We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Black out fun at a really neat Hotel/Inn” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mirabelle Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Mirabelle Inn
Ranked #4 of 8 Solvang B&B and Inns
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
130 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Black out fun at a really neat Hotel/Inn”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

We had just finished coming in dusty from a horse show and Birgitta asked us almost immediately if we'd like a refreshing glass of wine. The wine appeared, and we had a lovely overnight stay at candlelight since it seems that all of Solvang was blacked out most of the night. The staff in the restaurant was super attentive and the food was sensational. A great stay, with the added bonus of a power outage made for an interesting and enjoyable stay. Thanks Mirabelle Inn!

Room Tip: If you can swing it, try and get room 9. It's a great room with a little balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Donald T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    181
    47
    11
    9
    6
See reviews for
19
184
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
400 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

We spent two nights here on our trip. It is a great place, love the location off the main streets. Three stories but they have a small elevator to help with the heavy luggage. We were in Room 9, perfect, with a private balcony. They have complimentary wine and snacks in the afternoon as well as breakfast in the dining room in the morning (no set time you have to make). Large comfortable bed. A/C system had a funny smell when first turned on but we kept the windows open mostly as it was very pleasant. The one thing that is a little odd is the large jacuzzi tub, nice if you were to use it but a little hard to enter and exit if just using the shower as it is a step up. All staff was extremely friendly. We'll remember this one!

Room Tip: Room 9 is fantastic, enjoy a glass of wine from your private balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RKAustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

Brigette and her staff were great. Very friendly and helpful. I would recommend the Mirabelle to anyone interested in staying at a place that has warmth and relaxation. The restaurant provides a great dinner. We enjoyed a great bottle of wine and then was able to go up to our room and not worry about driving. Brigitte also provided a great wine tour to four very different, unique wineries that were all very good. Thank you for a great anniversary. We will be back

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

It was my pleasure to stay at the Mirabelle Inn May 1st. & 2nd. The receptionist greeted us with a smile and answered all of our questions . Our room was spacious and well appointed including, fireplace, T. V. & free Wi-Fi plus other personal touches making it a pleasure to return to the room after an afternoon of sightseeing in Solvang and the surrounding areas.
Breakfast was a delight, from fresh fruit, yogurt, granola, Danish pastries, egg omelets, Juices and of course wonderful coffee. The staff was courteous and attentive to our every need.
The afternoon wine and cheese hour is not to be missed. Brigitte has a superb knowledge of wine pairings. The dining room is another five star experience not to be missed.

Thank you Brigitte and Staff for making our stay enjoyable and relaxing.

When in Solvang we would only stay at the Mirabelle.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Flyinglady5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, CA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

Founded in 1911, the city of Solvang began as a dream of three Danish immigrants: Reverend Benedict Nordentoft, Reverend J. M. Gregersen, and Professor P. P. Hornsyld. They raised money to buy a large area of land on the West Coast and subdivide it for farms, homes, and a town for Danish immigrants. Profits from the sale of land would be used for building a Danish-style folk school and a Lutheran church. There is no truth to the folklore that they also planned for it to devolve into a kitschy tourist destination with tired, aging motels.

But thanks to the nearby wine country, Solvang is definitely staging a comeback. I was actually shocked at the amount of people walking the streets during the day (nighttime is another story). I was one of the people visiting to tour wine country and drove down to meet a friend to tour with.

Instead of one of the aging motels, we chose this B & B and were glad we did. Although pricey, the room are large and off the main drag in a quiet neighborhood and was able to sleep off the vino imbibing pretty easy. Room # 10, which I booked, is perfect for couples with a large poster bed, multiple styles of pillows to choose from, on the top floor and a sitting room.

Breakfast was included and can be hit or miss. First breakfast was a disappointment with a terrible choice of poached eggs. Considering poached eggs are no one's first choice at breakfast this was a definite misfire. Plus, at 9:30 with a 10:00 AM end time, breakfast bread basket was empty and not refilled plus water/orange juice were also near depletion. Second morning was much better with lovely service and a very nice omelet. I ate all the fruit and bread I could muster to make up for the lackluster opening morning.

There is free wi-fi and your feeling of the price will depend on why you are in Solvang. If a motel is your price point preference you will not like it here. I preferred a more civilized accommodation and in spite of the breakfast misfire will stay again. There is a restaurant on site and I will review that under separate cover. Other rooms have in room jet tubs and there is a small room on site for guest spa treatments. They can organize a wine tour for you as well.

Recommended!

Room Tip: Choose an upper floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank srsam67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

My husband and I are planning a trip back to Solvang soon and I happened upon this site as I was checking for reservations at the Mirabelle Inn. I was shocked at the negative reviews.

Brigitte and her staff are always very kind and beyond accommodating and we would never consider staying anywhere else in Solvang.

The rooms are well appointed and the restaurant is fabulous.


  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DeniseMartin1346
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013

Uncle!
At $350 (including the recent Solvang tax), the price exceeds the value. I would have been pleased to pay $175 for our room. Decor is hodge podge, bathrooms are small, outdated, tub grout thickened to cover black bath mold. Location, great. Service, great. Food at restaurant in evening, great. Breakfast was super simple, nothing exciting. Exterior is best part with ivy and draping wisteria welcoming their visitors. Inside, lots of items for sale with price tags on artwork, and a corner cabinet of costume jewelry.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Balljunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mirabelleinn, Owner at Mirabelle Inn, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
We appreciate the time this guest spent to review our property and are grateful for the positive comments. Our rooms are individually and tastefully decorated and most guests much enjoy some of the antiques that were brought in from Europe by the original owner, when the inn was built in 1994. We have many modern amenities, but we are not a large chain hotel where every looks the same and has the same color scheme.We have an extensive cleaning and maintenance program and are proud of our property. Guests often go online to www.mirabelleinn.com to view our rooms and pick the one they like best. Our rates vary from $165 to $295, depending on the room and the day of the week. These rates are in line with Solvang hotel prices for this type of property and pay our staff and the mortgage.
Thank you, Brigitte/Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Solvang
0.1 mi away
Hotel Corque
Hotel Corque
#1 of 10 in Solvang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 736 reviews
0.2 mi away
Wine Valley Inn & Cottages
0.2 mi away
The Landsby
The Landsby
#2 of 10 in Solvang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hadsten House
Hadsten House
#3 of 10 in Solvang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 863 reviews
0.2 mi away
King Frederik Inn
King Frederik Inn
#6 of 10 in Solvang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
3.7 mi away
Santa Ynez Inn
Santa Ynez Inn
#1 of 3 in Santa Ynez
5.0 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mirabelle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mirabelle Inn

Property: Mirabelle Inn
Address: 409 1st St, Solvang, CA 93463-2713
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Solvang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Solvang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mirabelle Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
European elegance, exquisite wine country cuisine, award winning wines, and legendary service. Mirabelle Inn offers 12 newly renovated guest rooms, fireplaces, luxurious amenities, and concierge services. Allow our concierge and resident sommelier to book your wine tasting tours, and assist you with your travel plans. Hotel rates include full breakfast, complimentary bottle of wine in room, and premium DirecTV channels. First & Oak, the restaurant at the Mirabelle Inn, is open for dinner to the public Monday through Sunday 5:30-9:00p.m. Chef Steven Snook offers an array of beautifully plated small dishes allowing you the opportunity to create your own tasting menu. Chef Steven has played major roles in Gordon Ramsay's 3 & 2 Michelin Star restaurants. Small plates range from $9-20. First & Oak is a must try for foodies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Mirabelle Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mirabelle Hotel Solvang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing