We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“STAYED MANY TIMES”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Wine Valley Inn & Cottages
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Solvang
Reviewed November 30, 2013

The property is well located, nicely maintained and staffed by friendly and very helpful personnel. The breakfast is included and very good (although I would like other jam flavor than strawberry). For the first time since we've stayed here they started allowing pets. There was a dog in the next room that was noisy most of the day and night - not pleasant.

Room Tip: The room with the duralog burning fireplaces are very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dennis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest R, Guest Relations Manager at Wine Valley Inn & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded December 1, 2013

Thank you for providing us with the opportunity to serve you while at Wine Valley Inn and Cottages. We are happy to hear that you liked our property and at the same time, we are happy to know that you are a returning guest. As you already know, we now accept pets at our property, and please accept our apologies regarding the experienced you had with the neighboring room. As always we try to maintain a hospitable ambiance for our guests, but we cannot control how a pet is going to behave. What we can do is to try to tell the neighboring guest about the noise level of his pet, that is why a quick call to the front desk could have alleviated a few of the noise that was coming from the neighboring room. Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to serving you again.

Sincerely,
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,236)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

756 - 762 of 1,236 reviews

Reviewed November 27, 2013

The rooms were large; however, some of the furniture was old and worn as was the carpet. The staff was very helpful and upgraded our rooms for a birthday that we were celebrating. We would stay at this place in the future

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest R, Guest Relations Manager at Wine Valley Inn & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2013

Thank you for providing us with your feedback on your recent stay at Wine Valley Inn and Cottages, which is located in the beautiful city of Solvang. We truly value all your feedback and we will be working promptly at fixing the issues you mentioned regarding the carpet in the room you were provided. We hope that the small issues you encountered in the room that you were upgraded to did not tampered your birthday celebration.

Sincerely,
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

This Inn is staffed by some of the friendliest people I have met in a long time. Very helpful with directions for our trip and great service. The room was very good with quality beds for a good rest. The breakfast was excellent and the property very well kept. Would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mcbuchanan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest R, Guest Relations Manager at Wine Valley Inn & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2013

We would like to thank you for taking a moment of your time to provide us and future guests with your feedback on our Solvang property. We also thank you for the wonderful comments you have about our front desk team members. We are also glad that you enjoyed our free complimentary breakfast, and as you were able to see, we do offer a hot breakfast every morning. We also offer free wireless connections in every room and parking is also free. Thank you again for the wonderful comments and we hope to see you next time you visit Solvang California.

Sincerely,
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2013

This was our third stay here...this hotel is affordable, clean, centrally located, and the included breakfast is generous! You can go quick and light, or load your plate down with waffles, eggs, hash browns and sausage (tip: use the microwave or toaster to heat your waffle; overall the food is average but it's easily customizable to your liking). This third stay was our "worst"...the TV in the room had a bad buzz, we both had lukewarm showers on our checkout morning, we had to kill a big spider, and the walls were thin (snoring/talking next door, footsteps overhead). Other than that, we will definitely return (and avoid room 101). Our first stay was in the "chateau" building and I don't remember any issues; the second stay was in one of the cottages--if you want to shell out a bit more, you get a LOT more (fireplace, decent kitchenette, private hot tub, large and quiet space).

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matt R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest R, Guest Relations Manager at Wine Valley Inn & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2013

Thank you for been a continuous guest and thank you for all the feedback you have provided us on your most recent stay at our property. Please apologize us for the inconvenience you experienced on your most recent stay, as we will look into those issues you mentioned. Please also know that we are currently going a small remodeling process and we hope that through these renovations, all of those issues can be solved. We are glad to you enjoyed our free complimentary breakfast and Wi-Fi. We hope to see you again next time you are in the area so that you may be able to see all the improvement we are continually making to Wine Valley Inn.

Sincerely,
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2013

Hotel is pleasant and in a good position for exploring Solvang. The staff were very friendly and the wine tasting in the evening was pleasant. The room was a bit dark though and breakfast a bit limited in items available (e.g. very little fruit).

Room Tip: We had room 308, OK as long as you don't need a lot of light in the room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DMikeJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest R, Guest Relations Manager at Wine Valley Inn & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2013

We are happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay at our Solvang property. Please know that we take all feedback into great consideration, and I will bring your comments to our maintenance team so that they can add more lighting to the room you have just mentioned. As you were aware, we are located in the perfect spot if you plan on exploring the vast beauty of Solvang. We are walking distance to most shops, stores and restaurants. Our customer service is exceptional and we are always ready to serve our valued guests. Thank you once again for the wonderful feedback and we hope to see you next time to come visit Solvang California.

Kindly,
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2013

In the last 5 years I stayed in this hotel half a dozen times. In average I had a very positive experience. If you want big comfortable rooms with nice big showers and fireplaces this hotel is a good value. Last time we stayed in hotel November 3, 2013 - service was very poor. I am not sure what had change. They doing outside remodeling, may be when they done things will go back to normal.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the back with less traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lana K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest R, Guest Relations Manager at Wine Valley Inn & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2013

Thank you for been such a loyal guest to Wine Valley Inn and Cottages, and thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback on your most recent stay. We are very happy to know that every time you stay with us you find the place more and more appealing. Please excuse us for the inconvenience caused to you on this last stay. As you became aware, we are doing small remodeling on the property, small remodeling that will go a long way with how the property will look and with how safe all of our guest will be and feel. Again, we are happy to know that you are a continued guest and that you enjoyed our property. We hope to see you once our remodeling process is complete.

Sincerely,
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2013

We booked the room Village Tower Deluxe King, and to my surprise, it was like a suite in a 5 star hotel. The main bedroom was separate, had a daybed in the hallway, very large living room with fireplace and mini kitchen. The value of the room exceeded our expectations, although it did feel a bit outdated with the old green carpet look. The free breakfast (not continental) made up for the cold mornings and lots of sausage, scrambled eggs, waffles, hash brown, to grab 2nd and even 3rd plates if you wanted to stack up and skip lunch. There was construction as noted by other guests, and while eating at 8 am, you can heavily hear the construction. Had we been affected by the construction, we would have given a much lower rating. The staff was accommodating, but I felt they could have done better when I walked inside the bar area where they were serving their wine tasting. I did not see any staff members inside the bar area, so I must of waited 30 minutes or so before having to ask myself it I can have their wine tasting. The staff served wine to a couple next to the fireplace, but did not bother to approach me if I wanted wine. I did not even have a wine glass, which should be a red flag and since she did not even bother to say hi, or acknowledge that I may have wanted wine during the wine hours, I gave the star rating 2 stars. I should not have to ask for wine if others are being served nor should I have to walk my self to the bar to ask if they are still serving wine (which clearly they were).

Room Tip: If you can the tower rooms, they are much quieter and less foot traffic. Those rooms are like houses...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ron_OC78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest R, Guest Relations Manager at Wine Valley Inn & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2013

Thank you for taking a moment out of your busy schedule to provide us with your feedback on our Solvang property. As you know, we take all feedback into great consideration and thank you so much for bringing your experience to our attention. We will speak with the person that was working the Wine bar area that night and will retrained her on how to treat our valued guests. Again, please accept our apologies, as we are working hard on fixing this issue. By the way, we are happy to know that you liked the room. We hope you can reconsider staying with us next time you visit Solvang so that you might be able to see all improvements in customer service and upgrades of the property that we are currently making.

Sincerely,
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Solvang hotels
0.2 mi away
Hadsten House
Hadsten House
#3 of 11 in Solvang
929 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Corque
Hotel Corque
#1 of 11 in Solvang
833 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Landsby
The Landsby
#2 of 11 in Solvang
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
King Frederik Inn
King Frederik Inn
#6 of 11 in Solvang
269 reviews
0.3 mi away
Svendsgaard's Lodge - Americas Best Value Inn
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Solvang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wine Valley Inn & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wine Valley Inn & Cottages

Address: 1564 Copenhagen Dr, Solvang, CA 93463-2754
Location: United States > California > Solvang
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Solvang
#5 Family Hotel in Solvang
Price Range: $111 - $307 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Wine Valley Inn & Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Santa Ynez Valley...scenic vistas, vintage charm. Located on an acre of meandering gardens with a Koi pond, the Wine Valley Inn offers old-world hospitality with a variety of accommodations for every taste and budget. The Wine Valley Inn is located in the Danish village of Solvang, within easy walking distance of many wine tasting rooms and within 20 minutes of more than 40 acclaimed wineries & vineyards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Wine Valley Inn & Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wine Valley Inn And Cottages - a Broughton Hotel
Wine Valley Inn Solvang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing