We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wine country goodness.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Wine Valley Inn & Cottages
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Solvang
Reviewed November 23, 2011

This hotel was quaint, had a breakfast included and my standard room was clean and close to shopping and restaurants downtown. What more could I ask for?! The staff was very nice. Beautiful time in a beautiful location.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J9wings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,247)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

985 - 991 of 1,247 reviews

Reviewed November 15, 2011

First off, I have to say, I had a bad experience with booking hotel earlier in the year and for other hotels that I've booked since then, I've been very wary of the customer service that I receive. This inn had fabulous customer service. They emailed me back within a few hours if I had a question or needed a confirmation. They called to find out what type of wine we wanted in our room and were extremely accommodating all around. Yes, it is an older hotel, but seriously, that's why you visit Solvang - for the old world quaintness. The room itself was spacious with a fireplace, which we thoroughly enjoyed. The bathrooms had been upgraded with fog-free mirrors and new large shower heads. Both me and my boyfriend had massages by two fabulous masseuses. There were only two very small drawbacks that we found - (1) that there wasn't a sufficient amount of parking for the night that we arrived (there was plenty of parking the next day), and (2) the mattress was super soft. Other than those two things, this place was great. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erintheresa25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2011

The hotel clerk gave us a free upgrade to a Queen Suite when we arrived. The room was clean, except for some spots on the carpet. But our room had a support beam standing in the middle of the room, which gave it a converted basement look. The room had a back door as well as a front door?? The room didn't justify the price; $104 plus tax.

They offer a wine and cheese bar from 4:00 to 7:00, but they charged for the wine. First time we've ever been charged for the evening wine and cheese bar at a hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 4tomorrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2011

When driving up to this inn, it is truly lovely with its wonderful exterior architecture, charming gardens and great location central to downtown Solvang. That's where anything good to say about this hotel ends. We reserved one of the top floor suites, and when we entered the room, it was oppressive. There was very little sunlight coming through the small windows, and there was almost no overhead lighting. They provided a number of floor lamps and table lamps that looked like they were purchased in the 60's or 70's, and the cords were trailing across the floors and over tables (which was a real hazard with a 3-year-old in tow!). The television, furnishings, and artwork also appeared to be a few decades old, and the general feeling of the room was depressing. The personnel at the hotel were very pleasant and helpful, and the room was very clean. However, the lack of updated decor, appropriate and safe lighting, dismal amenities, and poor HVAC system will prevent us from staying at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KD_in_SD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2011

We come to Solang once year on family business and wine touring Won't use his place again. Their advertisement pictures makes a thousand promises. Almost all not kept in or case. Charming is a euphemism for handyman special.The room we had 34, "sitting" area was two wrought iron chairs on a tiny table full of wine and nuts and whatever to sell.No place to put a cup of coffee. a 1980 Analog TV. The dirty carpeting was circa 1980; The sink area had bugs; The "closet" is impossible to use. The shower nozzle is below your head; even if you are short! You can hear the neighboring rooms showering, It is not quiet and restful. The breakfast room is Scandinavian 70's; the fare is low-rent chain's do it yourself, 1 staff. Wine and cheese afternoon party--no cheese! Off street parking for this busy in town area in adequate. Security questionable. There are no spa facilities; no room service; no valet parking. This is not a modern in own hotel!
The small cloister of outdoor gardens is beautifully kept, there seem to be bicycles for guest use (but no explanation) and the maid service, linens and toiletries are fine. BTW, the few employees they have are all pleasant.
We never saw any room as nice as in their promotional materials.
This is a CA tourist trap and you should caveat emptor. Ask a lot of question and get answers in writing. Yes, we mentioned our displeasure, "Oh please wait for our manager." Duh, where was she? Three days and we were given her card. Front desk not prepared so as to present options/remedies, (but quick to check in/out, demand credit card security and remind us of penalties if we cancel any part of our stay. Never felt like a welcome guest; rather more like we were a necessary intrusion.

Room Tip: Interview reservations for your exact needs.Fireplace rooms maybe worth the extra money. You may fin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2011

I did a lot of research before traveling to Solvang and I am so grateful I chose to stay here. It was so exciting to drive up at night and and see this sweet little danish inn. Checked in at 10:30pm and it was not a problem. We were given a room with a fireplace. Loved the Gilchrist & Soames bath products as well as the refrigerator, fully stocked minibar, and wine country information.

There are two bars in town and they only stay open until midnight but both were in walking distance. There are about 12 tasting rooms in Solvang and we were in walking distance of all of them. There were two right on the corner as well as the famous Mortensen's Bakery.

Our rate included breakfast and a half day bike rental. There are plenty of places to eat breakfast (including Paula's Pancake House), but it was nice to have a complimentary breakfast each morning. Although we only used our bikes for two hours, it was helpful to be able to get around quickly on our last morning.

I recommend: Sort This Out Cellars, Cecco Italian Restaurant (for food, not service), and Grapeline Wine Shuttle.

Thank you and I will be back!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank katiehoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2011

We stayed here for a couple of nights in early October and loved the place.

The purpose of our visit was to sample some of the great wines available in the region and there are plenty of tasting rooms in the town.

We had a double room with a fire, which proved to be great as it gets cold in the evenings. The room is great, the buffet breakfast is also great as it offers some of the excellent Danish pastries made locally. The hotel is centrally located rooms spacious and staff excellent.

We look forward to returning.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Highland_Saint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Solvang hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Corque
Hotel Corque
#1 of 11 in Solvang
844 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hadsten House
Hadsten House
#3 of 11 in Solvang
931 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Landsby
The Landsby
#2 of 11 in Solvang
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
King Frederik Inn
King Frederik Inn
#6 of 11 in Solvang
277 reviews
0.3 mi away
Svendsgaard's Lodge - Americas Best Value Inn
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Solvang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wine Valley Inn & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wine Valley Inn & Cottages

Address: 1564 Copenhagen Dr, Solvang, CA 93463-2754
Location: United States > California > Solvang
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Solvang
#5 Family Hotel in Solvang
Price Range: $105 - $310 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Wine Valley Inn & Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Santa Ynez Valley...scenic vistas, vintage charm. Located on an acre of meandering gardens with a Koi pond, the Wine Valley Inn offers old-world hospitality with a variety of accommodations for every taste and budget. The Wine Valley Inn is located in the Danish village of Solvang, within easy walking distance of many wine tasting rooms and within 20 minutes of more than 40 acclaimed wineries & vineyards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Wine Valley Inn & Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wine Valley Inn And Cottages - a Broughton Hotel
Wine Valley Inn Solvang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing