We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Customer service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wine Valley Inn & Cottages

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Wine Valley Inn & Cottages
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Solvang
Palos Verdes Estates, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Customer service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Casey was at the front desk and he was so helpful and kind. When we needed anything and went to the front desk, he was always pleasant and went out of his way to make sure we were satisfied. The staff was all very nice, and we had a great experience.

Room Tip: stay on the first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kerry n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    345
    393
    213
    109
    56
See reviews for
224
583
29
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (313)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Parker, Colorado
Level Contributor
72 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013 via mobile

I recentley visited this hotel on a trip to Slovang with 3 family members. This hotel has a very Dutch layout and appeal. The rooms are quaint but didn't seem to have very many windows. Overall the rooms were pretty nice and they had cool decks with outdoor seating on the first and second floor. The bell went off at random times too which was also annoying. However the location, price, and environment for the location were all good.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Casey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

One quick caveat: this is a copy of a review I wrote elsewhere. I stayed at this location last August. Some things may have changed...one hopes for the better!

This place does not seem to understand the concept of "accessible." Maybe they have true accessible rooms on the first floor, but what I wanted was one of the upper level rooms with a fireplace. Now, the elevator only goes to the second floor, not the third. Okay....

I called and spoke to someone over the phone to make a reservation, and explained that sometimes my husband is in a wheelchair, sometimes does a bit better and just needs a cane. I wanted just a queen size bed with fireplace, but was told they only had those on the third floor for the dates we wanted. All right, I upgraded to a king room with fireplace, and was told we would be kept on the second floor.

A week ahead, I became suspicious and called to confirm. Yes, they had us on those dates, king bed, fireplace - on the THIRD floor. I explained the wheelchair/cane issue and the girl promised she would move us back to the second floor and keep us there, which she did.

Well, it was a damn good thing my husband was doing well, because the room would have been impossible with a wheelchair! Two steps down from the hallway to the room. No space in the room for a wheelchair. And, to top it off, not only a step up to the shower in the bathroom, but a step up to the toilet itself. Yes, this is indeed a real "throne", and if you go in there in the dark or first thing in the morning, you are pretty much guaranteed to stub your toes, again and again, thanks to that ridiculous and unnecessary step.

There is a mysterious lack of information in the room. Interested in the drinks in the mini bar or the snacks above the fireplace? You'd better be psychic, because no prices are posted. Want to use the safe? Dial zero to find out how, because it's not the usual number-style safe you find in most hotels, and otherwise you'll be trying to get it to work all night.

And, please, Wine Valley Inn, please BUY SOME BLACKOUT CURTAINS!!!! This place has the old, inefficient sideways blinds that don't fit well, and with lights outside every window, the room doesn't even get close to being dark.

Some good things: this is on Copenhagen, not on Mission like many Solvang hotels, so it is much quieter than many places. The fireplace was romantic and enjoyable. Good location to walk to most places in Solvang. Plenty of parking in the front and back lots, with a public parking lot next door. The shower is great - if you're under 6 feet tall. (Any taller, and thanks to the weird bathroom layout, you'll be stooping over.) Only had the free breakfast on the last day, but it was pretty decent overall.

I've only stayed in Solvang once before, and that was just overnight at a motel with no pretensions whatsoever, so I think I expected more out of a supposed "boutique" hotel. It definitely was not worth the money we paid, and next time we go back to Solvang, I would not stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DrRat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Verne, California
Level Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Beautiful, spacious and well appointed rooms. Staff is knowledgeable and friendly.
Away from the main highway, so it is pretty quiet. Their room heating and air conditioning systems need to be updated, and it would be nice if they ran more efficiently. Fit and finish on their windows need some work as they did not close snugly. Probably the best in-hotel breakfast that I have ever had. Definitely plan to stay here again, when I next visit Solvang. Please be aware that they have two night minimums on weekends. Only drawback we had was that the room lacked a table. Although, right outside the room there was patio furniture.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ww11hort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana Point, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

The outside front of the Hotel looked nice and it had a "3 Diamond". They gave us room number # 210 and while walking to the room we first noticed how all the concrete was chipped , peeling and broken for starters. The exterior steps were also in terrible shape and not taken care of. The exterior front door wood was peeling. Inside, the room was worn, air conditioning unit was old and filthy, mattress sunk in and just not nice. We complained and asked the attendant is there a nicer room and she said there was but it was no better than the first ( # 209 ) so we called the front desk and asked for our money back. We were then speaking to the assistant manager and he said that he does have a nicer room. He put us in a suite ( 212 ) which was an upgrade and it was fairly nice even though the tv was not working well. This is more like a 2 star Hotel and I would stay away from it. The 3 star rating was probably from many years ago. The only saving grace was the asst. manager Casey Klein was very receptive, helped us out and gave us a discount. We only stayed their one night and would have left if we were their more days.
You better look at the room first before committing.

Room Tip: Look at the grounds first and then ask to see the room before committing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Joel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra H, General Manager at Wine Valley Inn & Cottages, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and share your experience at Wine Valley Inn. I am sorry we did not meet your expectations with your first or second accommodation but very pleased we were able to upgrade you to one of our Village Junior Suites so you were able to enjoy the weekend. Although 3 or our Village staircases have been completely replaced, we still have work to do and as our website states, over the next year Wine Valley Inn will be undergoing some repairs that among others include the remaining staircase and exterior deck you are referring to. I hope you will use your complimentary upgrade to return and see how our progress is going.

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Desert, California
Level Contributor
95 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

We have stayed at this hotel several times. It is comfortable, quaint, and well situated. The staff is incredibly friendly and helpful and the rooms very rustic and ecclectic, yet very comfortable. Excellent experience again and again. They now serve a hot breakfast, as well as the continental fare of the past. And the evening wine happy hour is terrific. Great setting!

Room Tip: Second floor king and queen suites in clock tower building are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Filmwritin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain View, CA
Level Contributor
69 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Spent a night at this lovely hotel on our way through the central coast. Terrific downtown Solvang location. Our room (in the bell tower section) was very large, clean and spacious. Fireplace, separate sitting room, recently upgraded bathroom. Not fancy but very comfortable, especially with our dog accompanying. The full breakfast (included in room rate) and free wifi were nice extras. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karleshyogi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Solvang
0.3 mi away
Hotel Corque
Hotel Corque
#1 of 10 in Solvang
4.5 of 5 stars 673 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Landsby
The Landsby
#2 of 10 in Solvang
4.5 of 5 stars 177 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hadsten House
Hadsten House
#3 of 10 in Solvang
4.5 of 5 stars 833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
King Frederik Inn
King Frederik Inn
#6 of 10 in Solvang
4.0 of 5 stars 219 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Solvang
3.8 mi away
Santa Ynez Inn
Santa Ynez Inn
#1 of 3 in Santa Ynez
5.0 of 5 stars 355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wine Valley Inn & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wine Valley Inn & Cottages

Property: Wine Valley Inn & Cottages
Address: 1564 Copenhagen Dr, Solvang, CA 93463-2754
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Solvang
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Solvang
#5 Family Hotel in Solvang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Wine Valley Inn & Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Santa Ynez Valley...scenic vistas, vintage charm. Located on an acre of meandering gardens with a Koi pond, the Wine Valley Inn offers old-world hospitality with a variety of accommodations for every taste and budget. The Wine Valley Inn is located in the Danish village of Solvang, within easy walking distance of many wine tasting rooms and within 20 minutes of more than 40 acclaimed wineries & vineyards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Odigeo, Orbitz, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Wine Valley Inn & Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wine Valley Inn And Cottages - a Broughton Hotel
Wine Valley Inn Solvang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing