We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't wait to go back!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Wine Valley Inn & Cottages
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Solvang
Baldwin Park, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Can't wait to go back!”
Reviewed January 1, 2014

I love the quirkiness of this hotel. It has a lot of character. Sunny rooms, remolded bathrooms, naturally friendly staff, I wish we could go more often. The breakfast is very good too. One thing I wish is that they had a later check-out, 11am is too early!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SusiRae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    366
    423
    231
    115
    59
See reviews for
241
629
31
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (327)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oxnard, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Everything was perfect - the room, the location, and the people at the front desk. They were very helpful and friendly. Noticed they are pet friendly - saw lots of people brought their dogs with them.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the street. You can also request a non smoking room. If you are flexible o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pamela V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clarita, California
1 review
Reviewed December 31, 2013

The room was very clean, and quaint. Not a jazzy, modern, flashy hotel, if that's what you're looking for. The TV came in clear for cable stations, but local network stations were fuzzy and impossible to watch. The closet was minuscule and the safe (bonus!) took up almost half the height of the closet, so hanging pants or other longer items doesn't work so well. There were no extra blankets (it was verrrry cold when we were there). The honor bar was priced well below most, and had a nice variety of wine, cold soft drinks and snacks. I never eat an entire meal at once, so it was a great bonus to find an actual fridge in the room, where I could store my leftovers! The staff was extremely friendly, and the local featured wines by the fireplace in the evening was at a very good price and was a pleasure - met some other guests and had great conversation. The breakfast buffet was also a nice bonus - not just a continental breakfast like most places. I didn't have time to take advantage or even see the fitness center or spa, or any other amenities there may have been - we did only an overnight trip. But, I would definitely stay again. The location was great - we walked to everything, but it's not on the main street.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charo91355
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2013 via mobile

A few months ago there was an issue with a reservation due to which the manager Sandy kindly offered us a free night. We finally availed if that and another night too, along with our two dogs. They were very professional and even upgraded us to allow my daughter to be accommodated comfortably. A very nice breakfast was included too and it is available till 10.30 am giving us enough time to make it. All in all it was a very pleasant stay and I recommend this place highly. Many thanks to Sandy in particular.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank sanjayaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, California
1 review
Reviewed December 30, 2013

My fiance' and I had planned at trip to Solvang to go mountain biking. It was a surprise trip, and my cousin had told me that this Hotel was a great place to stay. So I made reservations, and was looking forward to staying here. BUT...my fiance' had an unfortunate crash on the Thursday before we were going to travel. The policy of the hotel is to charge at least one nights stay, but fortunately Sandy the manager, was so very understanding. She agreed to wave the fees, and was very nice regarding this unfortunate situation. We will definitely be staying there when we do the Century ride in Solvang this March.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terrie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England
Level Contributor
150 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights in November via Expedia - our rate included breakfast and there was free parking and wifi. It's a pretty complex with a variety of hotel rooms and cottages conveniently located on a quiet street just behind the main centre of Solvang.

Our room did have a few issues with noise and wifi that was at times very temperamental and at times completely broken (!) but Jennifer on reception was so helpful and accommodating. She even arranged a complimentary glass of wine for us both the following evening, which was such a nice touch. Breakfast was great - a good variety and well-stocked.

Solvang is fantastic and we also loved Los Olivos - it's easy to hop on the cheap public bus and the drivers were like mini (and free) tour guides! Our only disappointment was that because we visited in November, the town was like a ghost town in the evening - even the Irish bar closed at 9pm! Thank goodness for the Solvang Brewing Co restaurant & pub or else we might have gone hungry on our first night! We also really enjoyed our dinner at Root 246.

Room Tip: We were disappointed that our room faced the car park and was right next to the stairs to the upstai...
See more room tips
Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank mariannelynton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
1 review
Reviewed December 30, 2013

My husband and I stay at the Wine Valley Inn a few times every year and LOVE IT because it is warm & inviting, centrally located, and best of all, PET FRIENDLY! We bring our 2 big dogs with us whenever we travel and this hotel makes it so easy to enjoy the Central Coast with our two "wine dogs". The regular rooms are nice but there are so many different options in one property from the two-story lofts to the romantic cottages with hot tubs. We come back time and time again and highly recommend this place!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Corinne_Free
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest R, Guest Relations Manager at Wine Valley Inn & Cottages, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
We are happy to hear that you are a loyal and repeat guest to Wine Valley Inn and Cottages. We are also glad to hear that you stay at our Solvang property due to the fact that we are a pet-friendly property, and all our rooms are spacious and are kept super clean by our highly trained housekeeping team members. We hope you are able to take advantage of our hot breakfast on every visit you take to Wine Valley. Thank you for the feedback. It is always a pleasure serving you and your pets.

Sincerely,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Solvang
0.3 mi away
Hotel Corque
Hotel Corque
#1 of 10 in Solvang
774 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hadsten House
Hadsten House
#3 of 10 in Solvang
888 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Landsby
The Landsby
#2 of 10 in Solvang
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
King Frederik Inn
King Frederik Inn
#6 of 10 in Solvang
243 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Solvang
3.9 mi away
Santa Ynez Inn
Santa Ynez Inn
#1 of 3 in Santa Ynez
399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wine Valley Inn & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wine Valley Inn & Cottages

Property: Wine Valley Inn & Cottages
Address: 1564 Copenhagen Dr, Solvang, CA 93463-2754
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Solvang
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Solvang
#5 Family Hotel in Solvang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Wine Valley Inn & Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Santa Ynez Valley...scenic vistas, vintage charm. Located on an acre of meandering gardens with a Koi pond, the Wine Valley Inn offers old-world hospitality with a variety of accommodations for every taste and budget. The Wine Valley Inn is located in the Danish village of Solvang, within easy walking distance of many wine tasting rooms and within 20 minutes of more than 40 acclaimed wineries & vineyards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Wine Valley Inn & Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wine Valley Inn And Cottages - a Broughton Hotel
Wine Valley Inn Solvang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing