We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Let me offer review that's fair” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Wine Valley Inn & Cottages

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Wine Valley Inn & Cottages
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Solvang
Menlo Park
Level Contributor
44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Let me offer review that's fair”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

Spent this past Tuesday and Wednesday at this Solvang hotel.

It must be pointed out that this property is TWO hotels IN ONE. If you're unlucky enough to get the old, but remodeled (barely) "Travel Lodge Type" building facing the parking lot, you drew the short straw. Your wallet will feel sorry for you. Bring your own soap, including a soap dish (none built into the tile shower/tub) .... if you're staying in these postage stamp size rooms with carpets that should have been replaced and vents cleaned of dust years ago.

This building with it's outside steps to the upper floors should be rated a ONE STAR.

Facing the rear foliage (with a view more in keeping with a Wine Inn motiv, unless you're room is near the ice machine) does make this a 2 1/2 star property.

Worthy of a 3 1/2 Star rating are several lovely cottages set in the rear amidst a small stream stocked with what appear to be two or three Koi and some well manicured small lawns connected by two walking bridges. Those are the main attraction to this Wine Valley Inn.

The breakfast, served in several rooms of the historic home, furnished with several nice antique pieces, and housing the lobby and reception, is TOP NOTCH. The folks on duty are efficient.

J and M
Mountain View, CA

Room Tip: Do not accept a room facing the parking lot in the two story (Motel 5 or Travel Lodge type) building...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank EuroCaliGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra H, General Manager at Wine Valley Inn & Cottages, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Thank you for choosing Wine Valley Inn while visiting Solvang and The Santa Ynez Valley, I appreciate you taking the time to share your experience and can assure you I take each and every issue very seriously. I apologize for your disappointment in being in our Standard building, however like the Village Tower, it will be undergoing a similar upgrade in each guest room in the future. In the mean time I will share your experience with my team to address the housekeeping to ensure all rooms are cleaned to the standard all our guest have come to know and expect at Wine Valley Inn. I am very pleased you were able to enjoy the gardens and Koi, pond which are both signature to Wine Valley Inn.

Your business and experience is very important to me therefore may I suggest your next stay be in the Village Tower where I am sure you are sure to enjoy the comfort and space of a uniquely renovated guest room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    342
    387
    211
    109
    55
See reviews for
221
575
28
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (310)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Agoura Hills, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

The Wine Valley Inn is always our first choice when making our semi-annual visit to Solvang. We've stayed at a few other hotels in the area when the Inn is sold out, but this is still the favorite. They have a great breakfast offering a wide variety of items. It is an ideal location within walking distance to the main street. The rooms are charming and the property is well-maintained. I would highly recommend this inn to others. Staff is very friendly.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marissa V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
64 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Stayed here for one night while driving from LA to Paso Robles. The hotel is located in a charming area, all the hotels are rustic. The employees were nice and breakfast was included. If you don't like stairs ask for a room on the first floor.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

We've stayed here many times, and it keeps getting better! Updated bathrooms with stone, spacious mini suites, very good breakfast keep us coming back. Ideal location in Solvang off the main drag, so it's quiet, but close enough to walk everywhere in town. Staff is friendly and helpful.

Only downside is that the mattresses are getting a little soft. Might be time to get a new batch? Otherwise, we love this place.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a mini suite in the tower, they're all unique, spacious, and fun!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cm-in-ca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Beach, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

We had stayed at this lovely inn several years ago when we came up to the valley for a wedding and remembered what a delightful visit it was. I highly recommend this inn for a relaxing stay. The staff at the front desk were very helpful and made us feel at home. The beds are comfy. The rooms are very clean. The bathrooms are modern. The hotel is very centrally located. We can't wait to return.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lagunatime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
usa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

I had a week off a few weeks ago, and my husband loves Solvang. Looking for a midweek overnight,at a good price, I booked at Wine Valley Inn. It was really lovely. A couple of cross beam buildings with a clock tower, we had a cute room on the second floor- up some steps (or elevator, around one corner, around another, look down on the garden. The room seemed a little small, but actually there is a step up to the frig and another to the slate floored bathroom, so I suppose it was really large. A pretend fireplace- in the room; in fact there are lots of fireplaces indoors and out. A huge breakfast,--- things we didn't take advantage of, like wine hour, and bike rental, but all in all, very nice.Very nice service, too. Santa Ynez Valley was absolutely gorgeous at that time, late April. We planned to take a hike in a state park a few miles down a back road. Unfortunately a sign saying mountain-lion was spotted kept us from being the lunch of an animal instead of having an animal ourselves for lunch.

Room Tip: I guess it depends when you go. All was very quiet and nice in mid-week late April. Our room was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mws65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Very friendly and helpful front desk. And they need to be to overcome some basic shortfalls.

Families with kids need to be a first-floor-only policy. It's not and we listened to an 8 year old use the upstairs bed as a "bouncy" for several hours. We called the front desk; they corrected the issue!

The TV's are from the 80's. The shower is silly. The shower-head was no higher than my mid-chest. They needed to re-grout and clean up the tiling. Not appealing at all. I didn't shower - and that's not appealing either.

No pool. Jacuzzi's for the $300 and up rooms in the towers. Mushy beds. Not comfy.

Otherwise, great location, cute exterior, nice dining room. Cocktail hour, too. They have bikes, for rent, I think — we didn't ride.

Gym was small and under-equipped but handy.

Again, terrific front desk and friendly folks.

Room Tip: Get a tower room if you want a jacuzzi! Ask for a top floor room away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jess B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Solvang
0.3 mi away
Hotel Corque
Hotel Corque
#1 of 10 in Solvang
4.5 of 5 stars 652 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hadsten House
Hadsten House
#3 of 10 in Solvang
4.5 of 5 stars 828 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Landsby
The Landsby
#2 of 10 in Solvang
4.5 of 5 stars 162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
King Frederik Inn
King Frederik Inn
#6 of 10 in Solvang
4.0 of 5 stars 208 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Solvang
3.8 mi away
Santa Ynez Inn
Santa Ynez Inn
#1 of 3 in Santa Ynez
5.0 of 5 stars 347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wine Valley Inn & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wine Valley Inn & Cottages

Property: Wine Valley Inn & Cottages
Address: 1564 Copenhagen Dr, Solvang, CA 93463-2754
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Solvang
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Solvang
#5 Family Hotel in Solvang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Wine Valley Inn & Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Santa Ynez Valley...scenic vistas, vintage charm. Located on an acre of meandering gardens with a Koi pond, the Wine Valley Inn offers old-world hospitality with a variety of accommodations for every taste and budget. The Wine Valley Inn is located in the Danish village of Solvang, within easy walking distance of many wine tasting rooms and within 20 minutes of more than 40 acclaimed wineries & vineyards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your Wine Valley Inn & Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wine Valley Inn And Cottages - a Broughton Hotel
Wine Valley Inn Solvang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing