and we hope to see you on your next visit to Solvang.

Sincerely,
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Solvang hotels
0.2 mi away
Hadsten House
Hadsten House
#3 of 11 in Solvang
929 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Corque
Hotel Corque
#1 of 11 in Solvang
833 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Landsby
The Landsby
#2 of 11 in Solvang
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
King Frederik Inn
King Frederik Inn
#6 of 11 in Solvang
269 reviews
0.3 mi away
Svendsgaard's Lodge - Americas Best Value Inn
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Solvang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wine Valley Inn & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wine Valley Inn & Cottages

Address: 1564 Copenhagen Dr, Solvang, CA 93463-2754
Location: United States > California > Solvang
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Solvang
#5 Family Hotel in Solvang
Price Range: $111 - $307 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Wine Valley Inn & Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Santa Ynez Valley...scenic vistas, vintage charm. Located on an acre of meandering gardens with a Koi pond, the Wine Valley Inn offers old-world hospitality with a variety of accommodations for every taste and budget. The Wine Valley Inn is located in the Danish village of Solvang, within easy walking distance of many wine tasting rooms and within 20 minutes of more than 40 acclaimed wineries & vineyards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Wine Valley Inn & Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wine Valley Inn And Cottages - a Broughton Hotel
Wine Valley Inn Solvang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing